We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent hotel with peranakan culture concept” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abian Biu Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Abian Biu Mansion to your Saves list
Abian Biu Mansion
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Umalas Kauh II No.106 | Tunon Kerobokan, Badung, Kerobokan, Bali 80119, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kerobokan
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“exellent hotel with peranakan culture concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Atmosphere like in Ubud with air is cool and quiet, there are still rice fields surrounding the hotel. arrived at the hotel greeted by friendly staff. Hotel has undergone many changes since the last time coming here in 2010. And it turns out the hotel was in a total renovation.
Hotels are now more modern and clean with the concept of Peranakan Culture. The owner Mr. Yoseph (he is mix Chinese - Indonesian) told me that he want to share with the guest to get the new experiences in his hotel. The hotel is made mixed with Chinese - Indonesian style with modern elements.
All the better improved facilities.Ambient conditions better than the last time I stay at in 2010. Comfortable beds and facilities in the room is very complete, very good internet connection with Wi-Fi, tv cable, bathroom with bathtub and toilette amenities.
Balkon very comfortable, I get a room directly overlooking the rice fields and gardens on the second floor.
Swimming pool although small but very clean and comfortable.
The food at Bian Yue Restaurant very tasty.The signature menu from Mr. Yoseph family's signature.
And also the option of Pan Asian food.
Of all the foods that I like is the Yue-style Laksa Cia.
Breakfast is very good.
One day I'll come and stay again at Abian Biu Mansion.

Room Tip: All room have a private balcony and perfect.Some with pool view and some with garden view, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
15
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have always wanted to stay in Abian Biu Residence but never got the chance until Jan 3rd. We were at the end of our holiday, we had one night left and we didn't have any reservations because we decided to 'risk' it. I called Abian Biu and they managed to give us an available room with a good rate.
When we came there we did not see any Abian Biu' sign because it turned out that the renovation was just finished 2 weeks before we came, only the 'Bian Yue' restaurant sign.
When we entered the hotel, we were impressed by how this place gave a very homy and relaxing feeling; the small bridge, high ceiling in the lobby, ponds on both sides. The room is also very nice, with a cute little balcony, and boy the bed is very comfy!
The main strength of Abian Biu is the design concept and how consistent they are with the concept - I love all of the small little details. We actually took quite some pictures there :) The food at Bian Yue restaurant is very delicious and the presentation is good. The pool is small but nice. The location is perfect, not too close and not too far from Seminyak.
If I can give inputs to Abian Biu: watch the piping in the bathroom, add the towels, towel hanger, curtain for the bathub in the bathroom, add more power plugs inside the bedroom, and add pool lounges around the swimming pool (or maybe they have all these on the way since it is just re-opened). The rest is perfect and I wish we can go back there again soon :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Yah maybe the location is off the crowded beaches but its not to far away just enough so that its quiet. This is a great place to stay on vacation especially for couples, they offer good food and decent prices and the pool although is small is well maintained. Bali is a great place and romantic place, and this hotel just made our stay much much better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We didn't actually stay in Feb 2010 but we are really slack in writing a review. This is a year late but we stayed here for over a week when we spent Christmas and New Year in Bali last year.

We were looking for a largish room that could accommodate us and our two boys (aged 14 and 12 then) without having to pay "villa" prices. They were able to give us their largest room which could easily fit in a couple of extra cots. Great arrangement!

The place is a bit out of the way, but as we rented a car most days that wasn't a problem. You do appreciate being away from rowdy Kuta and Legian at the end of he day.

The best part of the hotel was the really helpful staff that run it. They really go out of their way to try yo make your stay a very good one, and it was!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

GREAT hotel wish we were there now...
We are in Bali for 3 weeks and booked this hotel for just 4 nights of our stay as we wanted to try different places...
This hotel was by far the best. The location is a bit far out but you can hire a moped or get a taxi they are both very cheap!! $5 a day for moped and about $2.50 in taxi one was to get to the shopping and beach!
The rooms are just as they look on the net massive and lovely! The place itself is like a mansion with some great furniture dotted around! ALL ROOMS HAVE A SHOWER! Breakfast is good - its not continental its an amerian which was better for us and included!. Got a great deal of expedia $50au per night couldn't have asked for a better place.
Pool is lovely and we always had it to ourselves lots of sun!
Room service took a while when we ordered pizza BUT when we found out that they had made them from scratch this changed our minds as the food was GREAT! Staff lovely and remember your name!
There is aircon!
There are no english TV channels - well there was one but it didn't work when we were there - don't let this put you off though - there is a DVD player - go buy some DVDs and watch them!
All in all a great hotel - oh forgot to mention a QUIET nights sleep its so quiet round the hotel!!!
We are just up the road in the Seri Suites now and all i am hearing is a VERY ANNOYING LOUD ROOSTER all day all night - I want to be back at this place.......in fact might go back now.....
If you choose to stay here its great and you will get some really great photos!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My long weekend at Abian Biu was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. The residence is almost like a big mansion with outdoor facing rooms and lots of immaculately kept, peaceful outdoor areas. It's much more intimate and interesting than a standard chain hotel.

To get in, you walk through this cool entranceway through the reception area which is manned 24 hours a day by knowledgeable, friendly staff. There are paths to the outdoor-but-private spa, japanese-type gardens, and two floors of rooms. There is also an outdoor pool connected to the dining area where free breakfast is served. You can have food delivered any time to your bedroom or have it outdoors listening to the running fountains. I spent a lot of time outside in what I felt was like a private palace compound with attentive but not intrusive staff that seemed to be always available but not in your business.

The rooms are very clean and nicely laid out. I booked a room that promised "rice patty views" but when I got there in the wee hours after my flight, they gave me a first-floor room without much of a view. I asked for a second-floor room and when one was available they transferred me ... totally worth it. I highly recommend going 2nd floor as the balcony gets more use and the breeze is better. I love the locking system ... they give you an enormous padlock with a huge key to lock your door when you leave. And then a wooden slat to put between two handles to close it when you are inside. When you leave the residence, you leave the key behind in this big bowl and when you come back, you pick up your key from the bowl. This place is not for people who are paranoid about their belongings, or about bugs crawling in through cracks in the doors and windows. There is wi-fi but it can be slow and unpredictable.

Staff is amazing. They booked taxis, excursions, spa services, everything. Whenever I came back, they addressed me by name, gave me updates on my next excursions, and gave helpful suggestions. I felt like I was staying a family friend's home.

Location is a bit out of the way. It's only 15 minutes and USD$8 taxi to Kuta for shopping, beaches, food, and clubbing. But the neighborhood is sketchy so there's nowhere to walk to from there. The taxi driver from the airport got lost for 2 hours and cursed the whole time and asked for extra tip because he couldn't find it. Several more taxi drivers had difficulty finding it, so definitely take the number of the place with you. Once you're there though, it's tempting to just stay inside the compound and recharge.

Overall I highly recommend this for people who are looking for peaceful ambiance and intimate service outside of the riff raff of Bali. It's not good for rowdy partiers, people who like to stay in mainstream areas, or people averse to bugs.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ampang
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

It's a lovely place if you want out of the busy Kuta area. Friendly, efficient staff as when I requested for something, it will only took them less than 3 minutes to get them to my room!!! Breakfast can be served at room and that's what we did...having it at our balcony. Breakfast is average though. Room is cleaned everyday with fresh towels supplied daily.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abian Biu Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abian Biu Mansion

Address: Jl. Umalas Kauh II No.106 | Tunon Kerobokan, Badung, Kerobokan, Bali 80119, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abian Biu Mansion 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Delight of Peranakan Culture, It is a cultural destination........Our Hotel & Restaurant located at prime area of Umalas-Kerobokan, Bali’s most sought after area with beautiful beach. Just 5 minutes to Seminyak Shops where you can find Balinese handycraft, modern art galleries, wine shops, silver jewelry, and various clothing shops with from local made until international quality. We provided you mansion with unique design concept with pool view, tropical garden view, and Balinese ricefield view. Established ten years ago as an accommodation in graceful concept with the theme of a royal house, Abian Biu is currently completing a total transformation. This transformation also brings a new name to the accommodation – Abian Biu Mansion – to commence its operation in December 2011.The prime renovation to the Abian Biu lies in the concept which becomes the central theme of Abian Biu Mansion. The Peranakan Culture of coastal area has now become the background of the Abian Biu Mansion, making this unique accommodation a cultural destination to manifest the coastal Peranakan culture of the archipelago.The coastal Peranakan is a symbol of acculturation of cultures and multicultural process through marriages between the Chinese ethnic and the Indonesian population living in the coastal areas of the archipelago since centuries ago. These form of marriages did not only form a new culture but also created a marriage of cultures that enriches the diversity of the archipelago.As a result of this, we now can take delight in a great variety of food and culinary, traditions, fabrics, music, and other kind of arts. Abian Biu Mansion encapsulates the coastal Peranakan culture in a variety of forms to entice your senses. Bian Yue and Amoy, our two new beautifully decorated restaurants in very special ambiance offer you the very rich culinary of the Peranakan.Our 12 rooms available at Abian Biu Mansion bears the theme of Peranakan as found in the coastal areas of the archipelago such as Palembang, Lasem, Cirebon, Pekalongan, Semarang, Tuban, and Singaraja. Each of these areas carries its own specific cultural attribute that is adopted as Abian Biu Mansion’s special identity.The owner of Abian Biu Mansion, Yoseph interestingly reiterates “For us The Archipelago Coastal Peranakan is much more than a theme of decoration or ornaments one finds at our premises.At the Abian Biu Mansion we want to share the spirit of diversity in the life of our nation.” Further, he says “In addition to that exotic blend of cultures, we make sure that our management is based on very genuine and sincere Indonesian hospitality which is full of dedication.”Abian Biu Mansion is indeed a representation to give an added value in Bali tourism. In responsible tourism, it is highly recommended that we give a cultural experience to our clients. Therefore, Abian Biu Mansion is more than just a tourist accommodation. It is a Cultural Destination................ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abian Biu Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abian Biu Residence Hotel Kerobokan
Abian Biu Mansion Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abian Biu Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.