We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding octopus! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barbacoa Bali

Barbacoa Bali
Jl. Petitenget no. 14 | Kerobokan, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 739233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: South American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Parkdale, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding octopus! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The pork did not disappoint, absolutely delicious; however, we had the most tender and tasty octopus we have ever had outside of Spain! The owner was so friendly and even hailed us a cab, great ambience, service, and best wine we had in Bali - highly recommend, just hope to see a Barbacoa II down under one day soon!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    79
    26
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great South American/modern mexican style share plates. Beautiful space. Lovely staff. The potatoes and the pork were amazing. Works for groups or a nice couples night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charcoal Barbi with Latin American Twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The setting is rustic warehouse with wood fires, charcoal grill and smoke. The food was wonderful and the wine not too pricey compared to most restaurants. We had the fish taco and Empanada lamb to start, the laml was so nice I ordered a second portion while waiting on the mains. The second course was giant rib eye and grilled smoked prawns with guacamole and a chilli marinade, both were melt in your mouth. We had a portion of Spanish Potato between us which we could not finish. Desert was a tasting plate. Would recommend you to try, there are a lot of tasting plates to share while waiting on mains.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Well deserved accolade as one of the best grills in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Bali Bible lists the Barbacoa on its Best in Bali series, and it is an accolade well deserved.

My husband, 6 year old son and I visited the Barbacoa for an evening meal. The place was busy, but the staff guided us to a quiet corner that was perfect for our son -- fewer distractions!

The menu is mainly South American grilled meats, with several options for sides. They have a fully stocked bar, and the red wine I had was delicious.

We started with the bread, which were truly heavenly with the chilli dip -- warm, soft and very tasty. The chilli dip wasn't spicy, but very flavoursome -- our son loved it and so did we.

We ordered the asado of the day, which was roasted suckling pig. The meat was tender and very lightly seasoned, but came with a sauce on the side -- perfect for our son, who prefers his meat plain. The meat was tender and juicy, and very, very good. And the crackling was something else!

We also had a beef steak, again grilled to perfection. Sides were green beans (big and crunchy) and burnt carrots, which were caramalised to the point of sweetness.

Would have loved to try dessert, but we were stuffed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
“Lunchtime Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My mouth has been watering since I eat here for dinner last every-time I thought of some the great dishes I had. So I was so glad to hear this restaurant was opening for lunch as I love to eat light at lunchtime and sharing a selection of their tapas dishes was perfect. It gave my friend and I a chance to have so many great lip smacking flavors without feeling too full for the rest of the afternoon. You have to have their warm, soft and fluffy chapa bread with delicious roasted garlic & balsamic vinegar -Try the bbq paprika & lemon chicken with the crisp garden salad and the zingy & fresh grilled squid with jalapeno, guacamole and barbacoa salsa. But my favourite was the prawns, chickpeas, roast tomatoes & goats cheese, you have to save some bread to mop up this divine sauce. We also really enjoyed sitting looking out over the paddy fields at the back of the restaurant, perfect place to enjoy a crisp glass of sauvignon blanc or one of their mean margaritas. Yep great selection of food, drinks and all at a pretty decent price. Only problem is you dont want to leave oh and those truffles were amazing.....yum!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbacoa Bali also viewed

 

Been to Barbacoa Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbacoa Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.