We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved loved loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch

Scratch
#78 Jalan Pengubengan Kauh | Seminyak, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 737914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Asian, Tapas, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Purposely located off the beaten paths of nearby Oberoi and Kerobokan streets, SCRATCH is a new restaurant serving up "homecooked, like your momma did it, Sunday dinner, comfort food". SCRATCH is a needle in the haystack (or rice field in this case), located on a quiet street only five minutes away from Seminyak Square. SCRATCH is smoke-free and air conditioned with an outside patio for smoking and hanging out. It's got a relaxed atmosphere and hip decor, as the walls are lined with vibrant concert posters from bands like Cake, Arcade Fire and Neil Young, and more than likely you'll be hearing similar bands over the speakers. The menu is equally inviting, and can best be described as gourmet comfort food. But clearly the Canadian chef/owner (conveniently nicknamed Moose) won't settle for "mom's recipes", as it is obvious he enjoys putting a unique twist on most of his dishes. Signature steaks, rustic pastas, tapas, American classics, Asian favourites, and great specials during Happy Hour (8pm-10pm)...And you can wash it all down with a mango martini or a frosty mug of beer. So, if you've got an itch...Come and SCRATCH it!! NOTE: The map provided by Trip Advisor has us pinned in the wrong location. So, please call us for directions, or just jump in a taxi and tell them "Scratch restaurant, Jalan Pengubengan Kauh, next to Pengubengan Banjar". Thanks, and hope to see you here soon.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved loved loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Not only was the menu mouth watering and delectable but the staff and atmosphere stunning! Although there are amazing Indonesian restaurants in Bali, Scratch was a refreshing modern western break. Our birthday girl even got a beautiful card. We can truly recommend this place and cannot wait to go back next time we visit Bali.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    29
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We dined at scratch resultant tonight and the food was some of the best we have ever eaten! The service is great and they give free table water. Menu selection is large and there is something for everyone it is a little out of the way of Seminyak but jump in a taxi it is totally worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The next big thing on Bali !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

We had a amazing night at Scratch !! Really good western an local combined food and good prices!! You really have to try desserts and Martini's as well! Perfect service and a cool location.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere in the world
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Another 2 meals at Scratch, and I am upping my rating to a "4"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

When I reviewed this restaurant back in Nov 14, after eating there twice, I said the food was "average" and gave it a "3".

It being the nearest decent restaurant to our Kerobokan holiday home, we decided to give it another try (once for lunch, and once for dinner). And we were more impressed with the food this time around.

For lunch, I had a "gorgeous beefburger" (that's the name on the menu). Restaurant beefburgers can often be somewhat dry but this was very moist indeed, and with nice flavour. The condiments were good too. A very nice burger indeed, that totally lived up to it's name. Gorgeous! My partner had the Philly cheese steak poutine, which she also enjoyed a lot. Both good quality for the price.

For dinner we shared the asparagus and gorgonzola cheese tapas, which was very nice. We followed that with Canadian Pie and Seafood grill. Both good..

it is not top notch grub, but it is nice, plus service was good (as it was on our previous visit) and prices are reasonable (as I mentioned before).

Hence I have upped my rating from a mediocre "3" to a solid "4".

As an added bonus, I had a stunning view of the lunar eclipse at 8pm on Apr 4th!

We will be back.

GPS Location: S 8 40' 03" E 115 10' 10"

Directions from Seminyak/Sunset: travel north up Kerobokan Raya. At the first big crossroads turn right (the opposite direction to Jalan Petitenget). Take the second left (after the prison) into Jalan Pengubangan (just after passing the prison on the right). Scrath is about 700 metres along, on the left. About 10 mins from sunset, 15 mins from Seminyak Square (depending on traffic of course, double these times during rush hour).

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely amazing ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015


The best food I've eaten in Bali... We will be back again and again... The service and drinks are amazing too... Thanks you so much to everyone at scratch!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch also viewed

 

Been to Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.