We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scratch

Scratch
#78 Jalan Pengubengan Kauh | Seminyak, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 737914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Steakhouse, Tapas, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Purposely located off the beaten paths of nearby Oberoi and Kerobokan streets, SCRATCH is a new restaurant serving up "homecooked, like your momma did it, Sunday dinner, comfort food". SCRATCH is a needle in the haystack (or rice field in this case), located on a quiet street only five minutes away from Seminyak Square. SCRATCH is smoke-free and air conditioned with an outside patio for smoking and hanging out. It's got a relaxed atmosphere and hip decor, as the walls are lined with vibrant concert posters from bands like Cake, Arcade Fire and Kings of Leon, and more than likely you'll be hearing similar bands over the speakers. The menu is equally inviting, and can best be described as gourmet comfort food. But clearly the Canadian chef/owner (conveniently nicknamed Moose) won't settle for "mom's recipes", as it is obvious he enjoys putting a unique twist on most of his dishes. Signature steaks, rustic pastas, tapas, American classics, Asian favourites, and great specials during Happy Hour (8pm-10pm)...and you can wash it all down with a mango martini or a frosty mug of beer. So, if you've got an itch...come and SCRATCH it!! NOTE: The map provided by Trip Advisor has us pinned in the wrong location. So, please call us for directions, or just jump in a taxi and tell them "Scratch restaurant, Jalan Pengubengan Kauh, next to Pengubengan Banjar". Thanks, and hope to see you here soon.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 NEW

Loved the food, loved the service, loved the place!

The food was delicious!!! My boyfriend and I both had the Tenderloin, one with mashed potatoes & creamy tomato sauce and the other one with the rosemary fries & the pesto. We were both in the opinion that those steaks were some of the best we've ever had!

Also the tapas as a starter and a banana smoothie for dessert were super yummy.

In addition to that, the service was good and the place's design is nice!

Definitely recommend to visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Scratch 2 Times........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014 NEW via mobile

Whilst holidaying with my family in Bali we happened upon Scratch restaurant, the first time the food and service was so good that we came back the following day........ highly recommended!!!!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth the journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

We chose Scratch for dinner during our stay in Seminyak based on good reviews on here. We got a taxi from our hotel and traffic was pretty horrendous (only took about 20 mins though from far end seminyak / pettinget) - once we got there it was worth it!

Delicious food and great value. Also great service - we mentioned that James had been ill with a bad stomach and wanted a plain steak (no sauce etc) so the owner / chef came out to ask exactly what he wanted to make sure no wires were crossed. Special mention goes to the Toronto dessert which was unbelievably good! Good menu with wide range of influences.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

We came to Scratch for dinner, and it was so delicious we decided to return for lunch the very next day!! The drinks were superb, I personally fell in love with the lychee margarita!! As well as the drinks, the food was delicious!! Try the steak poutine, I really recommend it, it was excellent!!! The atmosphere was really nice, the interior design invites you in right away, it is a cool place to come relax and dine with good friends after a long day at the beach.
We regret that we found scratch our last two days in Seminyak, otherwise we would have returned for brunch (the menu looked AH-mazing)
Aaron and the staff were really nice and welcoming, so if you are ever in the area don't hesitate to stop by!! I truly recommend it!! It was one of the best meals and drinks I've had in a long time..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A night to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

Scratch is a true gem. Stylish, warm and cool décor, amazing staff, incredible food, cocktails made from the freshest ingredients, great music with concert artwork displayed - think Bon Iver, Black Keys, Ween, Arcade Fire - an overwhelming amount of skill and care put into every aspect of this beautiful restaurant.

Owner Aaron, Sri and the entire team are warm, attentive, professional and just down right cool. The kitchen is visible from the restaurant and you can see the amount of attention that goes into every detail of each mouth watering dish. Try the Mahi Mahi with the best salsa and pesto accompaniment I have ever tasted, seafood grill, stickless satay chicken that presents your old time favourite as a main course meal, fresh strawberry cosmopolitans or the delicate and creamy almond take on one of the best espresso martini's ever created (as travellers from Melbourne where this is an art form says a lot in this case). The menu is Canadian meets Asian meets Mexican and it works beyond any expectation, all components made from Scratch.

Unbeknown to me my partner had been in contact with Aaron for some time planning his marriage proposal for our night at Scratch. The whole staff and patrons were in on the plan and made our happiest moment all the more memorable. Our song was played, discreetly disguised amongst similar genre songs, as we headed back into the restaurant from the outdoor area. My fiancée down on one knee having retrieved the hidden ring from staff and celebrations really began! I couldn't think of a better location to remember that moment forever.

If in Bali - Go to Scratch. Make a visit at the beginning of your trip because you will want to go back. The food and service here is some of the best I have ever experienced, imaginative, fresh and quite simply hits the spot... and I came to that conclusion before the big event of the night.

Thank you Aaron and Sri, and the entire team at Scratch. My all time favourite restaurant!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scratch also viewed

 

Been to Scratch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scratch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.