We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Villa - Honeymoon package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Pengubugan | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Nowra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Private Villa - Honeymoon package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in Villa no 12 for 13 days. Couldnt fault our stay, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left our stay was perfect. It was private and quiet, the service was superb, the food amazing and the many inclusions in our package made our stay incredibly special. Loved the massage, very expertly done and left us feeling relaxed for two days afterwards. The entire staff (down to the garden boys) were extremely plesant and really understand the meaning of "service"! The only minor hiccup was that our cab drivers tended to get lost trying to find the place, apparently a recent name change is the cause but take a card from the resort and worst case was get them to call the resort for directions, and enjoy the adventure while they get to the right location. It cost about AU$5 for a cab from Seminyak so being out of the way a bit was no real issue and just made sure our stay was very peaceful.Go for an explore in the grounds, we only found the second shared pool after being there for a week! Definately recomend doing the cooking course, it was really interesting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made T, Sales Executive at Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Madam


Warmest Greetings From PLataran Bali Resort And Spa

On behalf of Staff and Management Plataran Bali Resort & Spa, we are pleased to learn that you so enjoyed your stay with us recently.

By this opportunity we need your kind assistance to sounding Plataran brand to your colleagues , family and partners.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort on your next visit to Bali.

Your kind concern and cooperation is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards


I Made Tirta Yasa and Plataran Bali Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed one night in Villa nro.7 last week. This place made me almost a bit upset, because it could be so great,but it is not. It has all the potential to be this green paradise away from the madness of Kuta, location is great because it is still so easy to reach restaurants and shopping by taxi. Plataran has huge gardens, which could be so well taken care of,but they are not. Everything could be so much greener, not with hint of grey in it. The general untidiness was so weird. Our room was big and had a private pool. It was strange that there were now sun chairs next to the pool and even in the main pool there where only 2 of them.Very weird. Our bedsheets had been washed, but they where so old that they where full of stains that they had not been able to remove.They also had holes in them. We called to the reception to get them changed, but even the ones they changed where dirty..Our bathroom floors where full of small ants ( yes, it is an outdoor bathroom but they should be able to spray them away ), there where cups for candles and mosquito smokes in the villa but they had old ashes in them without putting new ones.....It almost felt like they had not cleaned the room at all before we arrived.The closet where they kept bathrobes smelled so insanely bad..The food was also so mediocre and our desert chocolate fondant was more like a chocolate cake, completely over cooked. In the morning when we woke up we had HUGE cockroach inside our mosquito net in the bed. So awful!
I was happy not to stay there any longer.
The rates for this place are just absurd, it would be worth 100 USD per night,nothing more. It should not advertise itself as luxury resort, because it is SO far from it.I would rate it 3 stars.We have stayed in many fabulous Luxury villas in Indonesia and always been happy before.
If you are planning to stay close to this area and want true luxury villa with private pool, please, do yourself a favor and stay in Villa Komea. It is not that far from Plataran Bali and it is fabulous with great rates and service.
Like I said, Plataran Bali could be fantastic in the right hands. It would need an owner who would do some serious updating and polishing. It is such a shame to waste this type of property purely because of lack of passion and interest. Too bad.

Room Tip: At least skip the Villa nro.7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made T, Sales Executive at Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sir / Mam

Warmest Greetings from Plataran Bali Resort & Spa…..

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your holiday on 16 Nov 2012
We have thoroughly reviewed your comment and feel that we owe you our deepest apologies for the inconvenience that your comment has caused at Plataran Bali Resort & Spa.

We are very serious about our customer’s satisfaction and we work hard to get to the bottom of any customer complaints. After analyzing the issue and conducting several internal reviews, we will upgrade our facility and re-train our staff to make our guest enjoy Their stay with us in the future.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact us at reservation@plataranbali.com
Once again, on behalf of the Staff and Management of Plataran Bali, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Your valuable input and comment is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely your’s,


I Made Tirta Yasa
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On arriving we were pleasantly surprised, a quick check in and then off to our villa. Ours was a very private single villa with pool (Villa 12), and yes we were able to skinny dip! The villas are spacious and have all the modern conveniences! yes it's a little out of the way, but taxis are cheap and the hotel runs a shuttle bus 3 times a day. The grounds are beautiful and there are a selection of pools to swim in, with bamboo and suspension bridges over the river. Breakfast was a little small, we had room service twice, but then realised breakfast is served much hotter in the restaurant. We stayed for 7 nights and found the Plataran villas to be very relaxing, just what we needed. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Ants can be a bit of a problem if food is left out!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Made T, General Manager at Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert & Ms. Annette Ford...

On the behalf of the Plataran Bali Family, we thank you for the positive feed back and look forward to welcoming you again in not too distance future...

Terima Kasih :-)

Erik & PLataran Bali Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had never been to Bali before and so were nervous about what the island had to offer, especially given we hadn't particularly enjoyed our recent stay in a similar South East Asian tourist hot spot - Phuket. Thanks in no small part to the Plataran, we fell in love with Bali and can't stop recommending it to everyone.

The resort is quite secluded and hidden away from the main road, and Kerobokan is definitely not on the tourist trail. But that was exactly what we had hoped for. It was so quiet and peaceful and a glimpse of the real Bali. On the downside, the location means if you want to get to the beach/nightlife/restaurants, you will have to catch a cab (around $3 to Seminyak), or get the free bus the resort provides 3 times a day.

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and lush and really gives the impression of being in the middle of the jungle. The pools are picture perfect and a beautiful river runs through the bottom of the property.

We stayed in a pool villa and it was beautiful. The villa itself is huge with a large comfy bed with mosquito net, TV and stereo with iPod dock. The toilet and shower are outside (but under a roof and hidden away) which was a great surprise for us, we both loved the openness. That said, those with a fear of insects/bugs may have issues with this concept. The private pool was spotlessly clean, and a very generous size.

The staff were among the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered. They were very prompt and always looking to help. They all seemed so genuinely happy to have you staying in the resort.

We ate at the restaurant a couple of times and found the food very good. Obviously a little bit more expensive then food you can find outside, but it is a more upmarket setting and we had no complaints.

Finally, in terms of overall value - we can't say enough. For the price you pay, you really do get the impression that you are staying in a much more expensive resort.

Room Tip: Pool villa was fantastic and would highly recommend the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Plataran is beautiful, lush and peaceful. However, we expected more for the price.
We chose Plataran because we wanted a private villa but discovered on arrival that there was another room above ours which overlooked our pool (so no skinny-dipping!).
So it wasn't really as private as they had advertised.

Breakfast was not included, so either take a 10-15 minute taxi ride to Seminyak or eat at the on-site restaurant (where the portions are small and overpriced).
Their restaurant closes at 11pm so forget any late night cravings you may have -
(honeymooners and generally anyone who's arriving late).

As beautiful as Plataran is, I wouldn't stay there again.
There's a real lack of conveniences within walking distance which wouldn't be a huge problem if they had more to offer on-site. For what it is/where it is Plataran is overpriced.
Room service should be more available, and the restaurant should be offering better food.
Spa treatments/massages are too expensive (western prices) and shuttle to Seminyak needs to run more frequently/offer a return shuttle.

If you're looking for tranquility and an escape from the business of Seminyak/Kuta then you're better off going to Ubud. However if you want to be close enough to be able to walk into Seminyak then there are plenty of other places which are more central and have a lot more to offer for the same price as Plataran.

Room Tip: If booking a private villa make sure that in fact it is private as we had neighbours in a room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur, malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It was a blessing in disguise that the villas that we had originally booked had problems as this villa resort was absolutely lovely. We were there for 4 days and 3 nights for a family reunion. The location may not be perfect but the villas make up for it. We were greeted with lovely welcome drinks and escorted to our villas. The staff were friendly and very pleasant. The rooms and pools were clean and well kept.
The chef prepared the family dinner according to our needs. I would love to go back there. Shuttle service was provided to Seminyak and the beach.

Nasema

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The five-day stay there was magnificent. Privbate pool, great meals, and villas that allowed you to relax and commute with nature. The initial impression when you get there is that it is a small hotel, but the grounds ae very large with large villas that are essentially hiden from each other.
We took cooking classes from the chef and generally enjoyed ourselves. Ths is a hotel where the idea is to stay there all day. You will not want to leave

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Pengubugan | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plataran Canggu Resort and Spa offers guests the chance to experience traditional Balinese hospitality - genuinely a calming oasis of tranquility and pure relaxation. Surrounded by lush gardens and immersed in the calls of nature - one would hardly believe that we are located just 10 minutes to beaches and entertainment areas. Plataran Canggu Resort and Spa is your garden sanctuary in the heart of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plataran Bali Resort And Spa
Plataran Bali Hotel Kerobokan
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.