We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we imagined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Jl Pengubugan | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better than we imagined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The five-day stay there was magnificent. Privbate pool, great meals, and villas that allowed you to relax and commute with nature. The initial impression when you get there is that it is a small hotel, but the grounds ae very large with large villas that are essentially hiden from each other.
We took cooking classes from the chef and generally enjoyed ourselves. Ths is a hotel where the idea is to stay there all day. You will not want to leave

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
73
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Due to stuff up with original hotel, we ended up at the Plataran as a second choice. However, the choice was excellent in the end. We got to the hotel at about 11pm, tired and frustrated due to original stuff up. We were greeted with big smiles and a cold drink. Staff were very friendly and took care of the booking. Shown to our private villa with private pool. Lovely outside shower and bath. Nothing was too difficult for the staff...breakfast at the villa, getting a takeaway of spit roast pig, heating up another take away meal..very accommodating and flexible. They matched all the inclusions of the previous booking including a 2h spa and romantic dinner for 2. On one night we found the bath filled with rose petals...very romantic! The hotel also had regular free drop offs and pick ups from Seminyak and Kuta. All in all, a very enjoyable stay and would recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the villas down by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at Plataran with my wife and two kids (aged 2 and 4) in October of 2011 and we all still talk about it all the time. It totally set the standard for family holidays. I so would love to back there now. The villas are absolutely huge, beautifully furnished and with the characteristic indoor / outdoor Balinese style bathrooms. We had 2 villas set on about 250 m3 of serene florid garden behind our own secure bolt-able door. The main villa had a big open deck with a large dining table overlooking the full size private pool. It was completely private and just paradisiacal with perched on the edge of a small river looking out to a rice paddy with a temple in the distance.

There were 2 other pool in the complex which we swam in from time to time - which we always had to ourselves given that most of the villas have their own pool I guess. The grounds of hotel are just magical - little path ways meandering around frangipani and hibiscus and untold other trees. There is a vegie garden where some of the restaurants produce is sourced, and several bridges criss crossing the stream. I loved that this was a Bali resort rather than a Western resort in Bali and you could find this peculiar sort of stuff like pet rabbits that my kids were invited to feed by the oh so friendly and helpful staff.

We intended so travel around and look at the sites but this was after 4 weeks of dragging the kids around Europe and we decided that since we had arrived in paradise we would just stay there, by the pool, ordering our food, not trying to achieve anything, but a sense of calm and relaxation.

Now, even this near paradise has some room for improvement. The fresh fruit juices seemed stingy and the beer was overpriced - borrow a mountain bike or walk out of resort down to the main road and go to the convenience store to stock up. I got a massage that I thought somewhat disappointing so I started going to place about a $2 taxi ride away that was better and a fraction of the price. We also didn't realise that our 'family villa' was actually two physically separate villas rather than an upstairs downstairs arrangement, but it was not clear on booking. The kids were too small to be in a separate house mum slept with the 2yo in the main villa and data slept in villa 2 with the 4yo in one of the 2 single beds. Apparently, there are other villas that would have better suited us but it turned out fine. We had such bad jetlag that this arrangement probably worked better for us. Ah, but there is nothing like having a private pool if you have jetlag and are likely to want to swim at midnight. The separate villas will be perfect for us in a few years or so.

The resort is away from the beach and main tourist centres but it is still quite near some busy villages and noisy roads. I appreciated the fact that I could walk to a convenience store or a laundry or massage place but I expected that the resort would be out in the countryside. Actually, there is just some remnant rice paddy being encroached upon by urban sprawl. Villa complexes and new homes are being banged up all over the place. Hopefully the resort has some arrangement by which the rice paddy opposite the river will remain undeveloped, because when you are in the resort it is almost unbelievable that you are so close to the village, except when the atmospheric chanting starts at the temples.

I guess it all depends on the deals going at the time but I thought Plataran seemed rather better value than other resorts we investigated.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family riverside villa and it was terrific, but it was 2 separate villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

It's a beautiful collection of villas surrounded by a small river and paddy fields. The pool villa we stayed in had a large room with great amenities, a beautiful outdoor bathroom, large balcony with dining table which overlooked the amazing private pool. The staff were always very helpful and kind. The spa was amazing with a huge glass window overlooking the river - perfect view when getting a massage. The hotel has two gorgeous pools which are situated beautifully. Also the hotel is very close to Seminyak where there are loads of good restaurants and a fantastic beach. We will certainly come back to this paradise. Not very suitable for small children.

Room Tip: Go for the pool villa. Fantastic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We had the most amazing honeymoon trip in Bali, Plataran Resort and Spa. It was a dream vacation, come true in reality. The staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant to talk to. We had the most scrumptious breakfast everyday. We felt after leaving Bali that we should have extended our trip for another week to enjoy the scenic beauty and ambiance of the resort. We have already recommended Plataran Resort and Spa to all our family and friends. Keep up the good work. Thank you.

Room Tip: deluxe with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I spent 6 days in November 2011 at Plataran. Even thought the resort is not near the beach or major shopping areas, with a scooter rented with the help with Plantaran staff, we were able to easily get to anywhere we needed. We went to Seminyak every night, Uluwatu, Ubud and Padang-Padang beach without any problem. The villas are very private and gorgeous, by far one of the nicest place we have ever stayed. The staff is great and very helpful, hard to find the type of hospitality we got in Plataran. We highly recoment the resort.
Miami, FL

Room Tip: Choose the room with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived in Bali and spent two nights at Plataran Bali before heading to a dive resort.In the past we've always stayed in Sanur, so this was a welcome change. The resort is small, and very private. We'd planned to go to Kuta, etc, but ended up spending out time in our villa. It was lovely, with a wonderful covered courtyard overlooking the pool. We had the pool to ourselves and saw very few other people. There was almost no street noise, just village sounds of roosters, doves, and crickets.

The restaurant was good and service was great. As with other Bali restaurants, the wine list is tiny and expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Pengubugan | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Novus Bali Villa)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 85 Specialty lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plataran Canggu Resort and Spa offers guests the chance to experience traditional Balinese hospitality - genuinely a calming oasis of tranquility and pure relaxation. Surrounded by lush gardens and immersed in the calls of nature - one would hardly believe that we are located just 10 minutes to beaches and entertainment areas. Plataran Canggu Resort and Spa is your garden sanctuary in the heart of Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plataran Bali Resort And Spa
Plataran Bali Hotel Kerobokan
Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plataran Canggu Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.