We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamasan

Mamasan
Jl. Raya Kerobokan No.135 | Seminyak, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 730436
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 117 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OMG!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were originally booked in at Sarong, however they were closed and our booking was redirected to Mamasan. Our disappointment was quickly turned to pleasure. Service was prompt and attentive and the food was absolutely spectacular. I am looking forward to my next Bali visit as Mamasan will be at the top of the "must go". Do yourself a favour and check it out...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    419
    109
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we went back 2 days later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a fantastic lunch at Mama Sans in Seminyak and liked it so much we went back for lunch again 2 days later.

It has an excellent location, great air-conditioning, brilliant food, good service and cold beer and a good wine list.

What more could one want from a restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Had a great night here. Food is delicious and the fit out quite cool.
Having said that, the service was pretty average. Just a little bit robotic. Would not rush back, but had a good time.
If you had limited time, I'd go to Sarong over Mamasan, to be honest.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beef short ribs to die for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Everybody raves about Mama San - and now having visited, I understand why. We arrived purposefully early for our booking to make sure we had time to have a cocktail in the bar upstairs and were very glad we did. If I have one piece of advice in this regard it is - have the coconut mojito - totally delicious! And the bar tenders are expert in their craft which was very entertaining to watch. The staff come up to the bar and get you when it is time for your reservation too - which is indicative of the overall great service we received. The attention to detail was excellent - our table was wobbling and the waitress noticed and fixed it without needing to be asked. And when a fly did a kamikaze flight into my water glass, it was noticed and replaced, again without having to be asked. Now onto the food…our appetisers were a bit hit and miss. Then soft shell crab was great but the pork in betel leaf lacked flavour and was a very dense texture. The beef ribs were absolutely amazing! Perhaps one of the best dishes I have ever eaten. Not to be missed. The red duck curry….the curry sauce was spectacular but I didn't think it infused into the duck meat particularly well. We went as a couple and I think it would have been better in a bigger group so that we could try more dishes. Worth a visit for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Although it was a tad too salty for my husband and I, the flavours of our beef short ribs and pork belly were so good. We could tell a lot of thought and care went into the prep and conception. We had prata to go with the dishes but would recommend having white jasmine rice to soak the flavours up better.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamasan also viewed

 

Been to Mamasan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamasan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.