We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak

Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak
Jl. Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4738106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 83 restaurants in Kerobokan
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a big fancy table because it was a friend's 40th birthday celebration so we felt especially well served.

The food was prepared to a very high standard. I had fish which was perfectly cooked. We all had an amazing time.

Extra special feature: The waiters ask your name then remember to call you by your name for the rest of the night. Cute.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello davidgryguc

We are thrilled to hear that your dining experience at Starfish Bloo exceeded your expectations on the occasion you celebrated. Your wonderful compliments regarding the food and waiters are valued to a great extent and have been shared amongst the team.

We look forward to meeting you again on your next vacation for another W experience.

All the best,

Kevin Chung
Chef de Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    215
    75
    36
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Seminyak MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We dined at Starfish Bloo the day after Christmas. Every plate was authentic and delicious. The service from our lovely waitress, Budi, was the best on the whole trip!! Will definitely go back and see Budi!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hello Tracy C

It gives me great satisfaction to read about how much you enjoyed your dining experience at Starfish Bloo. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcoming you back on your next visit to Bali for another Wow experience.

All the best,

Kevin Chung
Chef de Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch at Starfish Bloo is always my highlight of the week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great variety of Fresh Seafood, live music, coacktails and juices. I always enjoy the good quality of the food and services here. The staff are very well trainined. A word for the wise- this place can get pretty busy, especially in Sunday.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Kittisak A

We appreciate your comments and feedback on your recent visit at our Starfish Bloo. We are happy that we were able to Wow your experience with the variety of fresh ingredients and hope to have the opportunity of having you back to dining with us in the near future.

All the best,

Kevin Chung
Chef de Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong Creek, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food to live for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an excellent place to dine. Quality food, Friendly staff. AND you will need a session at the gym after Sunday Brunch

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello Asiantraveller

We are so delighted to hear that you had an exceptional meal on your recent visit at Starfish Bloo. Your wonderful compliments have been passed on to our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another Wow experience.

All the best,

Kevin Chung
Chef de Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airlie beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“boo hoo at starfish bloo”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

As expats, we have eaten many times at starfish bloo, and always enjoyed our meal. Unfortunately over the last couple visits we have seen the quality in food drop dramatically. We dined last sunday for brunch. First off the western manager had only interest in the wealthy and thug looking guests (also expat) and ignored most other tables. We sat for 3 hours but still not even a glance, would have loved to discuss my meal at the time!

We tried the babi guling- very under cooked and the meat chewy and watery. This is the norm in bali but for the price tag and the western management, this should not have been served. i recommend cooking for an extra 3 or so hours.
We also ate the crab, which we felt was a frozen product. The meat was very watery and like mush. we thought it may have been just the 2 crab we had so we changed them for fresh, but still the same mushy meat!
I then ordered the foie gras with croissant (one of my all time favourite star fish bloo dishes) what i received was a small brioche bun with unseasoned foie gras on it, Totally tasteless and different to what i ordered.
I know their last chef left almost a year ago, but to have it nosedive so dramatically is a real disappointment. As a chef its very frustrating seeing so many easy mistakes not remedied by management.
We ordered cocktails which were great and our food server was very friendly.

over all- Our food was a real disappointment and for the price that we paid it was definitely not worth it. Some dishes were rurally nice like the steamed chinese buns etc, but over all not a real good selection.

Unsure if we will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, Manager at Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello benijones

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectation during your visit at Starfish Bloo.

I would like to apologise about the issues you experienced, I can assure you that all of our produce are delivered fresh on a daily basis. We are always creating new and exciting culinary dishes.

I would like to assure you that your review has been taken very seriously. You can email me directly at kevin.chung@whotels.com should you wish to discuss.

Kind regards,

Kevin Chung
Chef de Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak also viewed

Been to Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starfish Bloo at W Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.