We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but pretentious and expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Potato Head Beach Club

Potato Head Beach Club
Jalan Petitenget 51 B, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 90 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious and expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

A restaurant like this somewhere else would be three times the price true but it's bali and the whole place was just a bit too pretentious for my taste. The food was good but it wasn't the best meal I have eaten in bali which it should be for the price. The cocktails really ruined this place for me though, they were awful I tried three different ones and all of them were awful. The kind you pay $12 for and they try to be cool and different by using interesting ingredients but it just comes out all wrong. Even the service wasn't that good, although I did like how after our service was over they already had reserved a table for us at the bar that was good. The view is also beautiful. Worth a try if you have extra money to burn.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewiprasodjo, Manager at Potato Head Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Alanna_90:

Thank you for your valuable review regarding your recent visit to Potato Head Beach Club.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the areas in which we did not meet your expectations. It is disheartening to read that all your meal and cocktail experience were disappointing.

We would like to assure you that your feedback is taken very seriously. We would like to learn more about your experience so that we can try to find a way to make this up to you. You can email me directly at dewi.prasodjo@ptthead.com.

Best regards,
Dewi Prasodjo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,688
    1,166
    441
    163
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We first visited last year in February for drinks and lunch with family which we found the food and drinks to be amazing.

When I returned in November last year took the girlfriends there for a look and what should have been dinner. Hostess seated us at a comfy couch area and explained that we must spend in excess of a set amount to be there which we said we were happy with. The only problem being night time and a meal was that the lighting was very low or non existant and could not read menu. The menu appeared to be quite different to the daytime menu that had previously been available and one party member did not have a lot of choice being a vegetarian.

Its a beautiful location with great views - prefer the daytime visits as seemed more relaxing than the hussle bussle of the night time patrons.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewiprasodjo, Manager at Potato Head Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Gaye B:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent Potato Head Beach Club experience. We are happy to hear that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your time here.

We thank you for sharing with us your concerns about the lighting quality. Your comment is very important to us as it helps us to improve guest experience and have been submitted to the management team for review.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Dewi Prasodjo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place for sunset with a cocktail”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Arrived without a booking, and were very lucky to get a day bed right on the beachfront. What an amazing way to see the sunset - worth a visit for this alone.

Initially came for just a drink but decided to stay for dinner. We all had various pastas and they were OK (nothing more...).

All in all, great location, fun and lively atmosphere, good service, but food could be better...
Would come again but probably just for a drink.

Oh, and loved the entrance through the shutter lined walkway, but thought the exit via the very average gift shop was a bit tacky....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewiprasodjo, Manager at Potato Head Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear carowilk:

Thank you for including Potato Head Beach Club in your Bali itinerary. We appreciate the time that you took to share your experience.

It is truly a delight for us to read that you enjoyed your overall experience here, especially the pool bed. We look forward to serving you again soon!

Warmest regards,
Dewi Prasodjo
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing day of sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Beautiful beach club; loved the building! Amazing day of sun, food and swimmingpool!! Would definitely go back!!! Very nice food too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewiprasodjo, Manager at Potato Head Beach Club, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear aitziber7:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent experience at Potato Head Beach Club. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Dewi Prasodjo
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“most amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This has to be one of the best bars/clubs I've ever been to in the world. Great setting overlooking the surf, infinity pool with daybeds you can order cocktails/food on, and the music is amazing! Could easily spend a whole afternoon/night here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewiprasodjo, Manager at Potato Head Beach Club, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Grif98:

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Potato Head Beach Club on TripAdvisor. We are ecstatic you felt your experience here excelled out of your expectation. We're glad you had a wonderful time and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Dewi Prasodjo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potato Head Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Potato Head Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potato Head Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.