We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Villa and superb service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Besar Bali Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerobokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Besar Bali Villas
Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular Villa and superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days in Bali, staying in the 6 bedroom villa (Villa 4) at Villa Besar. There were twelve in our group, 5 adults and 7 kids ranging from 3-15.
The layout of the villa is two buildings, one housing two bedrooms separated by a lounge and then the main villa has four rooms coming off a spectacular open living area with massive kitchen. In the main villa one bedroom has two sets of bunks, another with a king and a set of bunks and then two rooms with king beds. The separate building has king beds in both. All have amazing bathrooms with twin showers and a bath. There is a large pool with two sections - one shallow which was great for the little kids. They installed a temporary pool fence for us, which may not have been to the same standards as here in Aus, but still was effective in keeping the little ones out.
The staff at Villa Besar were wonderful. James and Ratna were there every morning to prepare a wonderful breakfast and then clean the rooms. James in particular was very friendly and always there to support, answer questions, share stories. Everyone was wonderful with the kids. Nanik, the manager, was also great and always willing to offer advice about where to go etc. We had one guest with a severe nut allergy and we found on arrival that Nanik had given everyone a briefing to ensure that all staff in the complex were aware which made things so much easier.
Transport was easy. The villa is a little way out of town but there are fixed prices to use the villa buses to get to various destinations which was very convenient. For one of our day trips they organised a mini bus for the 12 of us which worked out cheaper than taking two vans (1 million Rupiah for the day).
Groceries and nearby food - Down the road there is a mini mart with the basics and further down a bigger mini mart with a Commonwealth Bank ATM. We ordered food from Global Warung the first few days and highly recommend the Global Top Burger - delish! We had coffee from Bumbak cafe a number of mornings which was lovely, and some wonderful chocolate mousse and Tiramisu from La Casseta next door to Bumbak. Some very friendly Aussies run Outback Warung and were quick to offer advice and support which was really nice on our first day.
But don't eat out every night... Make sure you get James and Made to cook for you in the Villa also. We had them cook us a feast on two occasions and the food both times surpassed everything we ate elsewhere. There is a menu in the Villa information folder and we selected a few dishes to try. We then had an informal cooking lesson while we watched them prepare the meals. It was such a wonderful experience. The food was so delicious!!! We had enough food both times to enjoy the left overs the next day for lunch :)
I highly recommend Villa Besar to large family groups who are looking for luxurious accommodation and great support and service. We hope to visit again soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Amazing Villa and Amazing Place

For our second visit to bali, we decided to stay in a villa, and this villa did not disappoint.

My family of 6 and our friends had an amazing time in the 4bedroom villa, in this complex. The villa is spacious with 4double bedrooms all with ensuite, kitchen, 2 common areas and a beautiful pool .....

Each morning the lovely girls would come and cook our breakfast, clean our rooms and take our washing., which magically appeared again later in the afternoon. All of the staff were so friendly, they couldn't do enough to help us with any requests that we had.

We had beautiful in villa massages, facials and pedicures from the ladies from Massage places up the road from the villa. The massages were very relaxing and the facials were devine.

The location of these villas was excellent, they are close enough to Seminyak for shopping and close enough to echo beach for some great restaurants. There are also some excellent restaurants up the road from the Villas. La Casetta is a must if you like Italian, Global Warung has great satays, nasi goring, and burgers and Bumback cafe will deliver great coffees to the villas.

We would like to thank Nanik, Dira (for keeping us safe in that traffic - god only knows how they do it) and all the staff for making our holiday one to remember ..... We will be back !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We have recently returned from Bali, after spending 10 nights in these beautiful villas. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to make our holiday perfect.
We would like to thank Nanik, Annie, Dira, the lovely girls that came and cooked our breakfast for us each morning and the security men (Muscles) for all of their help.
Bumback cafe up the road delivered great coffee to us and the Italian restaurant next door La Casetta was one of the best italian restaurants i have ever been to.
For a cheap eat Global had great food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Been to bali and stayed in hotels before, had no plan to go back to bali. However friends suggested to stay in a villa. I'm addicted after staying at Villa besar, i will be going back as the staff, location made it a excellent holiday. I had stayed for 4 days in legian and 4 days in villa besar. Next time i will be spending my whole time at villa besar and will be longer. Staff were so helpful regarding everything and very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our family of 7 (ranging in ages from 2.5 to 71 years) recently enjoyed a 7 night stay in the 2 story, 4 bedroom villa in the Villa Besar complex. The booking process with Jenny was really easy, and she was also very flexible when our airline changed our travel dates.
The villa was perfect for our needs, with a great pool and spacious lawn area for the kids to run around. We spent most of our time laying around the super-comfortable open air lounge room overlooking the pool or upstairs on the massive verandah.
A big thank you to Made, Ari and Nanik for making our stay so special. We were cooked a beautiful breakfast each morning (banana pancakes and fresh fruit juices were amazing!). Then Made would look after the boys while we got in-villa spa treatments and our laundry would magically re-appear each afternoon clean and folded!
My only issue (although not a big one at all) was the villa had only one tv, which was situated in one of the bedrooms - it just limited our tv time (not such a bad thing I suppose!) as our young boys went to bed early in the room at night. It would just seem better to have the tv in a common area.
For us, the location was perfect. Far enough away from the crowds, but close enough by taxi if you feel the need to shop. There are plenty of small eating places a short walk up the road - we would recommend SoHo and the little Indonesian warang (which overlooks the rice paddies) to the left and Le Creperie and Outback Warang to the right. There are also plenty of spa places up the road, but we mainly used the in-villa service -although a little more expensive, the convenience of not leaving the villa was great!
Overall, a wonderful stay - we just wish it was longer! Thanks to the owners for providing such a great establishment at an affordable price, with such friendly, attentive staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is our first stay at Villa Besar, we were initially a little anxious about the location as it was a bit further out than what we had previously stayed. Turns out we loved the location! We could easily taxi into Seminyak if needed. We enjoyed the two bedroom villa we stayed in. Made would arrive every morning around 8 am and cook us breakfast, juice some fresh fruit and prepare a yummy fruit platter. Our laundry was taken in the morning and returned mid afternoon, freshly laundered.
There is some land clearing and construction going on out the back of the villa we stayed in but it was no bother, in fact my husband loved to watch how they go about things here in Bali. We have already recommended Villa Besar to family and will definitely return with extended family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Wow what a place, these villas are amazing.Just returned from staying at villa besar for 10 days where i hired villa 1,2 and 4 for a 30th for my girlfriend.When we arrived our fridges were stocked as promised and the place was great.Some days it did take us 10 min to get to seminyak but on holidays who cares.I stayed in the new 6 bedroom which was the biggest of all villas and was perfect for the party.Nanik,way an and james were great to help me prepare for the party and organise food cocktails and decorations.Nothing was too much trouble and we felt a little guilty as they had done so much.This was my second stay at villa besar and ill be going back as its great value and villas and staff make it a true holiday.The girls cooked us dinner a couple of nights and we just hung out in villa 4.Massages in your own villa was awesome and the girls were on call till the night which was a nice way to end the day.
Thanks Bali Boy

Room Tip: Villa 4 has 4 rooms overlooking pool any one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumah Besar Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Besar Bali Villas

Address: Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many villas in the Umalas area that are fully staffed. We supply breakfast/security/transfers/babysitting/bottled water/bbq/laundry and more. We have set all villas up with all that you need to keep yourself and your children feeling like a home away from home. All having air cond bedrooms with large en-suites/TV/DVD/Playstations and more. All villas have large lounging areas overlooking our beautiful Bali designed pool areas. Fully equipped kitchen for those lazy days you choose to stay in the villa. Once staying in one of our villas you will be back for more as the service we provide is great. We have 2 bedroom villas starting from $150 per night and 4/5 bedroom villas starting from $280 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Hotel Kerobokan
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Besar Bali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rumah Besar Bali Villas to your Saves list