We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definately a place where you actually feel that you are on holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumah Besar Bali Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerobokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rumah Besar Bali Villas
Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“definately a place where you actually feel that you are on holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and three other couples stayed in the 4 bedroom one storey villa over the New Year.. Villa Besar is by far the best accommodation in Bali and you actually feel that you are on a holiday away from all the hustle and bustle. The villa is a 5/10 minute drive from Seminyak, overlooking rice paddies .

The staff were so helpful nothing was too much trouble, they were very welcoming and made you feel safe and ensured you were enjoying your stay. Special mention to the manager Nanik, the barman/cleaner Wayan, the driver Deri, the security Newman and not forgetting to mention the owners Jenny and Michael..

We all thoroughly enjoyed morning breakfast which was made in the villa every day at a time suitable to us, we also had an Indonesian feast cooked for us on New Year's Eve and Cocktails. I would strongly recommend the in house massages which is only a phone call away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

These villas must be given a great review because the location is great (5 mins to seminyak), the villa is clean, spacious and accommodating for a large family and the staff are the most friendliest in Bali. Mile and Jenny you should be congratulated for hiring the most welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. From the manager, the drivers, security staff and house keepers we could find no faults.
We were a large family group and nothing was too much trouble. We will be highly recommending this villa to friends and family.
Noted that we stayed in the 5 bedroom which is a short distance from the other collection of villas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in the 5 bedroom Villa Rumah Besar for 8 nights - 8 adults, 2 kids and 2 babies. The villa was perfect for our needs, with plenty of room and a pool big enough for kids and adults! The booking process was seamless via email correspondence with Jenny. The villa staff were wonderful, cooked meals were superb, nothing was too much trouble - thank you! The villa is located about 10 -15 mins outside of Seminyak, about a $3 AUD taxi ride. It was nice being outside of the tourist areas. At the end of the driveway is a convenience store, Italian restaurant (beautiful!) and cafe which supplied us with our daily coffee fix! Further up the road about 500 meters there are approx 5 restaurants - we ate at World Warung & Outback which both had superb food! Would highly recommend staying at Villa Rumah Besar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have just had 10 days staying at Villa besar and would have to say that villas stays are just what we have been looking for. After more than a dozen visits to Bali between us, we have always stayed in hotels but found the privacy to our liking.

We were allocated villa # 5,which is a 1 bedroom at the front of the complex. It was a beautiful villa with its own pool,large open kitchen and dining area ,a huge bedroom with a very comfortable four poster bed and a well layed out bathroom with lovely fittings and fixtures.

Every morning we had our breakfast cooked by Tedak in our room, at whatever time you choose.
Eggs ,bacon ,sausage,pancakes for me and a fruit platter and toast for my wife (included in the tariff).

The staff here are all fantastic and all go out of there way to ensure you have a wonderful stay.Especially Eny at the front desk who helped us out with a few issues we had.

There is some construction going on next door and it did go until quite late in the evening.
I mentioned this to the staff and the owners and we were moved to villa# 2 at the back of the complex. It was much quieter and i must say it was an absolute palace. Needless to say our experience at Villa Besar turned out to be beyond expectations.

Kerobokan could be a little too far from the beach for some, but is an idyllic seating amongst the rice paddies ,with more of true Bali experience interacting with the locals and not being hassled by hawkers.We hired a motor bike ,which made getting around alot easier. (About 10 mins. to potatoe head & about 15 mins. to Echo beach)

Getting taxis was no problem (take one of the business cards with you,it has a map on the back)or there is a van and driver available at the villas for trips out and about. Dira the driver was very friendly and imformative.

We would stay here again in Villas 1,2,or 3 but not in Villa 5 until all the construction is complete.

Room Tip: Try and book a villa at the rear of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just recently got back from Bali, we had three villas next to each other for 8 nights in Villa Besar. It was a bit confusing at first as there is Rumah Besar and Villa Besar which is a bit further down the road, still the same though. For the first couple of days make sure you take a card to show the driver, after that we were just directing them to the villa. We were in the two storey villa each had our own room which was great, the rooms were spacious and the pool was quite large. The villas have bemos up the front if you don’t want to take a bluebird taxi, which was great for us as we had a few going into town. We hired Ketut for one day and had to cut it short and he only charged us for how long we were gone for, he was really friendly and informative. The two rooms downstairs were good, one of them had the bunk beds, safe deposit box and TV, and the other without. I’ve never stayed in a villa before and didn’t realise there wouldn’t be a TV in each. I don’t go to Bali to watch TV but I did miss the background noise of it and if you cant sleep. Would have been good to have a TV in the communal areas but I can see why not as its so open. Beds were really comfy. The two rooms upstairs the walls are paper thin and could hear everything, you can easily have a normal conversation between the two rooms. Also there's a mosque or something nearby which they start chanting at 5am which you can hear quite clearly as well.

In the bathrooms there were two baths and two big showers one on each floor and are semi outdoor, my bathroom had a big square hole in it which was open with a bath and hand held shower over it.

We were there for a party, staff cooked our food (including pig) for the party which was really good and made us cocktails. Food was yummy and we had the leftovers for breakfast the next day :). All of the staff were friendly and would help with anything we needed. The security guards made us feel safe and secure and checked the taxis to make sure we didn’t leave anything behind. We made friends with a coffee shop a bit down the road and they delivered coffee to us a few mornings which was really nice. Plenty of Warungs that deliver too which was good.

There was some construction going on a bit further up the driveway but since we were at the back didn’t really hear it, and they were working til quite late at night. We did have a quick peek in one and it was huge. Looked nice.

Overall it was lovely to relax in your own villa, not having to worry about locking up your room every time you want to swim as you do in a hotel and jump into the pool whenever you wanted.

It was a bit further out than I thought so if I stay again I would break it up with accommodation more central to Legian/Seminyak and maybe chill out at the villa for the last few nights, as I like walking around and being more in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Where do I start wih this amazing place....We stayed at Villa Besar for 7 wonderful days. We booked 2 of the 4 bedroom villas (large group of 15) family and friends, little kids, young party goers and us adults all enjoyed our holiday from the moment we were greeted at the office.

Our 2 story villa was perfect.Upstairs was 2 double rooms, each with own large ensuite and open plan living area. Downstairs Open plan spacious living, dining table was so long, seating 12 with ease and kitchen along with 1 more double room and enuite, 4th bedroom had double bed with bunks (could sleep 4) and own ensuite. Grassed pool area was perfect for afternoon catch ups and happy hour!

We had arranged for lunch on our arrival and OMG it was mouth watering, plenty of leftovers and all we need to pay was for the ingredients..CHEAP!!
I can't speak more highly of the staff, especially Nanik, Wayan, Madie and all the securtiy guards. Nothing was to much trouble even helpng with phone orders and arranging massages for us in the privacy of the villa. The beautiful daily laundry service,yummy cooked breakfast each morning and spotlessly cleaned rooms was fantastic and helped to make it a very relaxing stay. The special Indonesian dinner (feast) Nanik and Wayan prepared for ALL of us was AMAZING, we even had enough to share with the staff and leftovers for lunch the following day.

The villas are not to far out of seminyak, we could always get around with taxis (costing no more than $3AUD) in fact after a hard day of shopping returning to the peace and quite of the villa was pure bliss.

Owners Mike and Jenny have done an amazing job with their staff and the quality of the villas
Look foward to a return visit very soon!!

Room Tip: Two story villa has NO pool fence but Single story does. Owners have plenty of busines cards with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have just returned from staying in one of the 2 bedroom villas at Villa Besar. We have visited Bali six times and would have to say this would be up there in terms of one of the best places we have stayed. Prior to going we had read a bad review of the villas on this forum and so were a little nervous that they may not be as great as everyone else had reported previously. To be honest we struggled to find any faults with the villas and so were not convinced that the review was about these villas at all.

We travelled with our 2 young children and the villa suited us perfectly. With a pool fence and amazing staff this is definately a better way of going than staying at a hotel when travelling with kids. I could not speak more highly of the staff, especially Nanik, Wayan and the driver who always went out of their way to help in anyway they could. We were so thankful for the help they gave us especially when we lost our ATM card, bending over backwards to help us out. The laundry service, cooked breakfast each morning and cleaned rooms was fantastic and helped to make it a very relaxing stay. Although the villas are a bit out of seminyak we didn't find it a problem as we could always get around with taxis (costing no more than $3AUD to get into seminyak). We also enjoyed being away from the hussle and bustle of legian or kuta and in a bit of a rural setting, overlooking cows grazing in the fields. I would definately recommend this place to families, large groups or anyone looking to have some peace and quiet.

On a side note, we would definately recommend Globe restuarant and the creperie nearby, aswell as Gustos ice creamery (some of the best ice cream we have ever had). If you are keen to venture into Seminyak we had wonderful food and service at Ultimos, The Sea Circus, Khaima, La Lucciola and Zushiya. Potato Head is also worth a visit although probably not with children later in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumah Besar Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Besar Bali Villas

Address: Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Specialty lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have many villas in the Umalas area that are fully staffed. We supply breakfast/security/transfers/babysitting/bottled water/bbq/laundry and more. We have set all villas up with all that you need to keep yourself and your children feeling like a home away from home. All having air cond bedrooms with large en-suites/TV/DVD/Playstations and more. All villas have large lounging areas overlooking our beautiful Bali designed pool areas. Fully equipped kitchen for those lazy days you choose to stay in the villa. Once staying in one of our villas you will be back for more as the service we provide is great. We have 2 bedroom villas starting from $150 per night and 4/5 bedroom villas starting from $280 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Hotel Kerobokan
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumah Besar Bali Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rumah Besar Bali Villas to your Saves list