We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good villas though bit far out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Besar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerobokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Besar
Save
You added Villa Besar to your Saves list
Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rumah Besar Bali Villas)   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good villas though bit far out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just recently got back from Bali, we had three villas next to each other for 8 nights in Villa Besar. It was a bit confusing at first as there is Rumah Besar and Villa Besar which is a bit further down the road, still the same though. For the first couple of days make sure you take a card to show the driver, after that we were just directing them to the villa. We were in the two storey villa each had our own room which was great, the rooms were spacious and the pool was quite large. The villas have bemos up the front if you don’t want to take a bluebird taxi, which was great for us as we had a few going into town. We hired Ketut for one day and had to cut it short and he only charged us for how long we were gone for, he was really friendly and informative. The two rooms downstairs were good, one of them had the bunk beds, safe deposit box and TV, and the other without. I’ve never stayed in a villa before and didn’t realise there wouldn’t be a TV in each. I don’t go to Bali to watch TV but I did miss the background noise of it and if you cant sleep. Would have been good to have a TV in the communal areas but I can see why not as its so open. Beds were really comfy. The two rooms upstairs the walls are paper thin and could hear everything, you can easily have a normal conversation between the two rooms. Also there's a mosque or something nearby which they start chanting at 5am which you can hear quite clearly as well.

In the bathrooms there were two baths and two big showers one on each floor and are semi outdoor, my bathroom had a big square hole in it which was open with a bath and hand held shower over it.

We were there for a party, staff cooked our food (including pig) for the party which was really good and made us cocktails. Food was yummy and we had the leftovers for breakfast the next day :). All of the staff were friendly and would help with anything we needed. The security guards made us feel safe and secure and checked the taxis to make sure we didn’t leave anything behind. We made friends with a coffee shop a bit down the road and they delivered coffee to us a few mornings which was really nice. Plenty of Warungs that deliver too which was good.

There was some construction going on a bit further up the driveway but since we were at the back didn’t really hear it, and they were working til quite late at night. We did have a quick peek in one and it was huge. Looked nice.

Overall it was lovely to relax in your own villa, not having to worry about locking up your room every time you want to swim as you do in a hotel and jump into the pool whenever you wanted.

It was a bit further out than I thought so if I stay again I would break it up with accommodation more central to Legian/Seminyak and maybe chill out at the villa for the last few nights, as I like walking around and being more in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Where do I start wih this amazing place....We stayed at Villa Besar for 7 wonderful days. We booked 2 of the 4 bedroom villas (large group of 15) family and friends, little kids, young party goers and us adults all enjoyed our holiday from the moment we were greeted at the office.

Our 2 story villa was perfect.Upstairs was 2 double rooms, each with own large ensuite and open plan living area. Downstairs Open plan spacious living, dining table was so long, seating 12 with ease and kitchen along with 1 more double room and enuite, 4th bedroom had double bed with bunks (could sleep 4) and own ensuite. Grassed pool area was perfect for afternoon catch ups and happy hour!

We had arranged for lunch on our arrival and OMG it was mouth watering, plenty of leftovers and all we need to pay was for the ingredients..CHEAP!!
I can't speak more highly of the staff, especially Nanik, Wayan, Madie and all the securtiy guards. Nothing was to much trouble even helpng with phone orders and arranging massages for us in the privacy of the villa. The beautiful daily laundry service,yummy cooked breakfast each morning and spotlessly cleaned rooms was fantastic and helped to make it a very relaxing stay. The special Indonesian dinner (feast) Nanik and Wayan prepared for ALL of us was AMAZING, we even had enough to share with the staff and leftovers for lunch the following day.

The villas are not to far out of seminyak, we could always get around with taxis (costing no more than $3AUD) in fact after a hard day of shopping returning to the peace and quite of the villa was pure bliss.

Owners Mike and Jenny have done an amazing job with their staff and the quality of the villas
Look foward to a return visit very soon!!

Room Tip: Two story villa has NO pool fence but Single story does. Owners have plenty of busines cards with ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have just returned from staying in one of the 2 bedroom villas at Villa Besar. We have visited Bali six times and would have to say this would be up there in terms of one of the best places we have stayed. Prior to going we had read a bad review of the villas on this forum and so were a little nervous that they may not be as great as everyone else had reported previously. To be honest we struggled to find any faults with the villas and so were not convinced that the review was about these villas at all.

We travelled with our 2 young children and the villa suited us perfectly. With a pool fence and amazing staff this is definately a better way of going than staying at a hotel when travelling with kids. I could not speak more highly of the staff, especially Nanik, Wayan and the driver who always went out of their way to help in anyway they could. We were so thankful for the help they gave us especially when we lost our ATM card, bending over backwards to help us out. The laundry service, cooked breakfast each morning and cleaned rooms was fantastic and helped to make it a very relaxing stay. Although the villas are a bit out of seminyak we didn't find it a problem as we could always get around with taxis (costing no more than $3AUD to get into seminyak). We also enjoyed being away from the hussle and bustle of legian or kuta and in a bit of a rural setting, overlooking cows grazing in the fields. I would definately recommend this place to families, large groups or anyone looking to have some peace and quiet.

On a side note, we would definately recommend Globe restuarant and the creperie nearby, aswell as Gustos ice creamery (some of the best ice cream we have ever had). If you are keen to venture into Seminyak we had wonderful food and service at Ultimos, The Sea Circus, Khaima, La Lucciola and Zushiya. Potato Head is also worth a visit although probably not with children later in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute booking for the 1 bedroom villa as my husband & I needed a break! The owners were so helpful and accommodating towards us & have been every single time we have stayed in their amazing villas which has been heaps of times & always loved it! We would not stay anywhere else in Bali! The facts about these villas is that they r 10 min maximum taxi ride to seminyak! We have never once had any problems getting a taxi to or from anywhere!! The area is semi rual which adds to the attraction and allows you a chance to have a more authentic Balinese expirence!! The staff at these villas are second to none, our made even cleans & drys my running shoes every morning after my beach run, not something I expected or asked for, he just does it! The umlas area is rapidly expanding due to the popularity so there is building happing but we have been impacted by any noise or interuptions to our holiday! can not recommend it bight enough! Great for families, couples & groups of people any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

If I can start on a positive note – the staff are amazing! The owners really have secured a great team and they really looked after us and did all they can. The Indonesian food they prepared and the level of cleanliness in the villa was really outstanding. But unfortunately our positive experienced ended with the staff.

In a nut shell the villa fell well below our expectations and here are some reasons why:

The website mention's "No more large room service bills & peace and quiet in your own private pool” but what we got was two building sites next to the villa and there was no peace and quiet all day and on two nights we listened to roof tiles being sawed until 11pm – he only stopped one night as it started to rain. I feel that as the owners were aware of the construction going on (especially as one of the properties is on their land) then it would have been nice and common courtesy to let guests know of the possible noise.

As if the construction was not enough noise, during the night we had rats in the roof space running and fighting which frightened the life out of our 5 year old and he found it very difficult to sleep by himself. It was only when I mentioned something to the staff that we were informed about a frequency contraption that kept the rats away. Of course I would expect rats to be in the area (due to rice field and it is Bali!!) but why were we not told about this frequency thing until after the fact? By this stage our son was refusing to go to sleep and kept waking up thinking he was hearing things and there were rats in his room – and just to finish him off there was a rat in the bathroom one morning! So as you can see there was not much peace or tranquillity so far!

We booked the four bedroom villa and I was under the impression we had booked the two story villa but when we arrived we had the single story villa. This villa is a 4 bedroom villa that could for up to 8 adults but only pool chairs for 3. . . There is no shade at all – until I looked down the side and found an old, rotten, broken umbrella which we managed to make stay up – we then mentioned it was about time for a new umbrella – the umbrella was whisked away and not replaced – now we had nothing! We were not all able to sit outside together as (I am sure you are supposed to do in a villa) as there was not enough seating.

And finally my Mum and Dad got stuck in Seminyak after dinner as no taxi would take them back to Kerobokan as they all thought it was too far! So I am sure they are not the first to experience this – why not let your guests know so we could have arranged some transport for them.

We were so looking forward to the views of the rice fields with peace and quiet. And we got neither.

We ended up leaving 2 nights early and going to a hotel as we just wanted to relax.

The owners were open to my grievences and offered us one nights refund as part compensation.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you get in writting the actual villa they will allocate you as there are 2 x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay ,This is the first negative feedback we have had from this villa.The taxis have never had a problem before as we are 5 min from potato head not far out.Im glad your parents were happy to stay the last couple of days.We have had the umbrella replaced and wish you specified you wanted the 2 storey but thought the single with pool fence would suit as you had kids.
Thanks Mike and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending 8 nights in Villa Rumah Besar, the big house.
What an amazing villa!!

The size of the place was awesome.
Each of the four double bedrooms were huge, as were each of their ensuite bathrooms.
And also the fifth bedroom/bunkroom was large as well.
The living area was very spacious too, and the dining table was so long, seating 12 with ease.
The pool area was not so large, but perfect for our needs.
The pool was to die for.
(Infact, my husband was swimming within minutes of walking through the door!!)

We arrived from the airport after collection by their driver who was very informative.
Easily found him at the airport amongst all the chaos of Saturday morning mayhem.

I had ordered lunch upon our arrival and, wow, did it smell great when we entered the villa.
An amazing feast had been prepared by the staff, and there was so much food.
This was a fantastic introduction to our stay. And so cheap.

I had also pre-arranged for some drinks to be in the fridge which was good.

The staff were fantastic.
From Nanik, the manager, to the girls who cooked for us, the driver and the security men who watched over the villa, they all were excellent. Always there if needed but never in your way.
Having our washing done every day was also a great treat.

I was a little concerned about the location in Kerobakan, but it was not an issue. Most taxi drivers knew of the villas, or if not, we were easily able to guide them to it.
It was actually really nice being away from the main areas of Seminyak and Legian.
To come home to the peaceful villa amongst the rice paddies was awesome, and so relaxing.
The taxi fare to beachfront Seminyak was only about AUD$2.50, so cheap.

Overall we had a very enjoyable relaxing time in Villa Rumah Besar. Thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks ,glad you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in the 4-bedroom, 4-bathroom, single storey villa at Villa Besar. The location was a bit further out we expected, around 15 minutes from Seminyak on a scooter, 25 mins to Legian and 35 to Kuta. But the surroundings were gorgeous, and both taxis and scooters make getting around pretty easy.

The villa was just beautiful, spacious and immaculate - so perfect for our holiday with my parents and our 2 year old son. We felt very safe and well looked after, and the pool was a lovely slice of heaven.

The staff were incredibly lovely, especially the driver and the manager, Nanik. The three staff who looked after our breakfast and cleaning every were also very sweet, although their English was quite limited so we didn’t get to know them quite as well. All of the staff were happy to help with anything at all, even letting us have a peek in to the beautiful two-storey villa next door when it was vacant. We very much hope to come back and stay in the large villa with my extended family next year.

The villa was immaculately clean, and I’ve got to say that the laundry service was awesome! Each day our dirty clothes disappeared and came back smelling divine by 2pm. Brilliant! Coming home with a suitcase full of fresh, clean clothes was one of the best parts of the whole trip.

We could hear the prayers at the local mosque around 4.30am each morning, but it didn’t bother us and we either slept through it or went back to sleep.

The only small negatives for us were a lack of internet access, and a bit of confusion when we first arrived over what to expect and where to go in the local area for food/drinks/supplies etc. Once we got a local map and chatted to the manager the following day, we had it all figured out.

I really hope we will be back one day soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
thanks see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Besar

Address: Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rumah Besar Bali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 luxury villas in the Umalas/ Seminyak area that are fully staffed. We supply breakfast/security/transfers/babysitting/bottled water/bbq/laundry and much more. We have set all villas up with all that you need to keep yourself and your children feeling like a home away from home. All having air cond bedrooms with large en-suites/TV/DVD/Playstations and pool fences. All villas have large lounging areas overlooking our beautiful Bali designed pool areas. Fully equipped kitchen for those lazy days you choose to stay in the villa. Once staying in one of our villas you will be back for more as the service and staff are some of the finest in bali. We have villas that sleep 2 - 15 guests accommodating 80 people in one location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Hotel Kerobokan
Villa Besar Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Besar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.