We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fantastic! By far the best place to stay in Bali!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Besar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerobokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Besar
Save
You added Villa Besar to your Saves list
Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rumah Besar Bali Villas)   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally fantastic! By far the best place to stay in Bali!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We made a last minute booking for the 1 bedroom villa as my husband & I needed a break! The owners were so helpful and accommodating towards us & have been every single time we have stayed in their amazing villas which has been heaps of times & always loved it! We would not stay anywhere else in Bali! The facts about these villas is that they r 10 min maximum taxi ride to seminyak! We have never once had any problems getting a taxi to or from anywhere!! The area is semi rual which adds to the attraction and allows you a chance to have a more authentic Balinese expirence!! The staff at these villas are second to none, our made even cleans & drys my running shoes every morning after my beach run, not something I expected or asked for, he just does it! The umlas area is rapidly expanding due to the popularity so there is building happing but we have been impacted by any noise or interuptions to our holiday! can not recommend it bight enough! Great for families, couples & groups of people any time of the year.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    11
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

If I can start on a positive note – the staff are amazing! The owners really have secured a great team and they really looked after us and did all they can. The Indonesian food they prepared and the level of cleanliness in the villa was really outstanding. But unfortunately our positive experienced ended with the staff.

In a nut shell the villa fell well below our expectations and here are some reasons why:

The website mention's "No more large room service bills & peace and quiet in your own private pool” but what we got was two building sites next to the villa and there was no peace and quiet all day and on two nights we listened to roof tiles being sawed until 11pm – he only stopped one night as it started to rain. I feel that as the owners were aware of the construction going on (especially as one of the properties is on their land) then it would have been nice and common courtesy to let guests know of the possible noise.

As if the construction was not enough noise, during the night we had rats in the roof space running and fighting which frightened the life out of our 5 year old and he found it very difficult to sleep by himself. It was only when I mentioned something to the staff that we were informed about a frequency contraption that kept the rats away. Of course I would expect rats to be in the area (due to rice field and it is Bali!!) but why were we not told about this frequency thing until after the fact? By this stage our son was refusing to go to sleep and kept waking up thinking he was hearing things and there were rats in his room – and just to finish him off there was a rat in the bathroom one morning! So as you can see there was not much peace or tranquillity so far!

We booked the four bedroom villa and I was under the impression we had booked the two story villa but when we arrived we had the single story villa. This villa is a 4 bedroom villa that could for up to 8 adults but only pool chairs for 3. . . There is no shade at all – until I looked down the side and found an old, rotten, broken umbrella which we managed to make stay up – we then mentioned it was about time for a new umbrella – the umbrella was whisked away and not replaced – now we had nothing! We were not all able to sit outside together as (I am sure you are supposed to do in a villa) as there was not enough seating.

And finally my Mum and Dad got stuck in Seminyak after dinner as no taxi would take them back to Kerobokan as they all thought it was too far! So I am sure they are not the first to experience this – why not let your guests know so we could have arranged some transport for them.

We were so looking forward to the views of the rice fields with peace and quiet. And we got neither.

We ended up leaving 2 nights early and going to a hotel as we just wanted to relax.

The owners were open to my grievences and offered us one nights refund as part compensation.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you get in writting the actual villa they will allocate you as there are 2 x...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Im sorry you didnt enjoy your stay ,This is the first negative feedback we have had from this villa.The taxis have never had a problem before as we are 5 min from potato head not far out.Im glad your parents were happy to stay the last couple of days.We have had the umbrella replaced and wish you specified you wanted the 2 storey but thought the single with pool fence would suit as you had kids.
Thanks Mike and Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending 8 nights in Villa Rumah Besar, the big house.
What an amazing villa!!

The size of the place was awesome.
Each of the four double bedrooms were huge, as were each of their ensuite bathrooms.
And also the fifth bedroom/bunkroom was large as well.
The living area was very spacious too, and the dining table was so long, seating 12 with ease.
The pool area was not so large, but perfect for our needs.
The pool was to die for.
(Infact, my husband was swimming within minutes of walking through the door!!)

We arrived from the airport after collection by their driver who was very informative.
Easily found him at the airport amongst all the chaos of Saturday morning mayhem.

I had ordered lunch upon our arrival and, wow, did it smell great when we entered the villa.
An amazing feast had been prepared by the staff, and there was so much food.
This was a fantastic introduction to our stay. And so cheap.

I had also pre-arranged for some drinks to be in the fridge which was good.

The staff were fantastic.
From Nanik, the manager, to the girls who cooked for us, the driver and the security men who watched over the villa, they all were excellent. Always there if needed but never in your way.
Having our washing done every day was also a great treat.

I was a little concerned about the location in Kerobakan, but it was not an issue. Most taxi drivers knew of the villas, or if not, we were easily able to guide them to it.
It was actually really nice being away from the main areas of Seminyak and Legian.
To come home to the peaceful villa amongst the rice paddies was awesome, and so relaxing.
The taxi fare to beachfront Seminyak was only about AUD$2.50, so cheap.

Overall we had a very enjoyable relaxing time in Villa Rumah Besar. Thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thanks ,glad you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in the 4-bedroom, 4-bathroom, single storey villa at Villa Besar. The location was a bit further out we expected, around 15 minutes from Seminyak on a scooter, 25 mins to Legian and 35 to Kuta. But the surroundings were gorgeous, and both taxis and scooters make getting around pretty easy.

The villa was just beautiful, spacious and immaculate - so perfect for our holiday with my parents and our 2 year old son. We felt very safe and well looked after, and the pool was a lovely slice of heaven.

The staff were incredibly lovely, especially the driver and the manager, Nanik. The three staff who looked after our breakfast and cleaning every were also very sweet, although their English was quite limited so we didn’t get to know them quite as well. All of the staff were happy to help with anything at all, even letting us have a peek in to the beautiful two-storey villa next door when it was vacant. We very much hope to come back and stay in the large villa with my extended family next year.

The villa was immaculately clean, and I’ve got to say that the laundry service was awesome! Each day our dirty clothes disappeared and came back smelling divine by 2pm. Brilliant! Coming home with a suitcase full of fresh, clean clothes was one of the best parts of the whole trip.

We could hear the prayers at the local mosque around 4.30am each morning, but it didn’t bother us and we either slept through it or went back to sleep.

The only small negatives for us were a lack of internet access, and a bit of confusion when we first arrived over what to expect and where to go in the local area for food/drinks/supplies etc. Once we got a local map and chatted to the manager the following day, we had it all figured out.

I really hope we will be back one day soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
thanks see you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

If you are looking for peace, solitude and fantastic value for money...this is it! We stayed in Villa Cantik which the moment the gate was opened for us we fell in love with. The facilities of this villa from the beautiful garden, pool area, alfresco incorporating kitchen, dining and spacious lounge to the huge bedrooms with tv/video and the devine indoor/outdoor bathroom are excellent. This is all upheld with the staff who are amazing. A special mention to the lovely Made who cared for us on a daily basis and the irrepressible Nanik who were both very special and beautiful ladies. Nothing was too much trouble! The location of the villa was not a problem for transport and bluebird taxis were generally there 5-10 minutes after callout and then only 5-10 minutes into Seminyak. Wonderful breakfast each morning, laundry back same day, great privacy....Mike and Jenny you are to be commended on your professional and personal service, your beautiful villa and wonderful staff. A huge thank you for a wonderful experience, we will be commending this villa to one and all, kind regards Audrey & Greg

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
love your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

These villas are a real gem and we are so glad we stayed there. We arrived quite late, after being scammed at the airport by a private taxi driver pretending to be our Villa driver - he was driving a mini van with Bali Dive.com written on the side, so be aware if you have not travelled to Bali before.
We eventually were found by Deera (the right driver) who was so welcoming and made us feel at ease straight away. Walking through the door of the villa at night was bliss, the pool lights were on and we had a delcious meal waiting for us. Villa Chantik is gorgeous and has all the comforts of home. The staff Nannik, Marde, Deera and Puti (Puti is a great massuse) were extremely frienldy and could not do enough for us. The villas are located about a 5min drive to Seminyak so was far enough away from the noise and hustle & bustle. We would certainly stay again and would much prefer these villas over the hotels in the area. Thanks everyone for giving us an wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: Villa Chantik is a 2 bedroom and is perfect for 1 or 2 couples. We also got to see Villa Manis, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarumahbesar, Owner at Villa Besar, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
We think the staff are special to
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The pics do not do this place justice. It's away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds, but still near enough for you enjoy the best of both worlds. The staff are helpful and friendly, and always accommodating.

They catered to our group of 12's every need, and always thought a step ahead for our needs!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Besar

Address: Umalas 2 | Bumbak, Kerobokan, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rumah Besar Bali Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 10 luxury villas in the Umalas/ Seminyak area that are fully staffed. We supply breakfast/security/transfers/babysitting/bottled water/bbq/laundry and much more. We have set all villas up with all that you need to keep yourself and your children feeling like a home away from home. All having air cond bedrooms with large en-suites/TV/DVD/Playstations and pool fences. All villas have large lounging areas overlooking our beautiful Bali designed pool areas. Fully equipped kitchen for those lazy days you choose to stay in the villa. Once staying in one of our villas you will be back for more as the service and staff are some of the finest in bali. We have villas that sleep 2 - 15 guests accommodating 80 people in one location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Besar Bali Villas Hotel Kerobokan
Villa Besar Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Besar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.