We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yay! Indonesian Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Degan

Cafe Degan
Jalan Petitenget no. 9, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+623618893271
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 80 restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in a traditional Javanese joglo house, Café Degan brings to Bali’s dining scene a selection of popular Indonesian specialties, and a carefully chosen assortment of Thai favorites, in a sophisticated yet warm and welcoming ambience. No meal is ever complete without savoring desserts from Cafe Degan’s Pastry Shop such as home-made classic European cakes, cookies or local favorite.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yay! Indonesian Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was hard for me to find a place with proper indonesian food without western food overpowering the menu. Found this place by chance and I can close an eye for the Thai menu. Went there for dinner without any reservation. It has a open-concept setting which was relaxing.

Service was good. It is obvious the staff were very well trained on how to serve but I just wish they were more relaxed and not do things according to textbook. They were able to give suggestions and answer enquiries.

Cant recall what was ordered but I definitely remember having Ayam Bakar (Grilled Chicken) which was YUMMY! I loved it because it was well marinated. It almost melts in your mouth. But I started to gag the more I ate it. If given a chance, I would come back for it.

On another note, I am a very observant person and I did notice that couples of a same-sex were sitted at one section while mixed-couples and families were sitted at another section. Might be a coincidence (hohoho) but yes, I would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    76
    46
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amaizing indonesian place in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

i went 3 times in a week... Cafe Degan is a place where a ex-executive chef of a 5 star hotel quit his confortable hotel job, take out his savings and open his own place with the help of his wife and he brought an excellent pastry chef from the hotel he used to work.

The food is delicious, i think i tried almost everything..the crispy duck is amaizing, the sambals and basicly everything. For a plus there a is french pastry shop next to the cafe with fantastic pastries..

at the end the price is fair, no expensive at all, great place for indonesian food and close to everywhere.. I am a chef and restauranteur for many years and I highly recomend you this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best pad thai ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

As in previous reviews we had a choice of Indonesian and Thai dishes; I started with a pomelo salad then a sensational pad thai with the most amazing flavours cooked to perfection. It was not busy being Sunday lunchtime and we received excellent service. It came to 364000 rp including drinks for the two of us; an extensive menu and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Tender crispy bebek goreng and good ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I walked in without reservation as it was near my hotel looking for Indonesia food that's mid range. The place was empty at 130pm on a Sunday, and the entire meal costed 260000rupiah around sgd34. I ordered bebek goreng, the speciality and sop buntot(oxtail soup) sambal that came along was nice and flavorful and spicy. The duck was delightfully crispy and the meat was tender, much better than other crispy duck places, and definitely better than the one served in Naughty Nurlis, another popular restuarant. The soup was too salty for my taste, but overall, value for money, good quality food in a peaceful clean restaurant. I would return for the duck if nothing else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No complains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our group of 11 walked into this restaurant for dinner without reservation and were seated at the lower level near the bakery. Service is good and the food is delicious. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Degan also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Degan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Degan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.