We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Sunrise and Sunset Degan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Degan

Cafe Degan
Jalan Petitenget no. 9, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+623618893271
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 117 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in a traditional Javanese joglo house, Café Degan brings to Bali’s dining scene a selection of popular Indonesian specialties, and a carefully chosen assortment of Thai favorites, in a sophisticated yet warm and welcoming ambience. No meal is ever complete without savoring desserts from Cafe Degan’s Pastry Shop such as home-made classic European cakes, cookies or local favorite.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Best Sunrise and Sunset Degan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had heard about Cafe Degan in Petitenget and was curious to try what was supposed to be Bali's best Thai food so on a weekday, we had early dinner there to taste if the restaurant lived up to its reputation. We arrived at around 6 pm on a Tuesday and were the only customers there so after choosing a table on the front side facing the main roadand close to several electric fans.

Cafe Degan is a joglo, an antique wooden Javanese house, simply decorated with antique hanging lamps. We settled in and ordered something cold on that hot and humid day – Degan sunrise for me, which was available in a glass or a pitcher and came (surprise, surprise!) with iced tea cubes and Degan sunset for Mikey, it somehow shows our character by choosing our drink (…take it as a joke, we are like spoon and fork, both cutlery but with different function and at times its good to put it together)

The menu at Cafe Degan is split into two - Javanese favorites and Thai favorites because the Javanese chef called Chef Degan used to work at the Banyan Tree in Thailand before coming back to Indonesia and setting up his own restaurant about a year ago, he is also known as one of the judge in Master Chef Indonesia. Since we had heard so much about the Thai food and also because there really isn't a proper Thai restaurant in Bali, we were eager to try dishes from the Thai section of the menu.

We both chose typical Thai salads to start. We had the Beef Salad and the Fried Lumpia. The salad was good - a perfect mix of Thai flavors: sweet , sour from the lime juice, salty from the fish sauce, spicy from the bits of chili with the added texture crunch from the crispy catfish pieces, big cuts of tomatoes and slice cucumber.

Main courses were a typical Fried Squid with Chili and Garlic which came steaming hot, we had the steamed jasmine rice with it. I opted for the Tom Yum Goong, the classic Thai lemongrass-flavored hot and spicy clear soup with prawns.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    58
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious balinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent creative balinese food that is not too heavy for people who are new to the cuisine. Tantalizing in both visual and taste. If i ever visit Bali again, this place will definitely be in my must-go list. If you are a late diner, make a reservation they do get busy later in the evening. However due to the location, the price is a little steep, but the yummy food n good service helps you to kinda forget that :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great Food great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I visited here with my friend, we tried very typical thai dishes, typical lemongrass flavored drinks, amazing .. dissert vary greatly attracted me visit here .. the service friendly, and very helpful to us .. place to relax with friends, family, and even couples .. joglo nuanced classic building, very interesting .. I'll be back, when I was on vacation to Bali again

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent, tasty and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to Cafe Degan tonight with my fiancé for dinner. The waiter was exceptional with fabulous English, who suggested some meals that we may enjoy from the indonesian and Thai menu. We took him up on some of his suggestions and the food was DELICIOUS! Best Thai curry we have ever eaten (and we've been to Thailand!). We also had dessert and it was amazing! All made in the little cake shop out the front. Can't recommend higher :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Food Slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The food has always been good here and fresh the Waiting staff are always helpful and polite and quick - The kitchen speed lets the place down and its always in my head love to go there but just don't have the time to Wait for my food every person i ask about this they all say the same as me. Its been a while so i may try it soon and hopefully its better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Degan also viewed

 
Kerobokan, Bali
 

Been to Cafe Degan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Degan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.