We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting & food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Jalan Petitenget No 21, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 8436333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Pully, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had dinner with my wife at Sardine and everything was perfect from beginning to start. This is definitely one of the very good dining experiences in Bali which has many disapointing and overpriced restaurants.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    731
    277
    129
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, delicious food, attentive and professional service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Dinner at Sardine was the end of my birthday celebrations: breakfast at La Lucciola, lunch at Mr Potato Head (wine snacks and yes maybe a wee nap), dinner at Sardine. Fantastic! Fine cocktails, strong enough to warrant the term but with nicely balanced flavours. My grouper was one of the finest fish dinners I have ever had. A stunning view across rice paddies (not just for show), superb food, I recommend this place highly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and South France vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a great place for lunch or dinner. I love it's unmistakably South of France aesthetic of crisp white and blue against the Balinese rice fields. High-end yet still elegantly casual...The food is fresh, light but oh so moorish. My perfect lunch in the heat is Salade Nicoise and a glass of Chablis. I'm a bit spoilt but they serve the most delicious bread and olive oil... Hard not to finish the basket before you even get to see menu...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Loved Sardine, certainly not cheap however the ambience and the view of the rice paddies is stunning. My husband had lobster which was brought to the table live and then cooked after our approval. I had the mahi mahi which was lovely. We had the soft shell crab for entrée and the chocolate mousse for dessert. The mains are not overly large however we were full by the time we left. Great pictures to be had if you are there as the sun goes down. Lovely night!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to this restaurant I was very disappointed with my visit today. Out of the many times I have come it is the first time I have encountered such an unwelcome environment by the hostess- despite making a prior booking. There was no effort or politeness to welcome us and we were just directed to a poorly lit corner table behind the bar. When asked if there was another table on the top patio it was just merely dismissed and when we walked out. No menus or server attended our table and when we finally decided to leave the hostess merely looked away as if our business is not needed. I find this to be so disappointing when restaurants feel they are doing so well they feel they can just ignore particular customers. No matter how good your location or food is, if your service and welcome is poor -- it truly does not matter. Because of today's experience I will no longer return nor provide the positive word of mouth to my friends and family that visit bali. Truly truly disappointed and feeling disrespected. I hope Sardine will not become a victim of it's own success. Take note and pay better attention.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.