We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Jalan Petitenget No 21, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 8436333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Loved this restaurant! My husband took me there for my birthday after a local recommended it. The food was delicious and well presented. The owners daughter made the effort to come over and introduce herself during our dinner which was a really nice touch. The decor is simply, elegant yet striking. We went at night but could still catch glimpses of how stunning it could be during the day (as told by others) but it was still beautiful at night. After we had our mains the whole wait staff came out and sang happy birthday to me and the whole restaurant joined in!! Was a little embarrassed but loved it anyway :) also presented a little dessert with a candle on it, sounds a bit corny but wasn't at all. Can't wait to go back. The only negative was one of the hostesses, (think she is the main one at front desk) whilst efficient was bordering on a little rude. She just needs to loosen up a bit. Guess she feels a bit important in this role. This didnt in any way spoil our evening but might be worth noting for the owners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    729
    277
    129
    52
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Groovy decor, average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

After reading all of the glowing reviews of Sardine, and eating twice on this trip at its sister restaurant, the truly fantastic Metis, we had high hopes for an evening of great food.
The decor of the restaurant is funky Bali chic with a lovely aspect over rice paddies, the service is fast, friendly and efficient, so no complaints there.
The warning bells started when I tried to find a glass of good Champagne on the pre-dinner drinks menu, the only ones on offer by the glass were two cheap Australian sparkling wines that frankly any decent restaurant in Aus wouldn't have on their list. In fact the wine list seem to be full of over priced average wines, with no excitement on offer.
The food was nicely cooked and presented and the ingredients were top quality, however everything was bland and pretty much tasteless, except for the Passionfruit Sorbet for desert which was very salty tasting, go figure.
The cost at Sardine is about half that of the dining experience at Metis, but I would rather pay more for something truly great than eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Contrary to other glowing reviews, Sardines is a below average place. Their sardine dish was very overcooked,soggy and tasteless. The barrumundi fish was under seasoned and tasteless. The clams appettiser was ok but hardly original, tasting very Thai. All in all, not worth the money and making the trip there for a meal

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If You Like Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you like seafood, then this is your restaurant. A great menu and drinks.
My friends and I had pre dinner cocktails in the comfortable outdoor lounge area on the edge of the rice fields at sunset, it was magical.
The seafood was outstanding with a lovely atmosphere and prompt service. The staff are dressed beautifully.
Highly recommend you put this on your dining out list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia, Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is one of my favourite restaurants in Bali. I was here 12 months ago and just had to come again this holiday. Last the time rice fields were just about to be planted, it was lovely to see them so lush. I love this venue, it is so romantic, the cocktails, the food, the service and best of all the view over the rice paddies is breathtaking. The seafood is outstanding, but in particular I love the steamed barramundi in banana leaf and the icecreams for dessert was devine. Cocktails are not sickly sweet and the wines were better value this visit (Chandon 650k).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.