We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated. A great disappointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sardine

Sardine
Jalan Petitenget No 21, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 811-3978-111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 119 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Over rated. A great disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I only have limited time in Bali & decided on this restaurant cos i saw great reviews.

If you are there just for the view or ambience, by all means pls proceed. My opinion is there are probably other resturants with good view too.

For resturants, I look at food & price.

The food was below average. We had a starter which was recommended by the house. Nothing fantastic. It was a sashimi with some sauce. We were served with a few poorly sliced sashimi, topped with mushrooms & sauce which was really not fantastic. I tried a very nice sauce in Australia (also sashimi with sauce). In comparison, what Sardine served was a let down.

My partner had a grilled fish with rice & I had a pasta. Honestly, the grilled fish came with a nicer plate of sauce. The coconut rice was not bad but the fish was so-so. Considering the price, I think we can get better food back at home. My paste was simply disappointing. I think I can whip up a nicer pasta :( The sauce was too blend & watery.

Both of us were so disappointed with the food that eventhough my partner was not too full, we decided to call for the bill & left the place. The food, the place... everything weren't fantastic. I'm so surprise by the good review given by others. Some even name it the best resturant in Bali (?) I guess that person/people only ate in Sardine (?)

My personal opinion is you may want to go if you have spare time & cash. If you have limited time like me, I feel you can give it a miss. Regreted taking my partner there. Shd have gone elsewhere...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    309
    145
    52
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Another great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

back in Bali & straight back to Sardine which again did not disappoint.

great seafood (& some good alternates - peking duck fantastic..), good cocktails & great service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Dining sensation next to padi fields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a special restaurant, the setting on the edge of the paddy fields, beautifully lit, is superb. The building made of bamboo is very original and the service and food un-faultable. The staff are more Bali 5 star service than you would think possible, dressed elegantly in white. , and you can see the many chefs busy preparing the fabulous food. The cocktails are excellent, we had the arak madu, and shared the Hamachi sashimi and softshelled crab to start as our friends are watching their waist lines; both delicious. Then we all went for the Jimbaran whole fish, which was very fresh and perfectly cooked. Then we shared the ginger crème brulee and had another round of arak madus. Definitely be coming back, Thank you Sardine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great ambience, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

loved the place, refined in the details, could have stayed there hours... food is average for the price they charge...but as they say you pay for the place too right? and the place is indeed worth it...food a bit less

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dining with the difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I was just so blown away with the garden and the restaurant in a very positive way.
As soon as we walked in, there was a very warm welcome by the staff members, and I just couldn't help myself from getting my camera straight into work.
We've been to Bali several times, but I haven't seen "Bali backyard " like this one before, especially if comes to a restaurant.
Beautiful rice fields, very tranquil, clean, relaxing ambiance and the food absolutely delicious.
We've had bar snacks (it was lunch time) and we choose beet salad, green papaya salad, and sate of pork tenderloin. Prices were reasonable, but keep in mind there is always service and tax charge, some places up to 21%.
We loved Sardine, and recommend it to food and great ambiance lovers, who seek some peace & quiet from busy Bali streets life.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardine also viewed

 

Been to Sardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.