We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing quite place not far away from bali's most attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dana Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dana Guesthouse to your Saves list
Dana Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Jalan Pengubugan, Gang Kayu Cendana | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Kuta, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Amazing quite place not far away from bali's most attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I must say then when i looked up on the map it "seemed" to be far away from Kuta and those places that usual tourists would want to see, however since the first day i've staied in dana Guesthouse i've realized that it was not far away from what we wanted to do and see.
5 Min by scooter from the closest beach, 10/15 mins from the famous Echo beach where surf facilities and lots of nice food restaurants are located, 30 mins from kuta and honestly....thanks God, since we loved to stay in a quiet place like Dana guesthouse !
We wanted to look for a location located not in the crowded area, although in a "strategic" position from where we could have reched anything we wanted and to be honest i reckon this is the greatest place around the south-east area!
Moreover, last but not least, the staff members were available for us at 120% for any kind of request or information we needed, as we got along as well!
Breakfast is served every morning on the small table located right outside of your balinese-style cottage and the enviroment makes your breakfast nice and enjoyable!
It is clearly not the cheapest place in Bali, but the price is totally worth it and anyway not high at all!!!
So, for thus who are not sure about where to go....i would reccomend dana Guesthouse since we didn't know where to go too when we were looking for the accomodation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we get pick up at 22:00 Pm from Bali airport which is our flight was delay for 2 hours , and the driver was waiting for us because we not able to access email by the time we are in airport Singapore . When we arrive in Bali , waiting for immigration service was taking 40 minutes with the long line of people , i was worry that the driver will leave us , but is NOT!! the friendly driver is wait for us for all most 3 hours in Bali airport that was super nice service for us . arrive in the guesthouse , we had a room in the middle where there a only 5 room available on the guesthouse with different type special , and the room was very nice and comfort is ok for what we expected , Tv standard 21 inch ,DVD player with only some movie available if you wan movie you have to buy your own DVD's on seminyak and also en-suite was perfect for our budget , fresh cooked breakfast is ready when we weak up in the morning was amazing taste of Indonesian food severed, coffee good day is great coffee we ever had during our trip that they offer for free . also we was thinking to make a trip , but since the location bit long to the beach about 3 km to seminyak or echo beach that we have ask the man there how to get the beach ? the man asking , do we can ride a scooter ? automatically we say : yes we can , that what aim say and the man say we have an free motor scooter to use during your stay , that was an super nice thing on the guesthouse make us an surprise. and we get the pink scooter to ride during our stay for 6 days on Dana GUesthouse Bali , also they offer us an great driver to help us to explore the island with only 40 $ USD a day that we had driver car and included petrol for 10 hours a day Around the guesthouse it was still local area that what we looking for on our trip ,restaurant on guesthouse just 2 minutes walk as well severed nice food and clean it was called Coca Loca restaurant and Bar , the spa we get ordered by ratu ayu spa where the therapist is very professional on their massage , only thing is , they do massage in our room but is ok for good therapist . overall it was great stay for the last week in Dana Guesthouse Bali , and for sure we will be back to the Dana House for the last of our trip in next September after we visit Komodo island in the east of indonesia .

Room Tip: when you book a room , if you wan to have a free pick up from bali airport , get in touch soon by em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

More or less everything the guesthouse promises is fake. The ensuite bathroom is a cell, the plasma tv a run down 20 year old TV set, the bed a noisy wreck. There is no restaurant and no spa, the free scooters are broken.
The location is in the middle of nowhere, it takes 30 min by motorbike to Kuta. By taxi to the airport is 1h and more than 100.000 IDR!
Avoid getting ripped off and stay in a different hostel!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danabali, Owner at Dana Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Sir Strom Guitarero

Thank you for your review , for our great Guesthouse DANA GUESTHOUSE BALI

first i wish thank you for your quik visit and look around and review our guesthouse on trip advisor
also i wish sorry if our place is not as ideal your place to stay , but sure your review is our idea for going to be a better in the next future , and i hope so , you get better place for cheaper price then us for standard class of guesthouse .

Best regards

PUTU MARTIKA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Trawanga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed At Dana for 1 week (April 20-27 2012) The room was great for the price we paid and better than staying in any hostel in Bali. The room had a fan that was excellent so we had no problems sleeping. The Staff are truly amazing! . All 'n all A great place to base yourself in Bali Thank you Dana Guest House

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World trip
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small and hot (only fans), but the area of Kerobokan is nice. It's great to be out of the touristy areas and the hotel is still close to nice surfing (echo beach). The roomrate is including a motorbike, breakfast, wifi, drinking water. The staff is lazy and slow.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

For only $7 per person this guesthouse is a steal.

The good:
You have your own private bungalow with ensuite bathroom. Each room comes with a motorbike which you can use at your leisure. Breakfast, while minimal, is included, along with free water and Wi-Fi. It's on a quiet alley, far from the main road, so it is fairly quiet except for the rooster next door. The rooms are comfortable, and the courtyard is cute.

The bad:
You need the motorbike because the location is less than ideal. We liked it because it wasn't very touristy, but if you don't have the motorbike, you wouldn't have anything to do. Also driving a motorbike in this area isn't very fun because of the horrendous traffic. The rooms were fairly clean, but the bathrooms were not, with lots of gecko? poop all over the walls. The staff doesn't speak much English but in general are very helpful. The wi-fi is just a 3G dongle attached to a router, and never worked very fast or consistently. It was just enough to check email and that was it.

I would recommend this guesthouse as a great deal if you are on a budget, with more amenities for your dollar than most guesthouses in this price range.

Room Tip: We had the first room on the left, and it got a lot of sun in the mornings, which made breakfast a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We never had a gd start to this place as they forgot to pick us up at the airport however they paid for our taxi and felt really bad that they had forgot! Hidden in the middle of nowhere, very peaceful, strange little place, staff were friendly and cooked us breakfast in the morning. room was pretty kool, cosy and comfortable and had t.v. and shower room. Free motorbike hire which is handy as everything is so far away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dana Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Guesthouse

Address: Jalan Pengubugan, Gang Kayu Cendana | Banjar Silayukti, Kerobokan, Kuta, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dana Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dana Guesthouse is located in the village of Kerobokan kuta bali , just 5 km north of Kuta and Legian.Every of our large guestrooms is furnished with a comfortable, high quality Queen-size bed,a personal Air Conditioner and ceiling fan ,Television and Dvd players . All rooms have a small en-suite with toilet and shower. Wi-Fi Internet connection is provided to all our guests, and airport transfer is available free of charge for booking accommodation at Dana Guesthouse for two or more nights.All rooms at Dana Guesthouse open up on to our well kept courtyard where relaxing seating facilities are provided for our guest's comfort.A full cooked breakfast is included in your accommodation price, and complimentary tea and coffee is available throughout the day and night .From Dana Guesthouse to the airport is a 25 minute drive, to Kuta Beach it's just 15 minutes drive and to Canggu and Echo Beach only 5 to 7 minutes drive .A 5 minute walk takes you to the local open fruit and vegetable markets, and day-trips to Tanah Lot Temple, Ubud and all popular tourist locations can be easily arranged at short notice and at discount fares. An open public swimming pool and a fitness Gym are close-by, and all our guests have access to our fleet of motor scooters at no charge.We offer Facilities at Dana Guesthouse Bali :- Shuttle Bus to Seminyak /Echo , Beach at10 AM ( morning time )- FREE WiFi ( internet Connection )- Free Car / Mini Bus- Free Motor Bike- Mineral water complimentary- Laundry service- Free airport pick up service minimum stay 2 night- Refrigerator public to keep cool your beverageFacilities recreation:Soccer - Tennis-golf - Parasailing - water skiing- water scooter ring-tour explore bali - snorkeling -dolphin -sightseeing tours- scuba diving-water rafting, is can be arrange through a reception at Dana Guesthouse Bali.Note :- After you make a booking please send us your arrivaldetail :Flight Number :Airways :Arrival Time :we ready to pick you up At Bali airport- Tax ,Petrol, and Driver is not included for the car facilities- Strongly Recommended for relaxing place & who canRide Scooter /Motor Bike , Couple for Budget hostel.- Need to Drive to Go to Kuta center town for 15-20 minutes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dana Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Guesthouse Bali/Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dana Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.