We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful old favourite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metis Restaurant and Gallery

Metis Restaurant and Gallery
Jalan Petitenget No 6 | Kerobokan Kelod, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+623614737888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: MÉTIS Restaurant and Gallery is a sensory dining experience that embraces the sheer pleasures of living. Chef Nicolas “Doudou” Tourneville brings his legendary talent and culinary artistry to the table with a masterful combination of French Mediterranean cuisine. Flawless service in one of Bali’s most elegantly sophisticated settings is just the beginning of this seduction into the depths of the five senses. MÉTIS is as fresh and sumptuous as the cuisine that graces its tables.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful old favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We have been coming to Métis for a few years now and still it does not disappoint. The decor is beautiful overlooking Lilly ponds and rice fields. Atmosphere is buzzing, friendly, busy and you are just happy to be there. The service is efficient, friendly and you are looked after well. The menu and food are amazing! So many beautiful meals and so well presented. Not so small you walk away hungry either! Excellent wine list . You can dress up or go casual but always feel like this is a fun and happy place to be. Love the food!! They now have new bar area overlooking Lilly ponds and this looks like a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a wine. Great for intimate dinners...or big groups. Lovely evening again métis!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    328
    113
    56
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Really amazing food and a beautiful restaurant. This is high quality dining and though the prices may be high for Bali it is actually excellent value. You would pay much much more for quality like this elsewhere in the world.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Firstly, the venue and setting is stunning. The service was excellent, very quick and attentive without being over-the-top, and the cocktail was possibly the best i had in bali. The food was absolutely delicious, and well-presented. The only issue we had was the portion sizes, they are a little small for our liking. We would highly recommend visiting this restaurant if you are anywhere nearby.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very fine dining french restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Didn't expect to find a french restaurant in Bali, especially a good one, with a touch of glamorous fine dining feel.

Food were top of the range. Everyone polished off their plates - even the little ones. However the menu was far too fancy and confusing for those who never been to a french restaurant before (one of my guests was finding it a bit hard to order a 'simple' meal). A bit pricey too for what we usually find around Bali - it's more upmarket. They even have dress code. Saw some foreigners was wearing 'beer bintang' singlets on the way in, and the staff there had to rent them black shirts to cover up their casual clothing.

The ambience and interior design of the restaurant were amazing though. The ones you kind of expected from a 5 stars fine dining experience and more. The staff were very professional and friendly. They made me an instant bed next to me for my little one to sleep on to make sure we were having excellent time enjoying our dinner.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Romantic Fantastic ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Too much to explain. Basically, you just have to go there to experience the food and the ambience. I love the zucchini flower tempura, we love the trio tar tar, veal and pork for the entrée were also good. Don't complain too much and say it is not authentic, if you want authentic just go to France. Here in Bali you find this place just right to have a nice dinner, to experience the gastronomy, to sip wine with your loved ones or friends. Just enjoy Metis, afterall ..you are in Bali. Me and my fiancé will always go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metis Restaurant and Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Metis Restaurant and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metis Restaurant and Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.