We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday high tea! What a fabulous place! Even the buys were impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biku

Biku
jl. Raya Petitenget no.888, Kerobokan, Bali 80571, Indonesia
+62 851-0057-0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 119 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Housed in a 150 year old wooden joglo, Biku is open for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner every day. The speciality of the house is our High Tea , but we are also known for our tropical comfort menu which has something for everyone.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Birthday high tea! What a fabulous place! Even the buys were impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had the Western Afternoon High Tea there today and spent about 2 hours, as it was so lovely. Only went based on TA, so thank you for writing such awesome reviews. You absolutely NEED TO BOOK AHEAD. It was packed and we wanted to change our booking by 30 minutes and it was a no go, as they were full!
Lovely building and interior, lovely garden, toilets, staff - it all fit and was fabulous. We had trouble finishing our tower, as there was a lot of food. My son just had cake from the displays (lovely Mexican Chocolate cake). One friend had a vegetarian high tea and demolished it. My son got entertained with magic tricks and colouring paper and pencils and the staff looked after him and we all had a ball. Go there! It's worth it and at $9.50 per head not expensive. A really nice afternoon. Musical entertainment, tea leaf and tarot lady are there too and you seem to be able to buy everything in the cafe too - nice art and craft to look at.
Very popular with Indonesian families too which made a nice mix of people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    943
    527
    124
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting Concept”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

i came to this place in 2010 with my wife and they had one of the best high teas, hamburgers and many indonesian infusion dishes. unfortunately within years i could see the quality of this place degrading fast. no more fresh meet for burgers but replaced by frozen processed meet, service is average but the place still has its charm. yesterday a band was playing nice latin classic music with one of the best flute players in the world. i had a Rib Eye with fresh fries and my wife had spicy Thai fish cakes, i will rate both dishes below below average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming venue, wonderful ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Biku happens to be right across the street from our villa at the Yubi, so we made reservations and stopped in for dinner last night. Friendly and professional hostess in the front, and overall great service from staff. My boyfriend and I shared the Vietnamese chicken wings, curry fish salad, barramundi fish in garlic butter, and lamb curry. Everything was delicious, especially the barramundi. We also shared the bananoffee dessert (banana toffee crumble with whip) - SO good! Best part about Biku though was the ambiance - the live music which continued until 10pm really set the tone, so chill and romantic at the same time. We have already made reservations to try their Asian style high tea later this week!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Affordable High Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I had high tea at Biku with friends and had a lovely time. We thought we'd need a couple of hours, but turned out we were completely finished in an hour. We opted for the more traditional western high tea (instead of the indonesian choice) and it was made up of sandwiches, spinach pastry, scones with jame & cream, small lemon tarts, chocolate treat and tiny gingerbread men! All of the food was delicious and well worth the AUD$10. I was able to swap the tea for a juice without additional cost. There were a couple of air conditioners on one side of the restaurant, but as two sides were open to the air, they weren't very effective. There is also tarot card readings available, which would have been fun, but unfortunately we arrived too late. Overall a good experience and we would recommend high tea here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just a really lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a book shop and boutique that also serves an amazing English style High Tea and great lunch and dinner menu. I went Indo and was not disappointed, also had a crackingly good Sangria. Great staff, charming atmosphere and just really nice place to dine. You will be disappointed if you dont book particularly for the High Tea. I celebrated a birthday and was surprised with a lovely little cake from the owner who has had Biku for many many years. Some lovely shopping to be had between courses and a fresh outdoor garden seating option is available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biku also viewed

 

Been to Biku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.