We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Menari Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerobokan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Menari Bali
Save
You added Villa Menari Bali to your Saves list
Jalan Bumbak Dauh 88 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the moment Putu picked us up from the airport I knew I hade made the right choice, then the drive to the villa I couldn't wait to see if it was better the the photos on the website, as soon as we drove down the driveway and got out of the van, we where all like OMG, it was beautiful. We stayed for 8 short days and we wished we stayed longer, Putu all the cleaning staff, security staff and dogs especially stella Where all great hosts, uluh was the best chef, her food was amazing and small putu her massages where amazing, we traveled with two three year olds who absolutely loved the pool. Family and friends who where staying in other villas in Bali couldn't believe the gem we had found, the whole villa makes you feel at home and when travelling with other people you can still relax in other parts of the villa, lastly a big thank you to Michael from the first email to the last you where so helpful and understanding, congratulations on your beautiful villa and your beautiful staff to match, hope we can come back again,Amanda Kidwell and Family Sydney Australia PS by the end of your stay you forget about the bumpy road

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked Villa Menari for my wife's 60th birthday and brought along the boys (aged 33 to 40). The photos on the website did not do justice to the Villa. It is what you see and much more. The road in was a bit rough but once local building is complete this will be fixed. Set amongst the rice fields it is very peaceful and serene. You could quite easily not leave the Villa for your full stay. The pool was given a big workout.

We had meals in-house and also out at Echo Beach and Seminyak. The in-house cooking was wonderful.

To have your own cook, driver and exclusive use of a Villa is fantastic but relies on the quality of the staff. Putu and his team are what makes the difference. Nothing is too much trouble and their rice is discreet and of the highest standard.
Thank you to Michael Dance, Putu and the staff for a wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stopped in Bali on our way home to Perth Australia from the USA intending to just relax and get over our jetlag. This was our first time in Bali and after some thought we decided that staying at a villa would suit us best – we would have a driver who could advise us on what to do and where to go. This was the best thing we ever did and we were so glad we picked Villa Menari. From the time we arrived to the time we left our stay was FABULOUSLY AMAZING.
We arrived at 1am and after a 20 hour flight we were so thankful that Putu, the Villa’s Manager/Driver was there on time to meet and warmly greet us. After a short 20 minute drive we arrived at the Villa – the road leading to the Villa was more of a dirt track and very narrow and I wondered then if this was the right choice. Once we arrive at the Villa and the gates opened it was paradise. After the first day the road did not bother us. I think that most of the roads to any of the private Villas are quite the same as the roads are the responsibility of the owners and not the road authorities.
We were also joined by my daughter’s 3 friends from Perth who arrived at 11 am the same day and Putu made another trip out to the airport that same day to pick them up.
The Villa Menari comprised of 3 separate villas, one which was double story. All the villas were very spacious. It was fantastic that we did not have to share the grounds with anyone except of course the local insects, lizards, frogs and geckos all part of nature and unavoidable. The pool was all ours. The staff were always on-hand to set up the beds by the pool for us and provide our towels. We were even able to organise massages at the Villa and this was great especially after a long day of touring or shopping to be able to get an hour’s massage in before dinner or heading out again.
Putu was very helpful and happy to drive us anywhere even if it meant that he had to take my husband and I somewhere first as we were up and ready to go early in the day and then come back and take the younger ones out later in the day and then pick us up from different areas and take us home. Putu was not only our driver but he was our tour guide and advisor. There was nothing Putu could not answer or do for us – he even got us a durian to try. My mother is from Singapore and makes a curry that requires a fruit called “Keluak” I was surprised when I mentioned it to Putu who said he could get it for us and my mum was very happy too.
This is not a criticism of the villa only a word of advice is that if you plan to sit out in the open and the pool area or have dinner in the open dinning area after 7pm you will need lots of insect repellent – they are rather vicious.

If I could make one suggestion: It would have been convenient to have coffee/tea making facilities in the individual Villas. Although we could ask for this at any time - we did not want to bother the staff late at night when we felt like a cuppa.

My whole experience from the time I made enquiries with Michael, the owner, to the time we left was nothing but excellent.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a group of friends the best way to save is to stay in a Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

A number of our friends had already stayed at Villa Menari so we had a good idea of what to expect - our friends were spot on.
It was fantastic - Putu and the staff could not have been more helpful whilst at the same time keeping discreetly in the background.
We were three families - all with teenage kids
The Villa is secluded enough to afford peace and quiet for those who want to just relax, swim, read or have a massage (GG) but close enough to the shops, beach and restaurants for those who want something more lively.
The kids all had a ball and commandered the TV room which was theirs for the duration of our stay (12 days)
All in all we had an absolutely fantastic holiday which we intend to repeat at Villa Menari next year.
To sum it up - one of our group said that Villa Menari was one instance when the photos do not do justice to the reality!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Experienced travellor uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

All the previous reviews are absolutely spot on, a wonderful villa in a remote spot tucked away in Paradise but close enough to Seminyak for civilisation if needed!

Putu the villa manager makes this retreat a special place to visit, he really does go the extra mile and nothing is beyond his ability to organise. Had a wonderful stay, many thanks to Michael the owner and his efficient staff. My family is well travelled across the globe and this stay ranks as one of the best.
We stayed on the smaller neighbouring island Lombok last year in a hotel owned private villa with butler service and thought it would be hard to beat, well this beat it hands down! The villa is huge, if there is any room for improvement it could only be the Internet speed but from what I could gather that is an Island rather than Villa issue and frankly I should not have been trying to work in such beautiful surroundings! First class.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
683 reviews 683 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
1,317 helpful votes 1,317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Having stayed at Villa Menari before it was an easy decision to tame our lust to explore and try other villa's and return to Villa Menari. It proved a wise decision.
The Head of Household Putu met us at the airport with his normal grin, took our bags loaded them in the car and off we went.
The villa has not changed, lush and magical with high standards. We went out to some great restaurants - Cafe Warison, Hu, Sarong etc, but our most enjoyable meals were at the villa, the chef Iloo (not sure if I have spelt her name right)is a real gem who cooks Indonesian as well as International food to a very high standard. Once again, I highly recommend Villa Menari as a great place to stay whilst in Bali.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

My twin brother and our families (8 adults) spent 14 days here to celebrate our 50th birthday, following a lot of research and enquiries we finally settled on Villa Menari as it offered everything we were looking for something a way from the hustle and bustle, private well appointed rooms, fantastic pool and gardens and all the extra's car, driver, chef etc. Booking the villa through Michael was easy and despite numerous questions re restaurants, activities and arrangements for our birthday nothing was ever to much. If we thought all this was great the team at the villa topped it all. A special thanks would have to go to Putu, our villa manager / driver, who would take us anywhere, pick us up at any time, book restaraunts, spa treatments, organise meals and massages at the villa and make any other arrangments including deccoarting the villa for our birthday, you will not find a more friendly and accommodating person, I have to admit a few tears were shed when we had to say goodbye at the end of our stay. We have already recomended Villa Menari to friends and family and wont hesitate to return, put simply Villa Menari exceeded all our expectations, thank you all

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Menari Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Menari Bali

Address: Jalan Bumbak Dauh 88 | Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kerobokan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Kerobokan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Menari Bali is a 5 Bedroom Bali Family Villa nr Seminyak with 4 luxury & private villa pavilions, all with en-suite bathrooms. It features a large entertainment pavilion, great infinity pool and abundant tropical gardens and has excellent food & service with full-time chef, manager, housekeeping and security staff. A private and peaceful villa yet close to shopping, restaurants and tourist amenities. Perfect for large families or groups of friends to relax, enjoy great service and accommodations with easy access to the many delights Bali has to offer. Rental includes: Breakfast, Airport Transfers, 2 x Car with Chauffeur and Government Tax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Menari Bali Hotel Kerobokan
Villa Menari Bali Kerobokan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Menari Bali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.