We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Kuta, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 68 restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Will go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

Lovely place and really consistently good food. The atmosphere and staff make you feel special. Looking forward to the next trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    941
    277
    105
    37
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 NEW

We went here for hubby's birthday. It's a place you definitely need to book or you wont get in. OK, so we booked. Couldn't get in on the date we wanted as they'd been closed for a week for some renovations. When we arrived, they had no details of our booking despite us confirming our booking as required. This meant we didn't have any choice of seating as they basically weren't expecting us. Very annoying for this calibre of restaurant (same management as Mamasans and it happened there too!!)

Large Menu (apparently new). Entrees were TINY, then the next course is a tad bigger. The mains were quite pricey (for Bali) and when they arrived the temperature of the food wasn't hot - in fact barely warm. My main came a good 10 mins after hubbys which was also annoying, and mine wasn't much hotter. The Maitre'd came over to see how our meals were and we told him. He was very apologetic and eventually offered us a complimentary desert. All well and good if you were going to have desert (we weren't). Hubby had pork cheek (unusual) with black pudding and some sort of cabbage dish. He said very tasty but the cooked cabbage was stone-cold even though it didn't state that on the menu. I had a lamb curry and was surprised to have it served on the bone like a lamb shank - quite difficult to wrestle with. The desert was way too big in comparison to the Entrees and Starters. It'd be much better to do it the other way around. Most people if they want desert, are only expecting a small taster.
Drinks were much higher than anywhere else in Bali (cocktails were $11++). I don't generally like wine in Bali and imported ones were ridiculously priced due to their taxes. So we had "free-flow" sparkling Perrier.

Service was good but it seems that 1 person collects it from the kitchen and hands it on etc etc. Odd!!

I don't think I'd go back as it is a long way out and there are so many really good restaurants to try now.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Divine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

Absolutely loved it...Sarong certainly lived up to its reputation! We were recommend by friends and although we had to wait to get a booking it was well worth it. The food was sensational - the flavor combinations super. Our entree of scallops beautifully arrange and the fish tikka - damn good. Service was five star.... the best we have experienced in Bali so far. Although the restaurant was full the ambiance was relaxed - it really was a special ending to our trip to beautiful Bali. Star!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very original menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

We walked in with no reservations but were seated in the less charming area without much comfort. But it was well worth it.
I never saw such an original menu. The "entrees" were priced by piece and we had scallops and prawns..both very good and nicely served.
The main menu listed many original dishes and our choices were delicious.had a fish dish and seafood but can't remember exactly what they were.
Portions were fine and the service good.
Don't hesitate but make reservations as the main dining room is very special and romantic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sutanassinmomdad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 NEW

A great atmosphere with great choice of menu. The peking duck on the buns, suckling pig, ribeye wagyu cooked with bone marrow wow very tasty and delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerobokan, Kuta
 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.