We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in a gorgeous setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a gorgeous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The food is top class and the service is excellent also. It's a lovely place to stop for a cocktail alone but with such a huge menu it would be a shame not to eat.
I had the DIY duck buns which were delicious and my husband had the lamb curry which he loved.
We'd highly recommend it. Best to book.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    411
    155
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A tad overrated ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We decided to give Sarong a go after all the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor - which perhaps led to very high expectations on our part.

Whilst the ambience was above average, and it was pretty cosy there with nice chilled out music pumping and beautiful decor, the food didn't leave us raving and wanting to come back a second time. The much-talked about crispy pork belly starter was nice but not outstanding. We certainly get better in Hong Kong. The salt and pepper squid was very fresh but overall tasted pretty average. The panang wagyu beef curry that had been highly recommended was not bad and the beef was pretty tender, but again, nothing to get to write to home about.

The best dish of the evening was the grilled chicken main which was definitely above average.

The portions are large so go easy on the ordering unless you are very hungry! We had two starters and two mains between the both of us and couldn't finish three of the four dishes.

Word of caution, bring some insect repellant with you as the mosquitoes were having a field day with us.

All in all, Sarong was good and certainly felt like a bit of a treat, with the ambience and attentiveness of the crew,but was not as outstanding as we thought it would be. Go there with that in mind in order to avoid disappointment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Had an incredible meal with friends...the fusion Indian dishes are some of the best I have had outside India...would certainly add this restaurant to my list of favorites...wine list is rather pricey however so is the case across all places in Bali...service was somewhat sporadic..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My fav restaurant in bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I love sarong! I have been 4 times and every time I am blown away with how awesome the meals are! We went in a group of 4 and the meal cost us $80 (aus) each. The meal included 3 cocktails each as well as more than enough food for all of us! My fav is the wagyu beef starter.

The only downside is it is a little dark and sometimes hard to see!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fusion Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We ate at Sarong on the last night of our honeymoon and we loved it. The place is huge, but you will need to book in advance by a couple of days. They have a good choice on the menu and the cocktails are fun and tasty. The food itself is a mix of east meets west and the choice is good. Some dishes can be quite spicy though as my wife found out. However, the waitress was very good and without being asked she brought out some yogurt to help, which was most welcome. The food quality was good. I had chicken and it was tasty, spicy and really quite filling. The rice to accompany it was some of the best I have ever tasted.

Its not the cheapest place but we had two course, two cocktails and still it cost less that £50. So that's not bad when food is this good. Sarong has a deserved reputation for its food and its a very welcome surprise that the service is so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.