We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sarong is a beautiful restaurant. Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff & delicious food. Our entrees of Pork Belly & Pork Buns & mains of Vietnamese Duck & Tandoori Chicken were fantastic & generous in size. Reasonably priced, I can highly recommend this restaurant for a special night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,220
    365
    129
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Just as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have been going to Sarong since the day it opened and have always had a fabulous meal. The meal I had thee 4 days ago was up to the same excellent standard. The service was impeccable and I have to say that we enjoyed a fabulous evening. We shared several entrees and several mains - this is the ideal place to share the dishes and share the varied spices and flavours that can be found in the menu. Keep up the good work guys!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exquisite - One of the must do's when in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sarong is seriously one of the best South East Asian restaurants I have ever had the privilege to dine in. The menu is extensive and full of yummy spicy dishes. The presentation of both food and cocktails was incredible. This was the highlight meal experience in our 10 day stay (closely followed by lunch at Mamasan which is Sarong's sister restaurant in Seminyak) in Seminyak.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Lunch time review ' simply delicious'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a vegetarian Sarong didn’t initially appeal as the menu is not particularly vegie friendly. I was surprised to find that Sarong offer a full vegetarian lunch menu. The vegie menu wasn't initially offered until I told them I was vegetarian.

The food was spicy and fragrant – this restaurant is probably not for you if you don’t enjoy chilli.

Be sure to order a side of roti – if flaky and crispy and really delicious with a side service of curry. (It was so good I was tempted to go back and just order the sides and a glass of wine)! Everything we ordered was sensational, it’s a meal I will remember for a long time.

Mamasan offers a set lunch menu for around 125,000 rupee or you can order a la carte – the lunch menu is very well priced especially given the quality of the food and service.

Lunch is fairly casual, some people were dressed and others were in smart shorts/sandals.

I've eaten at Sarong (same owner) and was equally impressed with Mamasan - I enjoy spicy cuisine so for me this was a winner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SICK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would never eat at this restaurant again. Myself, my boyfriend and a girlfriend all got sick from eating here in October. Another friend got sick after eating here the week before and my boyfriend got sick the first time he ate there last year.. something is wrong there !!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarong B, Manager at Sarong Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at Sarong. We are obviously deeply troubled and surprised to hear that you felt sick after dining in the restaurant.

We go to great lengths to ensure that our food safety and hygiene protocols are of the very best standard, and vigilant in every aspect of these procedures, from food storage to preparation and serving. The quality of our food and produce is also of the very highest standard, with every single dish being made fresh on a daily basis to achieve the consistency of taste, flavour and finish that this level of fine dining requires.

Certainly with a full house of guests enjoying wonderful meals with us every evening, if we had any issues with a particular ingredient or dish, then we imagine we would get a flurry of reports from everyone who ordered and ate the same thing. Because this hasn't been the case, and we take any report of possible issues very seriously, we would like to get to the bottom of this and try to ascertain exactly what happened.

Without a specific or direct report received by either you and your boyfriend, or from the friend you mentioned, it is very difficult, if not impossible, to try and find out if there was indeed an issue that we can trace back to the restaurant.

We would appreciate the opportunity to do this and talk to you personally. As a restaurant with an internationally acclaimed reputation, and one that is fully booked every night, our guest safety, heath and happiness is of the utmost importance to us.

We kindly ask that you email us directly at pr@sarongbali.com so that we're able to get some more specific details and try to find out what happened, so that one of our team can get in touch and we can explore every opportunity to look at things from our end.



Warmest regards,
the Sarong team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerobokan, Bali
Kerobokan, Bali
 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.