We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate here on the last night of our honeymoon and this was definitely an excellent choice.

We tried to book a table and they were fully booked but we were advised by our hotel to try still as they keep some tables for walk in guests. We were so pleased we tried as they had a lovely little table outside in the gardens which were beautiful. We splashed out on a bottle of wine which is expensive throughout Bali due to taxes but also had some cocktails after dinner at the bar which were lovely.

The food was without doubt the best we ate while in Bali. I had scallops to start which were light and full of flavour, my husband had prawn dumplings which were beautiful!

For main I had the slow cooked lamb curry and my husband had the tandoori chicken leg. Both were absolutely amazing, full of flavour and both were big portions.

I would highly recommend this restaurant if you want excellent food in a beautiful setting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,158
    338
    123
    42
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I see why it is rated so highly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Amazing asian food! Their duck and pork dishes rock. While this is not a Balinese restaurant by any means, it is exceptionally good food with a gorgeous setting. The manager was very conversational even when busy; the staff very helpful and not over the top... and the ladies at the entrance, very gracious. We enjoyed our evening very much and felt truly on holiday. Just a note on dress code - Smart casual.. shorts accepted but if you can, dress nicely. I saw too many thong wearers in there and while i know its hot at night in Bali, how hard is it to wear some shoes? No singlets allowed and fair enough. It is a dining experience, not McDonalds.

Thank you Kadek :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“sarong is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Eat at Sarong every time we go to Bali. The food is excellent also the waiters are very attentive to your needs. Atmosphere at the restaurant could be any were in the world. It has touches of Bali also world class decor and ambience. Very romantic atmosphere with very soft lighting. Cocktails are excellent. Probably for Bali restaurants little bit more expensive but same meal with drinks in Australia would cost you double the price. Would recommend this restaurant for a special night out in Bali.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First-rate food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Booking through email was a pleasure as their response was quick. On the first night of our stay, we took a taxi there and was served one of the most delicious meals i've had. The flavors were just right and the portions were good. The pork belly appetizer was amazing!

The decor was very well done - cozy and inviting. I particularly liked the mix of couches and chairs, giving it a more homey feel. The lighting was good - not brightly garish, nor too dim.

Service was very good. The waiters/waitresses spoke good English and were able to explain in depth on each dish on the menu. I had asked for a candle to be lit in a dessert we ordered and it was well done. They then informed us that it was complimentary, which was a nice surprise.

We wanted to go back on Saturday night, but it was a last minute decision and we didn't book. There were no available tables and as it was threatening to rain, we opted not to sit outside. Lesson learned: If you want to eat in Sarong on the weekend, make sure you have a booking!

I'd definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came here because of the reviews and wow, it was fantastic. Doesn't look much from the outside but once you walk through the front gate it's like walking into a sanctuary. We had cocktails to start. The menu is quite Indian inspired. My boyfriend is vegetarian so I had chicken and he had vege betel leaves to start, taste explosion in your mouth, loved them. I then had butter chicken and he had a tandoori stuffed potato kebab style thing. Being vegetarian it was the first time he had had the opportunity to have tandoori as we have not seen a vege option before. He said it was outstanding. Absolutely love this restaurant and definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.