We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 98 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We came here because of the reviews and wow, it was fantastic. Doesn't look much from the outside but once you walk through the front gate it's like walking into a sanctuary. We had cocktails to start. The menu is quite Indian inspired. My boyfriend is vegetarian so I had chicken and he had vege betel leaves to start, taste explosion in your mouth, loved them. I then had butter chicken and he had a tandoori stuffed potato kebab style thing. Being vegetarian it was the first time he had had the opportunity to have tandoori as we have not seen a vege option before. He said it was outstanding. Absolutely love this restaurant and definitely recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    343
    124
    42
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sarong is always fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sarong is a Bali must try. Tasty, fresh food and superb cocktails. Friendly well trained staff ! Sarong has a modern classy decore with soft beautiful lighting.It is true Asian food but with a twist . Sarongs reminds me of some of Australians Asian fusion cooking better restauraunts. A Gingerboy or a Chin Chin if you were to compare the food to Melbourne. . Don't forget to ask the friendly staff for some mozzie spray as it ha been a long wet season and its near the rice fields.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Something different with one small gripe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is a great restaurant, the flavours and variety of whats on offer is better than most restaurants you will ever visit in Bali, the decor is refreshing and the staff are manage to be amazingly on hand without being overbearing. We loved our meal here & would definable come back.

I had one gripe through & it wasn't really the restaurants fault. The policy is no thongs or singlets & we dressed up accordingly on a hot night only to find the place full of your A typical loud Aussie Bogan with thongs, singlets, tattoos & even the odd baseball cap on backwards. When I asked why the poor waiter rolled her eye's and apologised, then later the maitre de came over and apologised again saying that they just can't turn away people who dress like this even though there is a dress code, but they were trying hard to make it more strict. We understood as they can't just turn away money in a tough economy and with so much competition in Bali, guess its just a another poor reflection on Australians who seem to think they can do as they please & bugger everyone else.. Sad

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, great food and service and best cocktails in Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked well in advance before leaving home and confirmed the booking on the day.

Really magical vibe at Sarong, stunning decor and lovely welcoming staff who were very professional and informative about the menu. Porn star cocktail was divine, black bean crusted barramundi (divine) with a fabulous stir fried chinese broccoli which was a standout for a side dish! Finished up with dessert of the young coconut jelly with crushed ice tapioca and black agar -agar was a success for me, the jelly for me was fail but I did like the other elements and there was a bonus of the best coconut icecream I have ever tasted! Overall a must do restaurant in my opinion but watch the water charges as another reviewer has mentioned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding, exceptional, not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Sarong truly impressed us and we are still talking about the outstanding food. Modern Asian fare with a twist and done soooooooo well. Every dish we ordered was better than exceptional. Sarong would give Melbournes Chefs hats restuarants a run for their money. Id come back to Bali just to eat here. Well done on a lux and sexy setting, impeccable service and world class food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.