We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
19x Jalan Petitenget, Kerobokan, Bali 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 4737809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Sarong was recommended and did not disappoint. From the greeting at the front door Sarong provides a high class dining experience. The staff are attentive to your needs and know the menu and make helpful recommendations. The wine list is comprehensive and well priced. The food is a standout. We had salt and pepper calamari, cooked to perfection and dipping sauce of lime juice and chilli was spectacular.
Slow cooked lamb melted in my mouth.
Even the illy coffee was well made and at the right temperature.
The menu is extensive something for everyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,226
    367
    130
    43
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good food, great staff and the cocktails were delicious. The restaurant is very nice and worth a try.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Romance with mixed asian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Recommended by the owner of our hotel in Bali we booked a table on Sunday evening at Sarong. The ambiance of this place is very romantic and has a nice touch of class to it. The decor has soft yellow and red lighting and lots of Chandeliers for the old world feel.

Being Vegetarians, we went hoping to get 'something' to eat and were pleasantly surprised to find the four items on them menu and all being Indian food!

We ordered the Daal, Tandoori Aloo, Naan and Rice. The food quality and quantity was quite spectacular and would certainly recommend this place to anyone around Seminyak.

Meat eaters have a wide range of cuisines to chose from - Sri Lankan, Indian, Thai etc.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, but illogical dress code.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food here is simply superb, but for an open air restaurant with very limited cooling, asking guests to wear a shirt, even a short-sleeved one, is inappropriate. Bali is a beach destination after all.I completely understand that the restaurant does not want "YOBBO" singlets, but a designer singlet matched with designer shorts and groovy sandals is a far cry from a sloppy beach singlet which reveals too much MALE body...I say 'male' because singlets and even strapless tops are permitted for women, but men are somehow identified as offensive. My husband is a good-looking, healthy and fit 54 year old. He was wearing a very fetching , well-covering, well-fitted singlet, but he was not welcomed. When we asked why this policy was not referred to when we were making our reservation, they simply said nothing, but offered a white shirt he could wear...how many people had worn it? Was it clean? It was too hot anyway. This is an archaic, sexist policy which needs to be addressed...it should be based on what guests look like overall...there were people - men and women - wearing old,saggy, tired and worn-out T-shirts, but I guess that at least they were not singlets. We were very upset and left. We had eaten there on our last visit to Bali and found the food to be excellent, which is why we returned. My husband wore a singlet this time because we remembered how unbearably hot the space was. What we didn't see or hear about then was the dress-code sign - which was pointed out to us this time...hidden amongst shrubbery!! I get it, but I don't get it...turning well-dressed people of our age away is really a no-no. Very disappointing. Don't miss out on the cuisine, but be prepared.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fantastic food, fantastic service and fantastic atmosphere. A Bali treasure. But why do I still have to pay for cold still water???????

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 
Kerobokan, Bali
Kerobokan, Bali
 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarong Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.