We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent my first night in Bali in the Tirta Ayu Hotel. This had all been pre-arranged by my travel agent. From the moment I stepped out of the car to the moment I left I can't believe how well I was treated and looked after. The staff could not do enough for me. I was allocated Villa No.1 which really was something special. My only slight issue was the tiny doorway - I had to bend down to get in but as I'm well over 6 foot it was not a problem! The bed was very comfortable and I loved the semi-outdoor bathroom. I chose to eat in the restaurant for dinner and the staff reserved the table on the balcony overlooking the Water Palace itself. The food was excellent and I ended up having a good chat with one of the waiters over my coffee and arak at the end of the meal. As other reviewers have said, make the most of the gardens once the crowds have gone for the day. It's a beautiful situation to be in and I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    21
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
65
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I got married at Tirtagangga on 2nd October 2013. It was heavenly! There is nothing that the owner, Haryo and his amazing team will not do for you. It was overwhelmingly beautiful and we were treated like royalty for the 5 days we and our families stayed at Tirta Ayu. Whether you are a hotel guest or just having lunch there, you will love it. The food, the people and the surroundings are all beautiful. All this at an extremely affordable price for 5 star luxury.
We will return as soon as we can and cannot recommend it enough. Thank you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful Villa style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sherilee,

Thank you for your comment , our team look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You might as well enjoy the view of the water palace and there's no place better than at the restaurant!

The prices are great considering the location! It might be a good idea to order a table with a view out over the water palace if you want to be sure to be seated in a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your compliment , we look forward to your next stay with Tirta Ayu .

Regards,
Haryo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a top location within the water place but getting in to it is a battle with luggage as the distance to carry is long. However, apart from the location, it is very much long on price and short on value. The room, Villa Agung, is very spacious but lacks warmth with very uncomfortable chairs both inside and out. It has a more or less private pool filled with fish but after a while this becomes somewhat mundane. The restaurant is over priced and under performing. The warungs outside the palace grounds are half the price with better food. However the staff are many and seem eager to please but not too forthcoming with information unless one knows the questions to ask. No information in the rooms about the area and no tea/coffee making facilities. Despite the three large rooms there is nowhere to put one's luggage except on the floor. A luggage table or rack would be appreciated. Guides arranged through the hotel are twice the price of guides arranged just outside the palace entrance. The service is the same.

Room Tip: Take one of the smaller rooms near the hotel swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Both, the rooms and the restaurant are real gems. Our room was large and the living space headed to a pond with big koi. The service is excellent and very friendly. We had a fantastic dinner with view over the gardens of the water palace. Tip: If you stay over night enjoy the gardens when the tourists are gone or in the early morning. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comment , look forward meeting your next holiday and regards from The Water Palace , Tirtagangga. Bali


Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Raja villa for 2 nights. The bedroom and shower room are very spacious and lovely. The only thing we would alter would be to add some more outside seating near the small private pool. When we were there the weather was not that good and the only place to sit outside was on 2very spectacular chairs, but unfortunately not very comfy for extended sitting and reading. The staff were so very lovely nothing too much trouble, we were treated like Mr and Mrs Raj in the restaurant where we had a table overlooking the spectacular water garden for breakfast lunch and dinner. Hot stone massage was lovely and reasonable for the length of time it took. Swimming pool not that big and seating around the pool is limited, not enough loungers for all the villas, but we were lucky for the odd hour to get 2 beds together.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There can be few views in East Bali to compare with the one from the Tirta Ayu Restaurant looking over the beautiful Tirta Gangga Water Palace gardens. Newly refurbished, this British-run restaurant sets a high standard with a very extensive menu and friendly, helpful staff who will even remember your name on return visits. Enjoy a leisurely visit to the 'must see' Water Palace and enjoy lunch here enroute the coast, or stay overnight in the Raja's room or one of the beautifully appointed villas on the site - all competitively priced and very gracious. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.