We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You might as well enjoy the view of the water palace and there's no place better than at the restaurant!

The prices are great considering the location! It might be a good idea to order a table with a view out over the water palace if you want to be sure to be seated in a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your compliment , we look forward to your next stay with Tirta Ayu .

Regards,
Haryo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is located in a top location within the water place but getting in to it is a battle with luggage as the distance to carry is long. However, apart from the location, it is very much long on price and short on value. The room, Villa Agung, is very spacious but lacks warmth with very uncomfortable chairs both inside and out. It has a more or less private pool filled with fish but after a while this becomes somewhat mundane. The restaurant is over priced and under performing. The warungs outside the palace grounds are half the price with better food. However the staff are many and seem eager to please but not too forthcoming with information unless one knows the questions to ask. No information in the rooms about the area and no tea/coffee making facilities. Despite the three large rooms there is nowhere to put one's luggage except on the floor. A luggage table or rack would be appreciated. Guides arranged through the hotel are twice the price of guides arranged just outside the palace entrance. The service is the same.

Room Tip: Take one of the smaller rooms near the hotel swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Both, the rooms and the restaurant are real gems. Our room was large and the living space headed to a pond with big koi. The service is excellent and very friendly. We had a fantastic dinner with view over the gardens of the water palace. Tip: If you stay over night enjoy the gardens when the tourists are gone or in the early morning. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comment , look forward meeting your next holiday and regards from The Water Palace , Tirtagangga. Bali


Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Raja villa for 2 nights. The bedroom and shower room are very spacious and lovely. The only thing we would alter would be to add some more outside seating near the small private pool. When we were there the weather was not that good and the only place to sit outside was on 2very spectacular chairs, but unfortunately not very comfy for extended sitting and reading. The staff were so very lovely nothing too much trouble, we were treated like Mr and Mrs Raj in the restaurant where we had a table overlooking the spectacular water garden for breakfast lunch and dinner. Hot stone massage was lovely and reasonable for the length of time it took. Swimming pool not that big and seating around the pool is limited, not enough loungers for all the villas, but we were lucky for the odd hour to get 2 beds together.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There can be few views in East Bali to compare with the one from the Tirta Ayu Restaurant looking over the beautiful Tirta Gangga Water Palace gardens. Newly refurbished, this British-run restaurant sets a high standard with a very extensive menu and friendly, helpful staff who will even remember your name on return visits. Enjoy a leisurely visit to the 'must see' Water Palace and enjoy lunch here enroute the coast, or stay overnight in the Raja's room or one of the beautifully appointed villas on the site - all competitively priced and very gracious. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our plan was to stop and just visit the Water Palace during our drive from Sanur to Amed. Upon arrival we were all hungry and decided to try the restaurant inside and we are so thankful we did. The restaurant is very nice decorated and has amazing views. The staff was incredibly attentive and provided excellent service. All of our meals were delicious and we all listed it a one of our favorite meals during our entire trip. A wonderful stop during our drive and a great experience. Highly recommend enjoying a meal at the restaurant during your stop at the water palace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is about 2 1/2 hour from Denpasar by a car, quite place with beautiful views, you'll find rice fields and fresh air. The temperature is cold but becoming warm in the middle of the day, It's appropriate place if you want run away from the routines, around the hotel you will find the various of plants, in front of hotel there are the big pools with so many fishes, and swimming pool for visitor. My favorite place was sitting in the Restaurant facing toward the beautiful garden. Great food and wonderful staff, warm and friendly. Don't forget to bring your favorite books! Every year I always visiting Tirta Ayu and I wanna be here again and again, .....

Room Tip: Villa 2 0r 3 is great room, nice shower, beside the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.