We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely spot for lunch in East Bali” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A lovely spot for lunch in East Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

There can be few views in East Bali to compare with the one from the Tirta Ayu Restaurant looking over the beautiful Tirta Gangga Water Palace gardens. Newly refurbished, this British-run restaurant sets a high standard with a very extensive menu and friendly, helpful staff who will even remember your name on return visits. Enjoy a leisurely visit to the 'must see' Water Palace and enjoy lunch here enroute the coast, or stay overnight in the Raja's room or one of the beautifully appointed villas on the site - all competitively priced and very gracious. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    22
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
70
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our plan was to stop and just visit the Water Palace during our drive from Sanur to Amed. Upon arrival we were all hungry and decided to try the restaurant inside and we are so thankful we did. The restaurant is very nice decorated and has amazing views. The staff was incredibly attentive and provided excellent service. All of our meals were delicious and we all listed it a one of our favorite meals during our entire trip. A wonderful stop during our drive and a great experience. Highly recommend enjoying a meal at the restaurant during your stop at the water palace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is about 2 1/2 hour from Denpasar by a car, quite place with beautiful views, you'll find rice fields and fresh air. The temperature is cold but becoming warm in the middle of the day, It's appropriate place if you want run away from the routines, around the hotel you will find the various of plants, in front of hotel there are the big pools with so many fishes, and swimming pool for visitor. My favorite place was sitting in the Restaurant facing toward the beautiful garden. Great food and wonderful staff, warm and friendly. Don't forget to bring your favorite books! Every year I always visiting Tirta Ayu and I wanna be here again and again, .....

Room Tip: Villa 2 0r 3 is great room, nice shower, beside the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is gorgeous! Staff were wonderful, restaurant excellent, spa superb!
Visually sumptuous, views to ocean and islands, lovely freshwater swimming pools.
Calm and peaceful environment - no thumping discos here!

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, but Rajah's room was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was surprised by the newly look of Tirta Ayu Restaurant.
They're just done with the roof and floor renovation, looks like a new restaurant and its really nice! makes me want to stay the whole day there, enjoying my meals, well actually this is one of my favorite place in Bali.
Foods are always amazingly delicious (try Caesar Salad, my favorite one), fantastic view, super friendly and excellent service.
Even my little daughter loves her foods :)
Of course, you're not always having a good day.. but when something wrong happens, don't hesitate to ask the staff, they will do their best to help you, I had it before..
When you're around Karangasem, it's worth it to stop by and try this super restaurant :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We loved the food here and were in Tirta Ayu after visiting TirrtaGangga.. Fantastic view sitting in there and sipping on the fresh juice :)

Food was quite good and what we really loved was the setting and the fantastic deserts..
Dont miss Pisang Goreng (fried banana with ice cream) and Najan Dadar. (Coconut crepe with palm sugar). These two dishes were out of the world for us :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your nice comment , we are look forward to welcoming you again at Tirta Ayu , Tirtagangga.

Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Director Operation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's December and my wife and I are currently staying at the Tirta Atu water palace. We are loving it. The staff are attentive but not over-burdening and they are exceptionally polite and friendly. We've just done a cookery class with the head chef, who is not only only superb cook but also a great teacher. The hotel also offers other activities. We did the 3 hour walk through gorgeously vibrant paddy fields. We can recommend the massages in the spa too- a real delight. Possibly scuba diving tomorrow. All activities and the airport pickup have run seamlessly. We're glad we had 4 days here to unwind after a hectic year. The views from the restaurant are lovely and the food is good. If you've come to Bali to sit in a beach and go to nightclubs then obviously this place being 300m above sea level and away from the coast is not for you. However, if you want some relaxation and a chance to see the interior of the island, this is a great place to stay. It's also a couple of degrees cooler than the coast and there is often a gentle breeze, which is welcome in the hot season. The Rough Guide travel guide has it pretty accurate, "5 luxury villas with sunken baths" and "a classy restaurant with fine views over the water palace". Thanks for such a relaxing and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem, Bali 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.