We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cooking Class but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Asli

Bali Asli
Jalan Gelumpang | Gelumpang Village, Karangasem, Bali 80870, Indonesia
+6282897030098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30minutes from Candidasa village, and 30minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali’s most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it’s people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour’s garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on “a day in the life of...” every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Cooking Class but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I visited Bali Asli last week for the 'day in the life of a fisherman' experience and cooking course. The cooking course in the afternoon was exceptional and far exceeded my expectations. The staff were friendly, professional and knowledgeable and small touches like the welcome drink, tea, and samples of jack fruit and local desserts were all a nice additional touch. The staff bent over backwards to make the experience special offering to take pictures and looking after us all the time. The venue benefits from an outstanding view and cannot be faulted.
Unfortunately the first part of the day i.e. the morning trip out on a boat for a fishing experience was a bit of a let down. The guide spoke fairly good english and was friendly enough but was not forthcoming in sharing any local knowledge with us. We went out on the fishing boat but he did not explain anything about local fishing customs, how the fisherman live, what they catch etc so it was just a boat trip really. On the drive there and back the guide spent the whole time talking in Indonesian to the driver when it would have been nice if he had made some effort to interact with his guests.
I would definitely return to Bali Asli for lunch and would highly recommend the cooking course but would not recommend the 'day in the life of the fisherman' experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliAslirestaurant, Owner at Bali Asli, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mel_redpirates,
Thank you for your review on your Bali Asli culinary experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your selves during the cooking class.
I also appreciate that you passed on information about the fishing trip, as it is very important for me to understand my guests perceptions and expectations.
You can be assured that I will address the problem that you encountered and use your feed back to make our fishing adventure more interesting and enjoyable in the future.
warm regards,
Penelope Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Review of Bali Asli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had an opportunity to meet and sample the wonderful food prepared by Penelope and her great team at Bali Asli. Uniquely presented, I sampled a wide range of starters and mains, i enjoyed all. I also had a Snakefruit drink that was delish. Staff were very friendly, the view great. I was most impressed by the knowledge of the food Penelope shared with me. She has a cooking school also and you get to see the real Bali with her then undertake the recipes.
I highly recommend her restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret river
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food of the Gods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

As we have been visiting Bali and cooking Indonesian food for 35 years we went with much anticipation given Penny's credentials and other reviews. We found it to be a sublime experience which was a combination of all the myriad of components which form such elevated dining: food, drinks, service, view, table layout, cutlery, accoutrements, presentation, music, ambience, amenities, access. Congratulations Penny! World Class. The thought and attention to detail are evident in every aspect. May you succeed in a risky venture where you only have one meal sitting. Hopefully demand will see you offering dinner in the future. Perhaps an evening shuttle bus from Amed, or other regional centre, with fixed departure and returns combined with dinner package.

Note to readers: This is a signature experience of Bali dining; unpretentious honest, beautifully crafted food steeped in history. Bypass all the "clever" " tuna done 3 ways" nonsense and experience the islands fare in a manner which pays homage to its origins. Bravo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Authentic Bali cuisine exists here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been looking forward to our Bali Asli experience with much anticipation and today we were not disappointed. From the wonderful drive to the restaurant through the real Bali and arrival greeted with a warm smile and a refreshing delicious spiced cool drink.... Then the view, yes it is stunning. Unfortunately cloud covered much of the famous Mt Agung but it is still impressive looking over the rice paddies and not a modern building in sight, very refreshing. The food was very authentic and absolutely delicious, from the varied krupuk all made on premises, no supermarket style krupuk here. Served with an accompanying selection of sambals to get you taste buds ready for the main course. We chose Nasi Campur and it was a perfect amount and array of fresh and authentic Balinese tastes. Penny the owner is very engaging and happy to spend time chatting, no pretentious rock star style chef, just a girl that loves her craft and clearly it comes across. well done and thank you to Penny and her team at Bali Asli. So make the trip if you want to enjoy the real Bali and it's flavours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great restaurant with a amazing view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I met Chef Penny 4 years ago during my stay in the Alila Mangis Resort.
We had together a 4 day's cooking session.
She was the most passionated Chef I ever met and nothing changed in those 4 years.
What she build over here is fantastic.
It was the most extraordinary view we had during a diner in Bali.
And the food she served is so pure!
Is 100% worth the trip to this restaurant.
Thank You Chef Penny for creating such a nice restaurant, in this wonderful area and to serve this authentic Bali food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli also viewed

 

Been to Bali Asli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Asli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.