We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Asli

Bali Asli
Jalan Gelumpang | Gelumpang Village, Karangasem, Bali 80870, Indonesia
+6282897030098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30minutes from Candidasa village, and 30minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali’s most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it’s people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour’s garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on “a day in the life of...” every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentically delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Penny has created something special at Bali Asli. The setting is gorgeous, a breezy hilltop retreat overlooking the verdant rice paddies and majestic Mt. Agung. The food of course is the point and true to the name, Asli meaning authentic; it is fresh, delicious and authentically Balinese. The tasting platter is fun to share and allows you to sample a bit of everything. Lunch here is a relaxing, pleasurable experience . Even better we returned for a cooking class. We visited the colourful, lively, morning market with Penny, choosing our ingredients before our lesson. We began by making an offering and going through the ritual of presenting it at the temple, the first step in understanding life in Bali. Penny explained the local ingredients and how they are used to create the base for any Balinese cooking. As an experienced cook I found it interesting and informative, I will definitely be recreating the dishes at home. The best part is then eating your homework. Penny has a real love for Bali and for the food traditions, the chance to share her knowledge in this beautiful setting will be a highlight of any trip to Bali.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    25
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but not worth the cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went to Bali Asli based on the trip advisor recommendations. We just went for lunch. The views are amazing-you look out over the rice paddies into the mountains and the volcano, even when you are in the bathroom! Seriously, check out the bathroom if you go.

The food was good. We had the Nasi campur and asked for the chef to decide what to put in it (otherwise you make your own choice). It came with a delicious chicken curry, nice veggies and a not-so-nice tuna wrapped in banana leaf). There were also different types of Indonesian chips with sambal. While the food was good, the staff friendly and attentive enough and the views outstanding, it was very expensive for this region and you are definitely paying beyond tourist prices (was about $40 for two of us when even at our resort we paid only around $20-25 for dinner). Is it worth it? Not the food but maybe the experience and the views.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hike and cooking class a taste of the Bali countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My partner and I visited my mum in Bali recently, staying in a villa down by the coast in Seminyak. Lovely spot but after a few days of city traffic and hustle and bustle, i crave to get out into rural landscapes and walk the rice paddies and see the Balinese just getting on with the everyday business of living. A trip to Tirta Gangga (Water Palace/gardens) and Bali Asli was the perfect solution, and the highlight of our trip.

We booked in for the morning village tour followed by the cooking class at Bali Asli. Starting at 8.30am, I wanted to stay somewhere close at hand and none of the fancy sea-side hotels on the Bali Asli website looked like a rural/rice paddy retreat that i was after. A quick phone call to Penny for advice got me on the right track, and I rang the Tirta Ayu hotel in the grounds of the Tirta Gangga Water Palace. What a terrific decision that turned out to be. Wish we'd had 3 nights there and time to wander around the villages and hills - instead we had one glorious afternoon of relaxing by the plunge pool, a sunset G&T overlooking the Water gardens, and a terrific night's sleep in a very clean and comfortable villa. The morning hike through the back-lanes and farmer's fields was literally a breath of fresh air, thankyou Dewa for your guidance on the hike and in the kitchen - what a talented bunch of local staff Penny has collected around her at Bali Asli! And i won't repeat what others have said here already about the incredible views, and artistry of the Bali Asli restaurant location. Gracious, uplifting, inspirational.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

On our recent trip to Bali, my familyand I went to Bali Asli for lunch. I was immediately blown away by the traditional decor and the location. The view from the restaurant, across the rice paddies in the foreground to Mt Agung is amazing. Most of the tables are set to take in the view. Penny, the owner and chef, has put her heart into setting up her restaurant, both in the building decor and her philosophy. Her food is delicious; six of us shared the Megibung, traditional for this area. The staff were helpful and friendly, the drinks were interesting and different. We were totally relaxed as we enjoyed our lunch in this amazing location. We will definitely return to Bali Asli as we prefer this area of Bali for our holiday. Congratulations Penny and staff!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Do yourself a flavour & go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really wanted to do the cooking class here but others I was with didn't want to go. I managed to talk them into going to lunch.

The location is just sensational, the view is divine, as are the views from the bathroom. The restaurant itself is just lovely, you can see in the kitchen, the tables leave plenty of space around them, there is a lounge area as well.

We had the traditional lunch, it was presented beautifully, the dishes explained & it tasted so nice. The drinks were really, really nice as well.

Penny was in the middle of a cooking class when we arrived but she still came & said hello.

We stayed for a few hours & enjoyed the food, the venue & the stunning view.

I smiled as the others wished they had done the cooking class.... Next time I will DEFINITELY be doing it. Do yourself a favor, just do it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli also viewed

 

Been to Bali Asli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Asli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.