We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aromatic Delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Asli

Bali Asli
Jalan Gelumpang | Gelumpang Village, Karangasem, Bali 80870, Indonesia
+6282897030098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 restaurants in Karangasem
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30minutes from Candidasa village, and 30minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali’s most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it’s people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour’s garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on “a day in the life of...” every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Aromatic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you are looking for an interesting experience, you can't go past Bali Asli, spend a few hours cooking with the aromatic spices of Bali, take a trek through the local forest with a knowledgeable guide or just enjoy a scrumptious lunch looking over the valley - a great experience, well-worth doing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    186
    18
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Deluxe Bali Cooking Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was probably one of the best cooking trek/classes I have ever attended. I can't rate it highly enough. The fabulous owner and super chef Penny has set up the most spectacular cooking school, which is over-looking a tropical, misty valley. From the spicy, snake fruit welcome drink, the slightly arduous but fabulous trek to an authentic village, back to cooking class and delicious lunch, it was all just top notch. I managed the walk in my white placky beach sandals but I would recommend sneakers for those interested as it can be steep and rocky in parts. I feel like we got to see authentic Bali when we visited a hidden little village for morning tea. It was complete with smiling families, woven huts, smoky cooking fires, dogs, chooks and a wee fat piglet.

Penny's staff are beautifully relaxed, friendly people and our guide Dewar was a sweetie. The restaurant is gorgeous. I particularly loved the hand moulded bricks on the kitchen wall and the glam open air loo with a view.

My daughter and I really enjoyed the tasting and identifying of the various ingredients of Bumbu Bali and making dishes like Nasi Goreng.

Thank you, Penny! We'll be back and we'll recommend you to all our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Or Stunningly Simple - Either way well worth a visit. Awesome atmosphere, Amazing Views and and a must do on any trip to Bali

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant! First, the view - Mt Agung in all it's glory. We were lucky enough to have a clear day so that we could see the entire outline of Mt Agung with fleeting clouds and with the rice paddies as a vista in the foreground. The food - scrumptious! We were served krupuk ( crackers of varied flavours and textures) and three sambals and roasted peanuts. We both had Nasi Campur (which changes almost daily). A mound of delicious rice with purple taro and sweet potato (I think) with fish satays, a very tasty vegetable soup with broad beans and spinach and delicate spices, a chicken curry that was subtle and sophisticated at the same time and a coconut tempeh that was really very good. My hubby enjoyed the same dishes except he opted for the banana flower salad over the soup. To drink we had home made pineapple beer - what a taste sensation! We also tried the jackfruit beer - never thought I would see hubby drinking fruit beer but he pronounced them both delicious. Penny the owner and chef is an amazing lady who had a dream and has made it a reality. One of the best meals I have indulged in in a very long time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had planned to do a cooking class in Legian later in our holiday. We saw a recommendation for Bali Asli and decided to go their for lunch. I did a bit of research and when I saw photos of the location and read about Penny we decided that this was the place for a cooking class.
After going to the morning market to buy ingredients we went back to Bali Asli and started the class. Penny was so informative and knowledgable about everything Bali! Asli means genuine or real and this was Asli sekali!
I couldn't recommend this higher as a "must see" on a Bali holiday. Do yourself a favour :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli also viewed

 
Tanjung Benoa, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Bali Asli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Asli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.