We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Asli

Bali Asli
Jalan Gelumpang | Gelumpang Village, Karangasem, Bali 80870, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30minutes from Candidasa village, and 30minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali’s most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it’s people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour’s garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on “a day in the life of...” every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant! First, the view - Mt Agung in all it's glory. We were lucky enough to have a clear day so that we could see the entire outline of Mt Agung with fleeting clouds and with the rice paddies as a vista in the foreground. The food - scrumptious! We were served krupuk ( crackers of varied flavours and textures) and three sambals and roasted peanuts. We both had Nasi Campur (which changes almost daily). A mound of delicious rice with purple taro and sweet potato (I think) with fish satays, a very tasty vegetable soup with broad beans and spinach and delicate spices, a chicken curry that was subtle and sophisticated at the same time and a coconut tempeh that was really very good. My hubby enjoyed the same dishes except he opted for the banana flower salad over the soup. To drink we had home made pineapple beer - what a taste sensation! We also tried the jackfruit beer - never thought I would see hubby drinking fruit beer but he pronounced them both delicious. Penny the owner and chef is an amazing lady who had a dream and has made it a reality. One of the best meals I have indulged in in a very long time.

Visited June 2013
Thank lovetravelAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had planned to do a cooking class in Legian later in our holiday. We saw a recommendation for Bali Asli and decided to go their for lunch. I did a bit of research and when I saw photos of the location and read about Penny we decided that this was the place for a cooking class.
After going to the morning market to buy ingredients we went back to Bali Asli and started the class. Penny was so informative and knowledgable about everything Bali! Asli means genuine or real and this was Asli sekali!
I couldn't recommend this higher as a "must see" on a Bali holiday. Do yourself a favour :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Live & Learn Love - Bali Asli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I feel a bit guilty for not posting a glowing review of our village tour & cooking school experience from last year which we did enjoy so much. So here goes now.. the first part of the trek was pretty strenuous with uphill challenges ( wear comfy footwear) however you are rewarded with interesting village experiences and have your cameras fully charged for spectacular scenery. After whatever experience you have chosen, Penny spends a largish part of the class taking students through an amazing culinary journey, tasting sniffing and much learning about Balinese ingredients and culture prior to an easy paced enjoyable lesson, as the eager staff happily keep you supplied with delicious drinks.You may never take a sate for granted again ...

There has been much written about the beautiful building that Penny had built to house the restaurant and cooking school and the magnificent views - words can’t do it justice you must come here and see for yourself.
This visit we came just for the meal and again it was worth the drive. This is locally grown & freshly picked and prepared food at its best.

From experience I would definitely recommend staying close by at one of the recommended stays on the Bali Asli website ( I think if it's close by Penny provides a pickup service) both times we have been to Bali Asli the traffic from both Ubud and Seminyak was horrible and getting anxious about being late for a class or a meal is not the best start to enjoy it. Ensure too that you print out a good map for your driver beforehand to find Bali Asli, they say they know where it is - and sometimes they don’t!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Flyingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Traditional Indonesian food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ate at Bali Asli yesterday with friends, at the suggestion of our accommodation place. The first thing to come out was a unique drink with snake fruit, cloves, cinnamon and star anise and stirred with a sugar cane stick. Most of us wrote down the ingredients to try at home but with pear or quince as we can't get Snake fruit in Victoria.

Nearly everything from the menu to the decor to the food appears to be traditional Balinese.
We shared the 6 mixed dishes which was mostly unique and very very good. The Australian chef Penny came out to explain everything to us. She exuded the enthusiasm who is in love with her profession and explained that she buys organic food which she selects in the morning and then works the menu around that. Some of the herbs and vegetables are grown on the property.
Some in our party liked the pork best, some the minced chicken satay, and some one of the many salads. They also had an interesting beer selection of Jackfruit beer, ginger beer and pineapple beer and another one I can't recall. It wasn't to my tastes but others in our group loved it.
The service was lovely as was the setting which overlooked the rice fields in the valley below.
(The best view was from the loo if you're sitting down that is).
I don't think they are open for dinner but not sure about that as we at lunch. We will eat there again, next time we are on the East Coast. Note that it is hard to find so you would have to organise contact between your driver and the restaurant before heading out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank charlieaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sensational experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bali Asli is amazing and definitely worth the journey to get there. The whole package of the fishing experience, cooking and then eating was a highlight of our trip. Penny has really imbibed the Bali culture and tradition into her surroundings and you feel really at home in this secluded mountain location. We are inspired to get cooking Balinese style when we get home and have some great info and recipes to get us started, I just hope I can remember the banana leaf folding technique for those tasty parcels of fish and tofu. The Ginger Coffee and the Pineapple Beer were very unique and so morish just like Bali Asli!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli also viewed


Been to Bali Asli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing