We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Balinese Flavours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Asli

Bali Asli
Jalan Gelumpang | Gelumpang Village, Karangasem, Bali 80870, Indonesia
+6282897030098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30minutes from Candidasa village, and 30minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali’s most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it’s people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour’s garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on “a day in the life of...” every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Balinese Flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Bali Asli on an unbelievably hot day!! We were greeted warmly, and were looking forward to cool breeze off the postcard picture rice paddies below us, but on this rare day, could find none!! Did not spoil our magnificent lunch! I have eaten off many Indonesian & Balinese menus, but nothing like this!! Head chef & owner Penny only uses local produce that she sources from her own garden, neighbours gardens or local market. The menu changes daily. We were lucky enough to be there on a day that Penny found Banana flower, a delicacy in Bali. This is a dining experience not a "meal", one not to be missed if you are in East Bali. You will not be disappointed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    24
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great cooking and trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having been to quite a lot of cooking schools around the world, I must say that this one was the most professional and exclusive one. What I liked a lot along with the peaceful view and the pre cooking trekking was the high level of participation. You actually eat what you cook, your food is not "adulterated" in the restaurant kitchen as Peneloppe said :)
P.S. They've got the best view from the rst rooms, too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Superb views - even from the bathrooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Apparently the Bali Asli is only open from dinner once a month so we were incredible lucky. We hiked down through the rice terraces for a couple of hours and worked up an appetite for dinner. We sat sipping cocktails (which were expensive- but the views and location were unique)watching the sunset behind Gunung Agung, thinking how the villagers below the volcano lived, with the constant towering threat every day. Dinner was a buffet with an enormous range of dishes - freshly cooked in front of us and cooked perfectly. It was a perfect end to a great stay in Bali.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unlucky experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My Family and I went on a weekend with high expectations because of the good reviews - and got dissapointed. The view was absolutely amazing, but unfortunately the food was dried and expensive. Service staff was friendly as stated in the previous reviews but no management around. We can't agree with all the previous reviews.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliAslirestaurant, Owner at Bali Asli, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Hiro h,
It both saddens and distressed me to hear that you and your family had an unenjoyable experience at Bali Asli. As you said it was definitely an unlucky and unfortunate experience.
You can be rest-a-sured that your review will be discussed in length with the team at Bali Asli and taken very seriously.
I am also sorry that I did not get the opportunity to meet you in person.
kind regards,
Penelope
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Mind blowing food and venue: true Bali”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a true gem and it would be a real shame to leave Bali without having seen and eaten at Bali Asli. I repeat it, please don't miss this experience: it was one of our highlights in Bali.
It is located in a real nice and peaceful part of Bali, the North East close to Candidasa. The restaurant is in true Balinese style and the views are breathtaking! A little piece of heaven with the stunning Mount Agung surrounded by rice fields.
Then we were treated with delicious traditional Balinese food prepared on wood-fired stoves. Penny, the Australian chef and owner, explained us that the menu changes every day depending on what she finds in the morning on the market and all products used are local. She was previously the Chef at Alila Manggis where we stayed and Bali Asli provided us with a shuttle service.
Not al lot of places offer you wonderful food with stunning views.
An unforgettable experience!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli also viewed

 

Been to Bali Asli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Asli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.