We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gorgeous eco retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bay Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Turtle Bay Hideaway to your Saves list
Turtle Bay Hideaway
Jalan Pura Mastima, Jasi | East Bali, Karangasem, Bali 80811, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“gorgeous eco retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

we had a wonderful relaxing time and look forward to going back! the wooden villas are lovely, the views amazing and we had wonderful food and service throughout. so nice to be in a quieter part of Bali and yet have such comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St- Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

During our visit to Bali we spent 4 days in this wonderful place.We really liked it from the first minutes, when we saw the room on the first floor of the wooden villa.It was full of sunlight and wind from the ocean, there were no walls and we didn't close them at night. Fantastic relaxing place!The ocean waves are almost at your feet, creating the melody for your dreams. In front of the terrace is a green lawn where you can see sometimes black gallinule or a monitor lizard. A perfect swimming pool is surrounded with green bushes and is so pleasant that we didn't want to leave it. The food is excellent, very delicious and is served to the table at the terrace or to the swimming pool.I can say that it was the best food during our visit to Bali. We also enjoyed massage with Tono, who is very professional and helpful. Really this place is hidden from the world and is a paradise for those who want to relax with ocean, wind and sun, but under super comfortable conditions. We are very thankful to Made Yudha, manager, who took care of us till our departure on the 8 th of December.

Room Tip: We like the room on the first floor of the first villa, but for a big company the second villa is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. and Sisters, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A friend living in Ubud recommended Turtle Bay to us, and from the moment we walked into our villa (Kelapa, the "honeymoon" villa) I knew we would love it. A gorgeous setting right on the ocean, absolutely beautiful, spacious, rustic, authentic villa with a private pool, set amongst gardens, rice terraces and stunning nature. Our entire bathroom was outdoors - shower, tub, sinks etc (toilet behind a privacy screen) - such a pleasure to wash up outside in the warm air while listening to the waves crashing. Although luxurious in its own way, it is still quite rustic. The waves crash pretty loud at night and although we had no trouble sleeping, our friends in the villa next door had their whole place rattling, which scared our 13 yr old god daughter. I would agree as they recommend on their website, this is more of an adult place, not for kids under 12. The food was all made to order, fresh, organic, and the staff was about as friendly and accommodating as you can imagine. The manager Made is great - so nice, helpful and easy. Also, they have an amazing masseuse named Tonno who we had come a few times for evening massage - what a great way to end the day! One thing to note is that while Turtle Bay is on the ocean, you can't really swim there and there's no beach to lay on - hence the private pools, patios and lawns. But White Sand beach is just a 10 min drive and they'll drop you there whenever you like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Turtle Bay admidst rice terraces & two huge volcanoes continues to improve in every way...and yet it was always perfect! The carved teakwood buildings take one back to a time when Bali was was more natural. New bedding & little touches to redecorate are lovely! The food was excellent, mainly organic, fresh out of their own gardens to their kitchen! What a joy in a world that drowns it foods in pesticides! Fish is freshly caught each day. Fresh juices available daily.

To sit on ones own private beach watching the endless waves....total relaxation. Two salt water
swimming pools to cool off in. The staff & the amazing owner, Emerald, take care of your every
need. Do take the tour through the rice patties & the amazing water palaces! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Be certain to book a massage....most inexpensive & amongst the best in the world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Turtle Bay Hideaway might not be the most luxurious, but it is definitely one of our favorite in Asia. It is all about nature, kindness and good taste. I loved the way Made and his team treated us. Privacy. All they do is to help enjoying your stay, you, in a perfect villa, in front of a perfect sea. The waves, the sea breeze, the wind, the food (most comes from the organic garden nearby - everything from the menu is not always available, and this is a good sign!) and, again, a perfect team to organise all this just for you. It is a remote place, and this is precisely what we loved in here. Forget crowded cities, noisy cars & scooters, crappy tv channels. Grab a good book, and just enjoy a lovely diner near the swimming pool watching the breaks on a sunset.
We'll be back, and we will stay a week, a month if we can ;-)

Note 1: we arrived early morning (like 5am...), and Made allowed us to sleep few hours in the family villa which was free, waiting from our villa to be ready. We appreciated. Really.

Note 2: i read comments about rusty doors, wet beds. This is really not that bad. And this has to be a bit anyway, when you are so close to the ocean. Does not spoil anything of the experience.

Room Tip: Kelapa was amazing. Family (Pandan) was very nice too. And I guess Jepun is just as nice. They are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the Villa Kelapa for our honeymoon.

It was quiet, peaceful and wonderfully relaxing, just what we needed after the hectic wedding schedules. We loved that it was a distance away from the touristy parts, so it's a lot more peaceful and idyllic. The view was amazing; blue, blue waters, strong breezes. The food was wonderful. We were very well fed during our stay. We were very content in staying in by the pool, and not do any touristy things. It was the best holiday we've had so far.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, making our stay extremely enjoyable..

Thank you Mr Made and your team for making our stay memorable and we look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just had a wonderful 4night stay at Turtle Bay Hideaway,, the perfect wind down after hectic Seminyak (don't need to go there again!) Our accommodation in Mandala Suite was beautiful, the food, fantastic and fresh, possibly the best we have had in our various trips to Bali. The location was beautiful. As with any accommodation venue, it is the staff who make it special and we can honestly say the staff made it this time! Congratulations Made, you have a great team and made us feel very welcome and at home. We would not hesitate in recommending Turtle Bay Hideaway as a special place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Bay Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Hideaway

Address: Jalan Pura Mastima, Jasi | East Bali, Karangasem, Bali 80811, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Turtle Bay Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hideaway Bali/Karangasem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bay Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.