We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, great ambience, great few.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garpu Restaurant

Garpu Restaurant
Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali 80801, Indonesia
+62 363 41974
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 78 Restaurants in Karangasem
Price range: $5 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Serene breeze, endless seaview and delicate gastronomy experience are the three main elements of GARPU, an ocean side restaurant located in Eastern Bali. GARPU is a lavish yet modest restaurant attached to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, an ocean front venue for those who seek for an alternative international restaurant with endless seaview.As amazing view is synonymous with GARPU, we often hold memorable wedding events and cooking lessons by the sea. Happy hour, live music and Balinese performance.
woudrichem
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great ambience, great few.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We know this place and restaurant for a very long time. Imam and his staff did a wonderful job. The staff is well trained, very friendly and helpful and willing to make a joke.
Imam, we do like your food very much, your specials where wonderful and very teasty.The talk at
the table about the food, the presentation and service, we did it very much.
The breakfast has a big selection for everyone. We sure enjoyed the dinners and lunches, so be sure, we are coming back.
The few and atmosphere is great, and so we aned to thank everyone for the great time we had at the Garpu restaurant and ofcourse the hotel. We will mis you all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Garpu Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear our Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and have a great experiences with our wonderful job by Mr Imam and his Staff services that very friendly, helpful and willing to make a joke :)
We will waiting you to coming back to feel our Resort atmosphere again and taste our delicious and big selection of Food and Beverage at Garpu Restaurant.

We will miss you too :)

Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family very soon ;)
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bad Gastein, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Not only is there a special atmosphere but the view from the restaurant breathtaking. The food is fresh, tasty and served with an exceptional balinese touch. You will not be disappointed, especially with the the fish. Well done to all the kitchen and restaurant staff...friendly, helpful and always willing to go the extra mile.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Garpu Restaurant, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our special atmosphere, our Restaurant views, our delicious of Food and Beverages at Garpu Restaurant, our helpful and friendly Kitchen and Restaurant Staff services.
Your satisfaction is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Imam and his staff went above and beyond to make us feel happy and welcome and could not do enough for us. Imam as executive chef would make regular rounds and talk with guests to ensure everything was to their satisfaction. He would also enquire if there were any specific requests. My wife and I enjoy fried noodles for breakfast and Imam ensured this was always available. Garpu restaurant is located on the waters edge with fantastic views and the ambience is enhanced by the wonderful and friendly staff who cannot do enough to help and nothing is too much trouble. The food is delicious and well priced reducing the need to eat elsewhere. Thank you Imam, Mudra, Made, Agustin and the rest of the fantastic staff. We can't wait to return.

Warm regards
David.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Garpu Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment for us, for our Executive Chef, Mr. Imam and Mudra, Made, Agustin and the rest of the Fantastic Staff.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our variety delicious of Food and Beverages at Garpu Restaurant, our Hotel and Restaurant fantastic views and the best friendly Staff services.
Your satisfaction is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Garpu Restuarant Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Both the Executive Chef, Imam and his staff made this experience the best I have every had in Bali.They were all friendly and made us very welcome. The food was outstanding from the breakfast selection to the lunch and dinner menus which were not restricted to just Indonesia food, you would be hard pressed not to find something to siut most people.They were very accomodating if there was something different that we would like.The spicy noodles were the best, along with the satays brought to the table still over hot coals and the Magibung was delicious. The highlight of the restuarant was the Nasi Bakur, by far the best Indonesian meal I have every been treated to and I would recommend it if you have the chance to visit Garpu. The other highlight I would recommend is the Cooking Class. We were driven to a local market by the chef and introduced to some local produce some of which we were to use. It was then back to the hotel to cook some amazing food which we then sat down to enjoy for lunch. I would recommend Garpu even if you are not staying in the hotel.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Garpu Restaurant, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment for us, for Executive Chef, Mr. Imam and Staff.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our variety delicious of Food and Beverages at Garpu Restaurant, our Cooking Class activity, our Hotel and Restaurant atmosphere and the best friendly Staff services.
Also, thank you for recommend us to others guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and sea breeze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a fantastic choice in CandiDasa. Even if you're not staying at the hotel, this is a place to consider. I loved the satays, served on a bed of flaming coals (which keep your food hot, but continue the cooking process). Also, the rijstaffel platters are spectacular. But the best part might be the setting, particularly if you are tired of being hot in Bali. The breeze off of the ocean will cool you down. A late lunch here is the highlight of any day.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Garpu Restaurant, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our Food and Beverages at Garpu Restaurant, our beautiful resort views, our Hotel and Restaurant atmosphere and Staff services.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garpu Restaurant also viewed

Karangasem, Bali
 
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Garpu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garpu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.