We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE ROOM!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Woodland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“HUGE ROOM!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights for a wedding weekend. Couldn't believe our eyes when we saw our room..it was like a suite! A kitchen with a full fridge, microwave, washer/dryer (!), large living room and bathroom, and bedroom with queen sized bed. I would have given this 5 stars of the beds were comfier. Maybe it was just my body knowing I wasn't in my own bed, but I couldn't get comfortable on it. And the pillows were too flat. The room itself
Though was unexpectedly great for a two night stay. For the wedding it wasn't pricey, but I think it can be if not blocked for one.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    21
    13
    17
See reviews for
56
15
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Do not stay at this hotel if you value your PERSONAL SAFETY and PROPERTY! There is no place to park except a lot that is not secure. There was an Armed Robbery across the street recently, and the SECURITY MEASURES ARE INSUFFICIENT in light of this incident. (Check out the Baltimore Sun January 6, 2014, article.) Our van window was smashed at this hotel (three other cars were vandalized as well), and the Marriott employees were indifferent and claimed that they did not own the property and had no liability despite the captive parking situation and inadequate security. It is true; this is NOT a MARRIOTT PROPERTY, and the Marriott does not stand behind anything that happens here. We were told to talk to Towson University! We thought we made a reservation with Marriott, but you are not staying at a Marriott property. They also said there was a sign (you can only see after you are parked) that states they are not liable for any damages in the lot. Well, there is no other place to park, and that lot is designated as the “hotel lot.” The Marriott (or is it Towson?) should give an accurate description of their parking situation before you make your reservation. STAY AWAY for your own safety, especially if you have children. Despite dangerous armed criminal robbery and vandalism events, insufficient measures are put in place to protect customers and property. You are better off sleeping in your car or under a pile of leaves. It will be safer and more pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Rooms Operations Manager at Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hello Wissahickon2014,
Thank You for taking the time to post a comment about what you experienced during your recent stay at the Towson University Marriott. I appreciate you letting us know about the Security concerns you had while staying at my hotel and how they affected you and your family. We do take our guests safety very serious as do all Marriott Hotels and work with the local communites to make every effort to alleviate any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel when I was in town for a conference. It's a very nice Marriott with comfortable rooms and bedding. Workout facility was good and had free fruit/water. Wish there had been a free breakfast, but Starbucks is just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Its been renavated and looks nice. The style is a cozy tradational and I had a nice clean suites with a washer dryer and full kitchen.
The staff was very helpful and friendly with were to eat and taxi and getting around. Its a bit of a walk to resturants, about seven blocks. Yes you can get crabcakes at some of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I usually look forward to staying here but this last time was not good. The internet wifi was not working at all. Called the front desk and they said they were aware and working on it. Luckily I had a laptop that accepted the wired connection. But that limited me to only working at the desk in the living room. The lamp at the desk was not working nor was the reading light at attached to the bedframe. They only had one elevator working for all 14 floors. I only stayed one night this time and I am glad I did because I was disappointed in my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph L, Manager at Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hello Hockeygrrl75,

Thank You for taking the time to post a comment about my Hotel. I appreciate you letting us know that we did not meet the standards you have come to expect from my Hotel since you are a frequent guest. We hope to have you back soon and are currently undergoing an internet upgrade which will be well above standard speeds. As for the elevator, yes it was out of service but it has been attended to, this is something we are in the process of correcting and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Love the size of the rooms...would be great fun with family. I am usually here once a quarter for business so barely use the services. Being a Gold Member, I think I am upgrated to larger suites each time I stay here. This time, I had a large suite with 3 TVs. Location is great...close to all the Towson action.

Room Tip: Watchout for consutruction in the nearby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here two years ago and had a good experience. I'm back here again for an extended stay. I really enjoy the kitchen with washer and dryer. Allows me to stay up on my laundry without having to go out. The front desk staff has been friendly and helpful and the manager introduced himself to me while on the elevator. He asked me to let him know if I needed anything. I stay in hotels a lot and small things like that make a big difference. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Address: 10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of spacious apartment-style living with the convenience of hotel amenities at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. Conveniently situated adjacent to Towson University in the suburbs of Baltimore, this stylish all-suite hotel offers one-, two- and three-bedroom suites so guests have plenty of room to relax comfortably whether traveling for business or vacationing with the family. All suites feature living and dining areas, a balcony, private bedrooms and fully-equipped kitchen for a home-like atmosphere. Complimentary wireless Internet access, Plug-In technology and premium movie channels are also standard. Event planners will find the hotel's 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art event space ideal for business conferences, corporate meetings or elegant social events in Towson, MD. Hotel guests are also pampered with on-site dining at The University Club at Towson restaurant and enjoy access to a well-equipped fitness facility for added comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towson University Marriott Hotel Towson
Marriott Conference Center Towson
Towson Marriott
Marriott Towson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.