We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Save Saved
You added Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA/CAA Members Save More
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Towson
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here before and loved it but this time was different. Lots of minor issues leading to disappointment. First is that something was really off with the elevators; ex is elevator would say it's going down but instead would go up. Concierge lounge is being renovated and will be beautiful but it smells badly on that floor. No coffee or tea available in lounge both times I visited--had to ask staff for it. Guestroom large, modern and nice but kitchen floor very dirty.

I was very bummed that this full service Marriott didn't offer room service. They offer carry out from the restaurant but room service would be better. Food at restaurant was very good though.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Manager at Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Jennamack,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about my hotel. I'm so happy you've loved us in the past and do apologize that your most recent stay wasn't up to standards, yours or mine. No excuses from me, the elevator has been attended to, the contractors made aware of keeping my hotel smelling clean and fresh while they work and the Chef to keep the Concierge Lounge fully stocked for our most valued guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    15
    12
    14
See reviews for
46
12
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at this property Friday through Sunday and found it to be quite pleasant. The exterior has a peculiar look but don't judge a book by the cover! The entire inside has been remodeled and it was optically pleasing! Beautiful lobby furniture, several nice lounge areas with media accessibility to include flat screens, plugs on the side of the tables and wifi. The service in the bar and the main restaurant was superb. Great happy hour menu! On to my room- very comfy and enough space to bring the family. Every room is a suite with a kitchenette. It feels like a vaca- like suite with a 3.6 stainless fridge, dishwasher and micro.....quite impressive. So of course ......comfy bed as always at the Marriott. But in addition- a dining area, a living area and a sitting room. There were literally three flat screen tvs in the room. Overall- just a great value. I'd stay again .... for sure! Only hinky thing is the parking is underground and tight- but it was complimentary. Also. Lots of eateries in walking distance or a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked this hotel for the last weekend in August, we were dropping one of our kids off at college nearby. There was an F1 race going on in Baltimore city that weekend so we were advised not to book a hotel in the city. This hotel is in a suburb north of Baltimore and about 10 -15 minutes to the inner Harbor area. We booked a suite of 2 bedrooms. It is very clean and spacious, almost sterile. There was a nice kitchen and eating area. There are many restaurants within walking distance, but be watchful of where you are walking in the evening. The hotel does have a restaurant but it was empty during our stay. This is not a "vacation" feeling place but a good spot to stay for one or two nights while doing business in the area or bringing your kids to local universities. We will stay here again on our next visit, it works great for a family and the price is right. We took advantage of a group rate that was offered by the hotel, as the university had arranged that. If you want to feel like you are on vacation, stay in the Fells area of downtown Baltimore.

Room Tip: Lower floors help avoid the slow elevator issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second stay at this Marriott. This room's set up was quite different from our last room's. Last time we had a stove and dish washer and so came expecting that...only to find we did not. There also is no mirror in the master bedroom, so if someone was asleep on the sofabed in the living room and someone else was in the shower in the bathroom, one had to wait to use a mirror.... Easy walk to many different restaurants and places to shop, as well as Towson University. Both times we had nice views--nothing spectacular, but nice, not just a parking lot or a building next door kind of thing. Parking garage is funky, very tight space in which to drive if full, but manageable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a good find. Location is good, parking is included. I wasn't the biggest fan of the accessible bathroom, but otherwise the suite was very nice. The service was top notch.

You can walk to many restaurants and there are nice areas for jogging nearby.

This used to be an assisted living facility, and you can tell, but it is quite nice. Most rooms have a balcony and I believe they all have a nearly full kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Arrived later than we had expected and had no wait checking in. The staff was extremely helpful. Our suite on the 14th floor was spacious, clean and included a stacked washer/dryer. The kitchen was well equipped. Our balcony had a great view as the University Marriott is the tallest structure around. We were treated to breakfast which was quite good. I was very pleased and would not consider staying anywhere else in the area.

Room Tip: Note the central elevator location and your level in the building's parking areas. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Anytime I have company coming in from out of town that wish to stay in a hotel rather than stay with us, I always direct them to the Marriott of Towson University. It is very close to our home and the service there is second to none.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Address: 10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is known as the best kept secret in Baltimore, MD. Conveniently located near downtown Baltimore, it is the perfect location for weekend getaways and business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towson University Marriott Hotel Towson
Marriott Conference Center Towson
Towson Marriott
Marriott Towson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.