We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towson Marriott College Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Long Term Stay Rates
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Pennsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Towson Marriott College Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great Hotel, stayed there for college visit, right across street, good location, 20 minutes from Inner Harbor(Right on York Ave-Northern Park-Rt 83), 5 minutes to 4 story mall (Left on York)
The room was spacious on 11th floor, has microwave, refridgerator, washer/dryer, one bedroom suite, seperate from living room. Our room had a balcony facing the college, beautiful view. Hotel staff very friendly, nice. We ate at the breakfast buffet (expensive $14.00), everything was fresh, good, bacon, 2 kinds of sausage, potatoes, eggs, all cold stuff, I thought it was worth it

Room Tip: I liked the college side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    76
    22
    13
    18
See reviews for
61
16
15
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a disappointing stay at the the Towson Marriott. I stayed here two years ago and really loved it, I am afraid some of the service at this hotel is not up to par.

First of all the description online says all rooms have oven/stove top and washer/dryer. Mine had neither. When I stayed here two years ago I was pleasantly surprised by the kitchen and w/d and I brought food to cook, wasn't able to use it. I only had a microwave and a toaster.

My room came with a free breakfast, no one told me at check in, so I was not aware of my free breakfast. To be honest, I made the reservations a month ago and have stayed other places since and forget what each reservation specifies.

The real problem at this hotel came with the housekeeping staff. Our room had no coffee mugs, we stopped and asked at the front desk on the way up if we could get some. They assured us they would bring some up. When the staff member came to the room, they brought two rolls of toilet paper. My teenager was in the room at the time, she kindly told the women, we wanted mugs not paper towels. The woman left and brought back coffee packets, my daughter explained not coffee mugs, as you can imagine there was a language barrier. We still have no mugs. My daughter did not accept the coffee, but the housekeeper would not leave. She insisted my daughter sign something. My daughter kept asking what she need her to sign and the woman kept saying in broken english, "Sign right here". My daughter said "I know WHERE you want me to sign, but what do you want me sign for?" They were getting nowhere and my daughter said the housekeeper was not going to take no for an answer and she had one foot the door. She signed, the woman left and we still had no mugs. I returned to the room around 4:30 and inquired why the room had not been cleaned, my daughter said she was surprised they had not been there yet. I asked if she got the mugs, that is when I heard about the paper towels, coffee and signing. I was concerned and called down the the front desk to inquire about what in the world they asked my daughter to sign and let them know we still did NOT have mugs. Apparently they told me that my daughter signed to refuse room servicing. I was so livid, the woman totally coerced my daughter to sign that so she could have fewer rooms to clean, that is not what I expect from a full service Marriott. This was like NO service. When I called down to talk to the housekeeping manager they sent people up right away to clean our room and bring the mugs but I felt like she should have been a little more apologetic of how the maid treated my daughter.

The rooms and the location of this hotel is wonderful, because of the location I will stay here again. Don't expect much from the staff and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a room with an oven/stove or washer/dryer make sure to specify. Our room was well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel lobby and common space has been recently renovated and is awesome - very warm, cozy and appealing. Love the new little tuck shop they put in. The breakfast in the restaurant was only so-so (pancakes hard around edges) but for a buffet at only $13.95 it was adequate - I did love the oatmeal and fresh fruit. The suite I was given was very spacious and clean. There were a few minor maintenance issues that needed addressed but I did not report them while staying as they weren't that big a deal - gave a list upon checkout so they could repair before the next guest comes in. Great hot water.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the backside of the hotel, not the street side as it can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Visited with my daughter for one night. Hotel is a little dated, but clean and the lounge area was clean. Got it on hotwire for discounted price and it was worth what we paid. Very convenient location and if you have nothing else to do it has a wlkway to a high end mall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel. Really can't believe there are 12 terrible reviews. You can't beat the location- right on the edge of Towson University campus and walking distance to many nice places to eat in town.
The hotel is stunning. Modern. The one BR suites are small apartments with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. Balcony with a view of campus. Comfortable king size bed. My only criticism is the cheap compact hair dryer that sucked my hair in.
The front desk people were friendly and helpful. Free underground parking. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here using a government rate on a Sunday night at the beginning of a business trip to the DC area. This was an enjoyable stay and the staff were all excellent.

I was assigned a one bedroom executive suite on the third floor next to the elevator and ice machine, a location that I usually try to avoid. Fortunately, the living areas of the suite were far enough away that I wasn't disturbed by any noises (only by exterior noises the following morning). The suite layout was larger than the Marriott Suites properties that I've stayed in. It was similar to Residence Inns that I've visited in older converted apartment buildings, however the decor and furniture were standard for full-service Marriotts, including the awesome bed and bedding. The kitchen was larger than for a typical Residence Inn, but not as well-equipped, for example, there was a small under-counter refrigerator with no freezer compartment. The bathroom had a large stall shower and no tub, and there was no way to pre-adjust the shower water temperature without getting wet.

The hotel was fairly empty. This was the Sunday after Hurricane Sandy and some of the guests appeared to have been displaced from their homes. There was a concierge lounge on the 16th floor. The lounge hours were not available in my suite, so I guessed that 5:30 was the opening time and went up at about 5:35. I found one other guest outside in the hallway. The lights were out, but our keycards allowed admittance. It was unclear if the lounge was open or closed. A small selection of cold drinks and chips was available and we turned on a couple of lamps but could not find the main light switch. The other guest took some chips and left. I explored the room for a few minutes, then went out into the hallway and encountered the lounge attendant wheeling in the cart of fresh food items. The items were of high quality, with a very limited selection of one hot item and one cold, then cookies at 7:30. No other guests were in the lounge during any of my three visits. The lounge offerings were not sufficient to consitute dinner, so I drove to a local grocery store to pick up a salad. The hotel is located in a downtown shopping area and there were a number of restaurants within half a mile.

My room rate included free breakfast. First I checked out the concierge lounge breakfast and found it to be appealing but limited. I went downstairs to the breakfast room and found the buffet. There were no other guests and only one arrived later. The omelet station was not staffed due to the lack of customers, but the waitress cheerfully offered to take my order back to the chef in the kitchen.

The entrance to the parking lot and exit to the street from the parking lot were somewhat tricky to find. The complimentary two-story indoor parking lot is beneath the hotel and the elevators allow direct access to guest floors from the parking lot. Although it appeared that a key card was needed to access the elevators from the garage late at night, I questioned the security of this arrangement (women traveling alone need to be cautious).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was staying at this hotel for 2 nights. The first night we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The room was ok would have liked to have known the 2nd bedroom was a full bed not a queen . Would have also liked to have some information on dinning and if the Hotel had breakfast and the times the operated..
The next day the hotel was booked and we were put in a 1 bedroom with a pull out couch.
When we returned to the hotel at about 11PM we could not find any parking anywhere so we went to the front desk and asked where we were suppose to park our answer was "you can go across the street and park at the college because that was what the bridge was built for. Sorry I nor my daughter felt safe leaving our car or walking buy ourselves from Towson University to the hotel. When I told him no way he went back inside spoke to (security) a nice man came out and said to go to the garage and he would get me a spot. Well come to find out the employees park there cars in the garage. We also inquired about a VW Beetle which looks like it has a permanet spot (it was so dusty and people had written on it )next to the door in the garage come to find out
that is the managers car and when I mentioned it the employees laughed. Funny I thought Guest were there priority. I would think you would have you employees park across the street not your guest. Then we go up to the room to find our sheets were dirty, had holes in them the ones for the pull out couch were wet there were brown stains all over the mattress cover ,the pillows were dirty and the mattress looked dirty. The glasses were black and dirty in the bathroom so we called the service desk asked for some clean sheets . The girl was pleasant said they would be right up well 45 minutes have passed it is now 1:00AM very fustrated. My daughter used her Rewards points and paid a extra $100.00 for the room I would not recomend anyone staying there.

Room Tip: have nothing good to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Address: 10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The conveniences of home merge with the perks of hotel living at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. Conveniently situated next to Towson University in the suburbs of Baltimore, Maryland, our all-suite hotel caters to extended-stay visits. Each of our modern, light-filled suites features a balcony, a fully-equipped kitchen, and separate living and dining areas for a homelike experience. Ideally suited for both families and business travelers, guests can enjoy perks like complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and a 24-hour fitness center during their stay with us. Consider hosting your small business meeting or wedding in our elegant venue space and be sure to visit the University Club at Towson, our hotel's signature restaurant. And you'll be thrilled with our excellent hotel location - just a short drive away from great shopping and entertainment in downtown Baltimore. We look forward to hosting you at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towson University Marriott Hotel Towson
Marriott Conference Center Towson
Towson Marriott
Marriott Towson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.