We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a swim meet at Towson. It was PERFECT. There is a full kitchen, two bedrooms, washer dryer, balcony. I only wish I would have brought more food to cook. The hotel was so close we could walk back and forth to the pool. I plan to stay here anytime we have a swim meet at Towson. This would also be a great hotel for any swim meet at Meadowbrook pool. I also love that there is free parking, that is always a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    70
    17
    13
    14
See reviews for
53
12
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

If on business or pleasure this is a must stay. Parking is tough and spaces are small...wish they had valet. Love the drive-thru Starbuck's at the corner!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was a nice place that obviously was an apartment turned into a hotel. We booked a two bedroom but was mistakenly given a one bedroom. The front desk quickly resolved the issue with a friendly apology. The two bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Like others have said, the air conditioning unit was loud but did not seem to bother us. We liked the hotel and would return if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a hidden gem directly across from Towson University. Marriott renovated/updated an existing apartment building, and did it right. Great, spacious 2 bedroom suite was more than accomodating for a family of 4. Onsite restaurant (Pub Smedley) has the absolute greatest she-crab soup! Only issue was undersized parking spaces, but well worth the money considering alternatives we've stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel will work well if you are visiting adjacent Towson University or are visiting the area on business. Pleasure travelers may find it lacking in amenities but this could be a good location to use as a base to explore Baltimore. According to front desk personnel, the building originally was retirement housing, converted to student housing and then renovated to be a hotel – conference center. The property is in excellent condition but has a few quirks. Compare it to a Homewood Suites – not a full service Marriott hotel. This all-suites hotel does not have a pool or room service but it does have a fitness center, restaurant and bar. We booked our suite with the breakfast in the rate but the buffet breakfast which included fresh fruit, omelet station, and the typical choices of hot food, cereal, muffins, etc was $12.50 pp and the food was good. Free WiFi was included in our weekend rate. Free self parking is in a tight garage under the building; lots of scrapes on the pillars. The staff was friendly; particularly the bartender and, we enjoyed walking on the adjacent university campus reached by a pedestrian bridge.

Our spacious one bedroom king suite was first class with the typical comfortable Marriott bed, 3 TVs (living area, den and bedroom) and nice extras like makeup mirror in the bathroom and high intensity reading lights on the headboard permitting one person to sleep while the other reads. The kitchen had everything we needed but we were surprised that the fridge did not have a freezer section. There was a large walk-in shower, no tub. Since the building was built for seniors, the hot water heater and HVAC is in the unit. Yes as mentioned in other reviews , the AC units in some suites are very noisy. Fortunately the unit in our suite was fine but we could hear the rumble of the AC unit in the unit above us at night. If you are a late sleeper, suggest you request a room on the university side of the hotel as the early sunrise in June peaked thru the cracks between the blackout shades right onto my pillow. There were some maintenance issues, the screen on the sliding glass door was not on the track and when fixed would not slide, the windows were dirty on the outside, there were no screens on the windows (but given the loud AC units that may be a good thing) and our sheets though clean had some old stains, should have been taken out of service.

If you like to walk to dinner turn right out of the hotel, cross the next street, Towsontown Blvd and walk up Courtland or Washington Ave to the Baltimore County Courthouse complex. There are several decent restaurants between the courthouse and York Road on several streets. Check out the tripadvisor restaurant reviews. Walking up the first two blocks on York Road just to the left of the hotel to downtown Towson is not very pleasant.

If you are into history check out the nearby Hampton National Historic Site run by the National Park Service. http://www.nps.gov/hamp/index.htm The free tour of the 1790 mansion is very interesting as are the grounds and other buildings on this Maryland plantation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We travelled to Towson for a family event. This hotel was centrally located and we stayed here because my husband is an Elite member with Marriott. We were in a 2 bedroom suite and it was immaculate and very nicely appointed. However, the air conditioning unit was behind a door in the master bedroom right next to the bed and it was LOUD. The bathroom was between the 2 bedrooms and when you turned on the shower the person sleeping in the second bedroom was jolted awake by the sound.
Also, the bedrooms were small. Only queen beds and doubles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The wait staff served after hours for breakfast. There was someone to lock the outside door immediately after my call. The suite was lovely and quiet. Everyone at the front desk was amazing. Even the porters and security people were people people.

Great hotel. My grandson didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Address: 10 West Burke Avenue, Towson, MD 21204 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of spacious apartment-style living with the convenience of hotel amenities at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. Conveniently situated adjacent to Towson University in the suburbs of Baltimore, this stylish all-suite hotel offers one-, two- and three-bedroom suites so guests have plenty of room to relax comfortably whether traveling for business or vacationing with the family. All suites feature living and dining areas, a balcony, private bedrooms and fully-equipped kitchen for a home-like atmosphere. Complimentary wireless Internet access, Plug-In technology and premium movie channels are also standard. Event planners will find the hotel's 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art event space ideal for business conferences, corporate meetings or elegant social events in Towson, MD. Hotel guests are also pampered with on-site dining at The University Club at Towson restaurant and enjoy access to a well-equipped fitness facility for added comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towson University Marriott Hotel Towson
Marriott Conference Center Towson
Towson Marriott
Marriott Towson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.