We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and different. Decent sushi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyodai Rotating Sushi Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kyodai Rotating Sushi Bar
1 W Pennsylvania Ave, Towson, MD 21204-5025
410-339-7500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 145 Restaurants in Towson
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Baltimore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Fun and different. Decent sushi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friday 6pm, pretty empty but filled up quickly. You can sit at a table where you can order and you will be served OR you ca sit on bar stools at the bar and choose from an assortment of sushi and sauces on a rotating conveyor belt. It's fun to look at everything (you need to lift a clear lid off the small plate so you can see what exactly it is). The seaweed salad is good, plus almost any roll you can think of. You can request special stuff too. Before we knew it, the four of us guzzled down roll after roll adding up to a whopping $120.!!!!! It's an occasional treat. AND if you are still
hungry, there are mini cupcakes, three to a plate, which I was told are delicious. The waitresses are helpful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quick but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went after a day of sightseeing. Quick since most is premade on the rotating sushi bar. Tastier than I though premade sushi was. Fresh and good

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good for a light meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Kyodai isn't bad, but remember that the rotating small plates can add up in price. The sushi is not the best, but it is of surprising quality for a rotating bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton Md
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Excellent Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

As the name suggests different combinations of Sushi come to you, what is amazing is just how good the Sushi is. The owner can be found at the door daily and keeps things up to par. The price is reasonable for the quality.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Conveyor Belt Sushi. Industrial Quality.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This spot score points for being lightning fast. I work in Towson and am bound by the bus so when I want to leave the area I jump on the Crazy 8 and head up to Kyodai, pound some sushi and jump back on the bus. Lickity split. Sushi is made right there and depending on how many folks are there usually doesn't sit around very long. The quality is so-so. Not bad but not stellar. It's the quickness that brings me here. I'm in and out witin a 15 minute time frame and never feel rushed. When I don't wanna lollygag around and hear about your office drama at lunch I escape to Kyodai where I sit and listen to other people's office drama. At least I can tune them out. I would never tune you out though...Never. Now pass the ginger.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyodai Rotating Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kyodai Rotating Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyodai Rotating Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.