We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
418 York Rd, Towson, MD 21204-5123
410-821-6358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 147 Restaurants in Towson
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: French, Eclectic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pennsylvania
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The food and atmosphere are delightful and service is excellent. Allow plenty of time to enjoy the meal though. This is not something to be rushed. It is an experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great place to greet and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visiting with a relative while in town, the pace and experience gives a lot of time to catch up on happenings. The staff was very patient with Fondu Novices, as well as their attention to detail with our order since one person had a sensitivity to certain foods. The manager personally came to the table a few times to ensure all was well and that we would have an enjoyable experience given the serving constraints. The staff, food and experience was great. I would definitely give this a place a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to The Melting Pot multiple times and have never been disappointed. When my husband and I first tried it several years ago, I didn't understand the fondue experience at all and wondered why we were paying so much money just to cook our own food. But dining at the Melting Pot isn't a normal night out....it's a experience. Fondue is so much fun and the food is delicious!! On top of that, it makes the meal a true event. My husband and I can linger over the four course meal for several hours, enjoying each other's company, good conversation, and (of course) the food! It's an enjoyable, relaxing experience every single time. Whether it's a date night or an evening with friends, we are never disappointed. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. At least try it once just to say you did it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PASADENA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fondue was delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food was good. Lee was one of the best servers we've ever had. He was attentive and professional. The price was appropriate for the courses. We were celebrating our sobs birthday.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Something a Little Different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a nice place to go if you want to linger over dinner. There are many choices for each course so you can experience a variety of flavors and they can accomodate gluten free dining restrictions. Our particular waitress was fairly efficient but seemed a liitle awkward and unpolished. The portions are adequate but not ample. Just by nature of the process of fondue, this is not the place to go if you want to feel pampered, but it provides an interactive experience and opportunity for conversation, so it's probably a good choice for a first date or several couples out together. Average value for the price. We are glad to have tried it, but we're not likely to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.