We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vietnamese Outside of Saigon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Dat thanh

Pho Dat thanh
510 York rd, Towson, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 136 Restaurants in Towson
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Is listed on yelp and urban spoon
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese Outside of Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Delicious, fresh and healthy food served quickly by a friendly staff. Good for family, friends, groups, for any reason.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not too happy with what we order.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

If you wanted to try this place, stick with the Pho. We ordered shrimp fried rice and seafood hot pot which ate both disappointing. The fried rice is too oily with Onions and the seafood hit pit is not the greatest. Too spicy for my taste, the scallops are hard and it has imitation crabs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
719 reviews 719 reviews
500 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
265 helpful votes 265 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Pho Dat Thanh... It's got the same name as a Columbia joint, but it's definitely different. This Towson one is decent, but certainly not impressive.

I can tell the owners put some thought into the decor of this restaurant. Compared to other pho places I've been to, I think Pho Dat Thanh is the cleanest and most modern looking. I've got nothing to complain about the prices either -- standard, inexpensive Vietnamese food.

The summer and spring rolls are fantastic. Smaller than most other Vietnamese restaurants, but good nonetheless. The pho, as noted by others, is great. But then again, it's hard to mess up pho. What I was sorely disappointed about was the Triple Delight Vermicelli bowl. It's been recommended by others as well as our server, but it ended up being a huuuge bowl of vermicelli noodles with underachieving meat pieces. I always try vermicelli bowls at Vietnamese restaurants and the meat just didn't taste right here. In fact, I don't even think they were prepared like most places have them made. The meats were fatty and chunky. They weren't thinly sliced and grilled and seasoned like I've seen.

Still. Pho is good here. It's pretty close to the city as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First Time Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pretty good. Started with the quail appetizer, nice and crispy with a great taste. Got one of the seafood soups, nice broth with perfect noodles, would have liked a bit more meat in it. Cousin got some other seafood dies which she loved (first time with pho).

Service was ok, water was refilled promptly, but wait staff only came by a couple of times to check on us for the long time we were their.

Would go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good noodle soups, clean but sparse atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I needed to take a night break from work and on a cold winter night...noodle soup is the best thing next to home. I ordered the rice noodle with slices of beef and brisket. A large hot steaming bowl was brought out full of delicious broth wich was just right and not salty. There were plenty of noodles and several pieces of beef in the bowl. A side plate full of cilantro, chilis, bean sprouts, lime wedges and other fresh herbs came with the soup. Service was polite but quiet ( a language barrier). Overall a good soup meal and decent value.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Dat thanh also viewed

 

Been to Pho Dat thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Dat thanh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.