We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Towson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   903 Dulaney Valley Road, Towson, MD 21204   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Towson
East Windsor, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay in Towson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We have always liked the Sheraton chain the Towson Md location is no exception- convenient to everything in Towson town center, close to Goucher College (where we were visiting friends) and pedestrian bridge to the shopping mall across the street. Its also pet friendly - we dog sat our friends dog overnight! Good breakfast buffet, friendly staff, very clean - highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    68
    36
    16
See reviews for
94
44
33
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This hotel could be excellent. It's location is ideal. There is an uncovered bridge which crosses the street to the mall and it is easy walking distance to the center of Towson. For those inclined to drive further off I don't think it could be easier to get to and from 695. As Towson grows this could become the jewel of the city. It has a lot of meeting spaces and could be useful as a cheaper location to have a big meeting or event.

So why the low rating? Well in a word this place very badly needs an update. While the hotel staff does a great job keeping everything working I can't help but feel like nothing has been replaced in 15 years. The elevators are slow, the carpet seems old, and the walls look worn. I felt a little gross sitting on the room furniture, the windows don't open, and there is no fridge for those who require it. There is a little shop and the prices aren't too bad there but it feels like something from a more outdated era of hotels. Now in fairness there was some display in the lobby which looked to be for an update. This could possibly bring this place up to 4 stars.

My biggest issue with the hotel though is the parking. It was a huge frustration. Basically they charge for parking (despite the fact the mall next door does not). While this seems like an unnecessary price gouge it wouldn't be the first time a hotel did this. The real issue is the in and out system. Since the parking garage also seems to function for the office building next door you need to get a parking ticket everytime you go in and get it validated at the front desk. That means everytime you want to leave you are at the mercy of however many people are checking in/checking out at the front desk. The hotel nightly rate on top of this only saves about $3! I was frequently tempted just to pay the rate normally to avoid the time hassle of needing a validation every time I left the building.

Overall this hotel has a great location and if a very very badly needed update to the whole place took place it would easily be worth a 4 star rating. The parking situation is a major inconvenience and also should be addressed someway. If going to Towson this is still probably your best bet but anywhere else in the area I would see what else is out there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback in regards to your recent experience at our hotel. We are excited to let you know that the boards you saw in the lobby are the plans for our club lounge which is next on the list of area that we are upgrading. This is only one of many projects in the works so yes we have a lot of improvements in the works. In regards to the parking we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Unfortunately, the garage and owned and managed by the office building next to us and we are working hard with them to improve the system. We appreciate your feedback on how this affects the quality of your stay when you are here. We do hope you will be back in the future to see the improvements we will be making. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I've had lots of surgeries do to an accident and we have used this hotel about 8 times. We love it! It has a walkway that attaches to the Towson, MD Mall with LOTS of restaurants. We joined the SPG club which is the frequent hotel card to earn rewards. Since we were military we mentioned it at the front desk and they gave us a free upgrade to use their free breakfast and happy hour room which has all the food and drinks you could want for FREE!!!!! Beautiful overlooks forest area.

Room Tip: If you are military ask for the discount for veterans and join the SPG (Sheraton's Club Card) it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We are so happy to know we have become your home away from home! Thank you for your positive review and for becoming a member of our Starwood Preferred Guest family! We look forward to continuing to be your go to hotel for Towson! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is the direct access to Towson shopping. It took ages to check in, only one of three elevators was working causing undue delay, the carpets in the elevator and passage looked like they were last vacuumed years ago. The "free" wifi was extremely slow and kept on cutting out. Unusable.
Parking is easily accessible but its charged per calendar day so overnight is two days!

Room was ok .. nothing exceptional. Bed was comfortable and clean.

Some college sports team staying as well so lots of door banging and people congregating in the corridoors

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for providing us with your feedback for your stay. We certainly want to apologize to you for the issues you experienced while staying with us. One comment in regards to the parking charges is that it is a per night fee if you utilize the hotel validation system. Please let us know if you were charged for more than one night during your time with us so we can correct that. Thank you again for providing us with your comments as they help us to learn from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Sheratons can vary greatly in terms of quality and condition. As far as that chain goes, this is one of the nicer ones. Public areas and meeting rooms are functional and the staff seems to be well-meaning and trying to do their best. I was in a good-sized room that felt plenty spacious and had two windows looking out on the mall across the street. The mall is connected to the hotel via a 2nd-floor walkway over the street, making it pretty easy to reach the restaurants over there (TGI Fridays, PF Chang, and Cheesecake Factory). Diagonally across the intersection is a food store. There's self-parking available (for a fee) right at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We appreciate your positive review and are always delighted to read about one of our guests enjoying their time with us. Thank you for sharing this with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is very clean and comfort beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I stayed here for one day to sleep, before continue with my travel. My biggest problem is that I could heard people in next room talking all night long. So needless to say I did not sleep well. In the room was a tell us what you think card, which was completed in April with the same complaint. I love the view and the all the windows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for providing us with a review. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your time with us and can only imagine how frustrating that must have been. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we do hope you will give us another chance again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Where do I begin?? I am a huge fan of Starwood and I booked here during my visit to Baltimore. Big mistake! The king bed I got was very old and sagged in the middle. The sheets were ill-fitting and it was just a terrible sleeping experience. I would use the analogy of sleeping in a bowl. I have a severe lingering backache as a result of this experience.

The club lounge was nothing to write home about too. The breakfast items were sparse at best and you could probably do better at a lower-end motel/inn.

The positives are:

1. There is a mall right next to the hotel and dining options include PF Changs and Cheesecake Factory.
2. When I complained about the experience during a survey, someone responded immediately and promised to make things better.

Room Tip: I would ask to ensure that your bed is comfortable at a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca A, Manager at Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We take our guests' feedback very seriously and are happy to know that your survey was responded to quickly. Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and sharing your experience with us. We are in the process of making several upgrades to the hotel and are currently making improvements to our second floor meeting space. We have already renovated our guest room corridors and will be moving onto the club lounge soon. This is just the start and do hope that in the future you will be able to come back and see these enhancements. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel

Address: 903 Dulaney Valley Road, Towson, MD 21204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel is connected by skywalk to the Towson Town Center. We are 15 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Oriole Park/Camden Yards, Ravens Stadium, and Timonium Fairgrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Towson
Sheraton Baltimore
Baltimore Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.