We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new place for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bread and Circuses

Bread and Circuses
403 Delaware Avenue, Towson, MD 21286
410-337-5282
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 147 restaurants in Towson
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great new place for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate here of the first time last night.
We found the staff friendly and the food very tasty and reasonably priced. My only recommendation would be to drink beer or wine. The liquor pours were small at best. this is a restaurant that is about the food and apparently does not think that a great drink adds to the experience. Next time we will have drinks at home prior to visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    29
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockeysville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Adequate, but definitely not French.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The restaurant's web site and ads led us to think we were going to a French bistro. Nope. Most of the menu was not even remotely French. After we got over the "not French" disappointment, we found a couple items on the menu that sounded good and had a satisfactory meal. Bread and Circuses did not make our list of favored dining spots.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French home-style cooking in an intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last night had the pleasure to be introduced by our friends to this bistro. It's the epitome of a neighborhood restaurant and I can't believe I'd never noticed this little house before. We dined on the patio near the outdoor bar with attentive service by Jazzline. For such a small place, there's an impressive Scotch selection.

Our table for 4 ordered 2 appetizers: the Scallop Special in a Thai glaze, and the other was the Beer Lovers Plate of sausage, mustard and a little cup of nuts. I'm sorry I did not order my own Seafood Bisque, it was creamy and had lots of crab. Our entrees came from the Specials: I had a perfectly cooked Last night had the pleasure to be introduced by our friends to this bistro. It's the epitome of a neighborhood restaurant and I can't believe I'd never noticed this little house before. We dined on the patio near the outdoor bar with attentive service by Jazzline. For such a small place, there's an impressive Scotch selection.

The ambiance makes you feel as if you're in a friend's home. There's plenty of metered street parking or in the public lot nearby. After just one visit, it seems there's much more to sample.Rib with blue cheese, and my husband had the Stuffed Rockfish. At our table we also had another scallop dish and our friend said his Lobster Ravioli was excellent also. In any event, there were absolutely no complaints, and I'm told the Chicken Mykonos is very good also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonably priced, artful food with ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I've worked in downtown Towson for 9 years and have lunched at all the top-rated restaurants that have come and gone, and then some. The setting at B&C is comfortable and retro-'20s quaint, and the menu is elegant: American "with a bohemian flare." $6-12 gets you an decently portioned appetizer or sandwich with chips and fruit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excited to check it out again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Overall great experience. My husband and I wanted to try a new place for dinner on a Saturday night. I recalled seeing the restaurant advertised in coupon mail flyer. Reviews online looked good so we checked it out. We were so glad we did. Reviews lived up to the experience. Food was delicious, atmosphere quaint, good service, and good value. You can have a simple meal like sandwich or more formal entree meal. My husband and I went all out after looking at the menu and wanted to try a few things. For apps we tried the summer wind dip and bruschetta--- both delicious. Then my husband got a special lobster ravioli and I had the Salvador Salad. Everything was great. Definitely a gem in the rough that it is off the main road and easily overlooked. 2 thumbs up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Circuses also viewed

 

Been to Bread and Circuses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread and Circuses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.