We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney River Delights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney River Legendary Steaks

Stoney River Legendary Steaks
825 Dulaney Valley Rd, Towsontowne Mall, Suite 1157, Towson, MD
410-583-5250
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stoney River Legendary Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 147 Restaurants in Towson
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fairmont Ave.
Description: Stoney River is a place for legendary steaks, traditional favorites and creative flavors - in a classic lodge atmosphere, casual with contemporary style and flair, plus a staff this is friendly and engaging.At Stoney River, we take the food very seriously - but not ourselves. We think the best meals are relaxed meals where everyone gets exactly what they want. Even if that’s white wine with steak.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stoney River Delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Another outdoor patio, another state, another perfect cappuccino--a light and delightful finish for a lovely meal at Stoney River in Towson. I watched the slow sunset on the quiet patio, lingered and enjoyed first-rate Maryland crab cakes nicely accompanied by a sweet mustard sauce and blanched spinach (at my request). The steaks looked first rate, and the servers were pros, ready to customize the menu to make it memorable. A definite return visit for a convivial or romantic evening out with many interesting menu choices to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

In my experience, Stoney River is a place you can take guests for a nice evening dinner or special occassion with confidence. We have visited several times, and the steaks were outstanding on each occassion. The rolls are unusually good and a favorite with our kids. The lunch menu, however, is much smaller and less impressive. Stoney River is not inexpensive, and reservations are highly recommended in the evening, as we have occassionally had a lengthy wait for a table. The staff who have served us have been well trained, efficient, and welcoming without being unprofessionally "gushy" or intrusive. The restaurant is located on the York Road side of the Towson Towncenter mall just north of the Towson Circle, easily accessible from the I-695 Beltway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great wine, rusty nail drinks and without a doubt, the best hamburger I've ever had in my life! I hardly eat red meat, maybe once a month. So when I do, I like it to be a great piece of meat. Usually I order a fillet mignon, but I was in the mood for a hamburger, ordered without the bun. It was juicy, med. rare and cooked to perfection, with just enough caramelized onions and gruyere cheese. I highly recommend this burger!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You can do better for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went recently with two other companions who had heard the restaurant was good. I had never heard of it but was willing to try it out.
I decided to go with the tenderloin salad which was flavorful and had a very tasty buttermilk dressing. The problem was with the cooking. I wanted medium, others in my party wanted medium well, and medium rare for their items. Nothing came out cooked properly. We were all tired and just went with it but the kitchen staff needs to get their act together.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Legendarily BAD!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

All I can say is WOW!!! This had to be the WORST (so called) steak house I have EVER been to. Not only did they bring me a bone in rib-eye without a bone when I asked about it they returned it to the kitchen and brought me out a RAW steak. at that point everyone else had either given up on trying to like there steak or just couldn't eat it. A 14 Zagat rating is too generous! It is more like a 4... wedge salad was advertised with Bacon....no bacon came with it, had to ask for that too!

I give up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney River Legendary Steaks also viewed

 

Been to Stoney River Legendary Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney River Legendary Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.