We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed a lot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton National Historic Site

Hampton National Historic Site
535 Hampton Lane, Towson, MD 21286
4108231309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Towson
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Hampton Historic Site offers a glimpse into Colonial and early American lifestyles.
home
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I hade a spare afternoon and I decided to give #1 attraction in Towson a try. At 1 PM a very nice and helpful park ranger guided me (I was all alone) through Hampton mansion rooms (look for the small Pisa tower souvenir!) and then outside to visit the ice house.
I walked solo to the cemetery enjoying birds, squirrels and fresh air hay parfumed.
Well worth the visit, all considering that's free.
Only regret is noise: Hampton National Historic Site is sitting next to Interstate 695 so you can't pretend to be back in 1800
P.S.
A new visitor center is being built.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst tour of my life! MUST READ REVIEW!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tour would've been better if it was self guided. Tour guide was very strict on making everyone stay within five feet of her and veiwing areas were very hot and small. If someone tried to look in another room or stand in the doorway of the room she was talking about she would yell at them and make everyone stand extremely close to one another! It took 30min to get through 3 small, tiny rooms and we had not even got to the second floor yet!!! If you take the tour be prepared to be bored to death. Also don't try to leave the tour because the tour guide will not let you. This was one hour of my life I will never get back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Historical house, well preserved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Impressive house with a lot of history, well preserved and good tour. There is a small gift shop and a short movie shown on a tv. You can walk around the grounds as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived to the site without any problems. I was disappointed to learn that the tours for the buildings only friday, saturday or sunday. Only the grounds were open for walking. There is a substantial amount of land to walk, but a guide was have made this better. Did not really enjoy this visit here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour Guide Makes the Difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Angela Roberts, Park Ranger, gave the 3 pm tour today, and did a Wonderful job. She is passionate about her job and it shows. Really opened my eyes to a perspective I could never gain from my suburban American 20th Century lifestyle. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the history of families in Maryland, enslavement of blacks and whites, or period architecture. Plus there are some nice nature pictures on their Facebook site.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Hampton National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton National Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.