We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Balinese vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Life in Amed Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book at www.lifebali.com
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic Balinese vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Should you wish to escape from typical tourist destinations in Bali, Life in Amed in the small fishing village of Lean is truly a gem of a place to stay.
My husband and I would awake early and see dozens and dozens of jukungs way off on the horizon from our 2nd floor perch in the beautiful Paradiso Villa. Just as the sun would rise you'd begin to see them trickle in until all were brought on shore with their catch, just outside our window! It's such a sight to witness a typical day-in-the-life. The thing is, you could easily sleep through it because you barely hear the activity going on.
The staff on hand are extremely friendly and would never walk by without a genuine smile and greeting. Never! It's lovely to know that they all live in this small village and that Life in Amed provides that much needed income in one of the poorest parts of Bali.
The villas surround the beautiful, intimate setting of the pool and create a harmonious feeling. I was particularly in love with our Paradiso villa which is located directly on the beach, as is the Sari Sunrise Villa. The villa could easily be a home away from home for us. It consists of two bedrooms; a cozy, "womb-like" room with a tv and mini fridge downstairs and the large master bedroom upstairs with its 180 degree view of the ocean. Since Bali is extremely humid and very warm, we occasionally gravitated downstairs to the smaller room at night where the a/c zapped-cooled the room instantly (there's a/c upstairs as well but my husband liked watching a bit of tv before drifting off to sleep anyway). You'll also very much enjoy the large outdoor shower where taking cool showers is as refreshing as taking your cocktail out to the patio under the trellis.
I'm sure there were many wonderful places to eat in the area as mentioned below but we took ALL our meals at the restaurant here. We truly enjoyed our meals that were available and, again, the staff are a joy to be with. There is this particular chocolate cake I could never get enough of, though!
We loved the children we encountered on our walks along the beach. They're absolutely adorable. On one particular evening, during a temple ceremony (there's a beach temple for the village directly next door) about a dozen or so children (age ranging from 5-11) in ceremonial dress ran up to us asking our names, shaking our hands, little high-fives and asking where we were from. It was the highlight of our entire 2 week vacation in Bali!
If you wish to experience authentic Balinese village life and still maintain a bit of the comforts of home, come to Life in Amed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    72
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
89
74
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Life in Amed in my humble opinion is a 'little hidden gem' in the small fishing village of Lean. Situated just off the beachfront, it consists of eight (I think) small villas set in lovely gardens around a small swimming pool. The villas themselves have a large bedroom downstairs, a bathroom complete with a beautiful outdoor shower (completely private) and a loft style bedroom with 2 single beds. The rooms were clean and spacious and had both a fan and air-conditioning. Each villa also had a small porch area with table and chairs where we spent many an hour playing cards and relaxing.

Room prices included breakfast of which there were several options and they were made on demand. The Swimming pool although fairly small was just lovely. The staff were very obliging and WiFi was available although could be patchy unless near reception.

The beach is covered in the villages brightly coloured fishing boats and isn't the best swimming beach due to rocks and coral, however having said that my kids spent hours swimming as well as snorkelling at this beach. It was also great watching the local fishing boats coming and going.

Hiring boats to go snorkelling or diving at the many other bays was as easy as walking onto the beach and negotiating a price, and if that is too hard then the hotel staff are only too happy to make any arrangements for you!

All in all our family loved this place and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We finished our 40th wedding anniversary trip at Life in Amed - a perfect choice! Lean village near Amed is a quiet little fishing village close to wonderful diving and snorkeling. What is doesn't have is a lot of traffic and tourists. The 3+ hour trip from Ubud, graciously arranged by Sarah the owner, was a site seer's dream. Sarah explained much about Balinese culture and the economy as her driver navigated the crazy city traffica and narrow country roads. The views were breathtaking. We spent 6 perfect days at the resort which is petite but exquisite. It was our favorite of the three places that we stayed (including Villa Ixora, Seminyak, and Honeymoon Guesthouse, Ubud). It is directly on the beach where the colorful fishing boats leave each morning as the sun is rising. Our room had a huge bed, loft with twin beds, and the Balinese open air shower (my favorite). There was an outdoor covered porch where we spent time relaxing and reading. The pool was small but lovely. We snorkeled right off the beach. Snorkel equipment and motorscooters are available by "renting", mostly from the people who work there. My husband enjoyed watching the local men play some high quality volleyball near the hotel. He engaged in some informative discussions about the economy with a couple of locals who spoke good English. We rented a motor scooter to go farther into Amed, proper. I wanted to bring back some of their famous salt. They weren't doing any salt demonstration but I did bring back 4 packages of about 400 grams each of artisanal salt for about 20,000 Rupiah. We did a full day motor bike trek around the southeast coast including the water garden. Sarah and her staff will help you plan your trip to see the area. Breakfast was very good. The restaurant was just as good as others within walking distance and very reasonable. We had lunch at the upscale (pretentious) Sails which is very close and has a great view, but doesn't feel very authenic. Warung Ketut very near Life in Amed seems to be a one person operation but the food was hot, inexpensive and tasty. We ate at Warungs Garam and Sami Sami in Amed and Cafe Indah in the next town from Lean, and a few others recommended in Lonely Planet. The staff was surprised that we wanted to walk; and truthfully the walk back in the dark was occasionally a little nerve wracking considering Balinese drivers, but we loved the exercise. I would recommend a flashlight/torch. We had several energizing conversations with the owner, Sarah. She is building a three bedroom villa on the beach. We hope to come back and stay there with our extended family. This part of Bali is not "on the beaten path", but that is one of the things that made it very endearing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Our stay was for 4 nights and we were very happy with the hotel, it exceeded our expectations. The location is very quiet, in a rural fishing village called Lean. The room was clean, linen changed daily and left spotless. Clean bathroom with outdoor shower and a large bed. Breakfasts are good and made on demand. Swimming pool is very nice, staff were great. . Hire a scooter and check out the area also try fishing with a local on his Junkong, good fun and great sunrise pics. WiFi was patchy but I had good coverage near reception. Food at the hotel is very good, we ate at Sails one Lunch which was devine. I have no problem recomending this hotel, it was a top value find and if you need a relaxing holiday it will not dissapoint

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Travelling around in Bali for 3 weeks we found the Amed Area to be probably the most authentic coastal zone of the island: Nice little bays and beaches, excellent diving sites and authentic rural life in little villages. There are some good resorts in this area and (at least from what we saw) "Life in Amed" was the nicest one: A small resort with beautiful bungalows (even for families), direct access to the beach, nice littlle garden with a pool. If you are lucky and Sarah, the owner, is on site she can tell you a lot of the people of Bali, their way of living and her personal philosophy of integrating "Life in Amed" into the local area. Beautiful sunrises, the shape of Lombock in the background. A minor issue: I missed a fridge in the room. The food is OK, nothing special. In any case there are a variety of excellent little restaurants ("warung") at short distance. Life in Amed was the cheapest resort we stayed in Bali and one of the most beautiful ones. In a nutshell: My personal favorite in Bali!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Good room and great snorkelling off beach- especially at low tide. Local staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at Sails, Blue Moon, Cafe Indah, Warung Wayan and the restaurant in Life and would recommend the first 4.

Our stay coincided with a local 'tooth-filing 'ceremony and that meant no sleep for about 2 hours from 1.30 am /5.30 am depending on the day.!

We had good massages from two local women (Dani and (Mrs) Nyoman) and plenty of offers of boat trips/snorkelling/whatever from (Mr) Nyoman , who was waiting to 'ambush' you as soon as you stepped onto the beach.

The snorkelling in front of Coral View Villas (15min walk to next beach, Lipah) was even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. It was quiet (no loud music next door as others have reviewed), the rooms were wonderful and easily fit all of us and the gardens were very relaxing. We stayed in one of the standard rooms with AC. The AC struggled a little with the size of the room and the two loft beds were a little hot at times, but it cooled down during the night. The staff were very friendly and the food good. The beach outside is nothing fantastic and the instant you step out there nearby villagers try to sell you a boat tour or massage but a simple no does the trick. We mostly spent our time in the pool as it was really good for kids. Its set in a really lovely area of Amed and we loved exploring the area with our hire car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Bali, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life in Amed Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.